9 Reviews

I used this on a special 4-layer chocolate cake; my friend told me that it wasn't necessary to add sugar or vanilla to the whipped cream at all. Instead, the cake recipe called for mixing a whole bag of toffee pieces into 2 cups of cream for the whipped topping and using that mixture to frost the cake. However, I added the powdered sugar and vanilla anyway, because it sounded good to me. I used just a bit less than called for here. And honestly, the whipped topping lacked flavor, even with the toffee in it. Next time I will use slightly more than the called-for amount of sugar.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn August 15, 2010

What's not to love, it's whipped cream! I'll have to say that I always add the vanilla $ sugar at the beggining and taste the mix to be sure it's at the right sweetness level for what I'm serving it with. If you waited till it was almost whipped you might end up with butter.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet June 11, 2007

I would not recommend this recipe. Upon tasting, I found it wasn't nearly sweet enough for a sweetened whipped cream. So I added an extra tablespoon of sugar, which is twice as much as called for. Then, after tasting it again, added some more. All while trying not to overbeat the cream. I was surprised, as the average rating was a full five stars. (I guess I should have read the actual reviews. I'll be sure to do that from now on.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura2of7 August 29, 2012

This is the best whipped cream I ever made. I did add 2 Tbls of confectioners sugar like other reviewers. It was great on a fresh blueberry pie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kmkmtm July 02, 2011

This recipe is super easy to make and is tastes far better than what you can find in the freezer section! The first time I made this recipe, I only added the 1 TB of powdered sugar that the recipe called far. I don't like things super sweet, but like most of the reviewers, I found the recipe needed an additional 1 TB of powered sugar. And I always put my mixer attachments and stainless steel bowl in the freezer for several minutes before I whip up the cream to get fluffy results every time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakerNancy February 26, 2011

This was sooo good! I whipped it using my kitchen aid mixer and it turned out just right. I used 3 tbsp confectioners' sugar because I like it sweeter. I served this as a topping for pumpkin (Pam's Pumpkin Pie) and it was a hit. Thanks so much for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
haven't the slightest December 27, 2010

Yummy!!! I am a sugar freak so I added probably 6 Tablespoons of powdered sugar, and we topped our strawberry shortcakes with this. Soooo good! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meggy Boo April 21, 2010

Not too sweet, just right! Easy to make with good instructions. Thank you Charmie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 September 25, 2007

This is a super easy recipe for real whipped cream. Takes just a few minutes and can be used for almost anything calling for whipped cream. I used this to fill Cream Puffs (Puffed Shell of Choux Pastry). Thanks for sharing. Nick's Mom

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda. June 07, 2007
Whipped Cream