Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whine and Cheese All the Thyme Burger Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whine and Cheese All the Thyme Burger

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2008

      jcmt- Leave out all that jibber jabber after each ingredient! The burger actually looked appealing, but when I saw all that wordy clutter, I didn't even want to bother! The Ingredients List needs to be short and simple, to easily pull your ingredients together...Save the wit for your next show on the Food Network! ;P

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2012

      I agree with all the extra meanings after each ingredient! I read about half way down and said forget it! It's not worth the effort!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      Very tasty (the fam agreed)! I used lean ground turkey with goat cheese in the center. Because I wasn't sure how anyone could get such a huge burger into their mouth, I decided to make them open-faced (healthier/lower carb too), which worked out well. Next time I'd like to try putting a small smear of aioli under the roasted red peppers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      We *loved* these burgers! I used fresh herbs out of my garden and just loved the combination in the burgers. The wine topping is *awesome!* I used Baron & Guestier Vouvray 2005 and also paired it with dinner. Great Pairing! The *Whine & Cheese Gang Rock!*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      My family loved this burger. I liked how all the ingredients blended so well together. My husband is a big fan of mushrooms and onions sauteed together and the wine gave more flavor. I did use ground turkey and mozzarella cheese. For ZWTIII.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      I made these as an open burger on toasted pana di casa bread after seeing the other reviews about big it is, and I'm glad I did - I think you could get away with making them half-size!! I used normal brown onions as I couldn't get vidalia's here, ditto for cremini mushrooms (used field instead). I found once I added the wine to the meat mixture it was very wet, I added extra breadcrumbs however they only absorbed a little of the extra moisture, and the patties fell apart while being shaped and during cooking. I used ashed brie for the cheese as I had some in the fridge, unfortunately the flavour got lost but I like the idea of putting cheese in the middle of the pattie. I also made some plain patties without cheese which I reheated for lunch today - I think I preferred them plain rather than with the sauce and fixings. Made for ZWT3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2007

      Two changes made by me - I substituted Inglehoffer's Cranberry Mustard and Kaiser rolls for the Dijon mustard and sourdough bread. I did use Cavet Pinot Grigio and plain Chevrion goat cheese. We had a backyard picnic since this was the last day of Carly's school year and so I left out (sigh) the suggested glass of wine (sigh. Made and enjoyed for ZWT3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      I liked it very much, but unfortunately, for me anyway, the roasted peppers got lost in the overall flavor. I would add just a bit more garlic, only 'cause I love the stuff. Our son said it was ok and to him tasted just like any other burger too him except the cheese is on the inside. Our daughter isn't a big fan of thyme, so suggested either leave it out next time or cut way back for her. She also suggested some slices of pickle with the cheese would be nice. LoL! My husband loved the onion/mushroom combo and also said the same about the roasted peppers as I did. Overall a tasty burger, but huge! I wasn't able to get my hands on sour dough bread, so subbed Italian hamburger buns. Needed 3 napkins for this. LoL! Made for ZWT 3. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      This burger is delicious and well-designed. The burgers are HUGE and I'm afraid they are just too rich for me. The flavors are awesome. I would happily make this for company, without the bread/bun, as a main dish--the mushrooms and onions as a side dish. Where I had choices, I used some very nice goat cheese from the farmer's market and pinot grigio. The rest exactly as specified.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      This recipe is so different and really well done! Thank you for it - it'll be on our regular play list especially for company. I have to admit to messing up when I converted the ground turkey from pounds into kg - guess I got into the chardonnay a bit too early....anyway - ended up with WAY too much meat and huge monster burgers!! The 20 year old males in the house tonight loved that though and thought them perfect that way. I couldn't find sourdough at the market so substituted with Kalamata Olive bread which is a great crusty dense bread with a hint of fresh roesmary. Worked really well with the other flavours. Good job team - I'm impressed by your ingenuity with this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      Alsolutely Fabulous! I made a couple of small substitutions - I used a turkey breast steak and not minced turkey breast - and I had no red peppers, so I used tomatoes instead - everything else was as stated. I decided to use chevre cheese............divine darling!! Oh yes - I could not get hold of sourdough bread today, Sunday - so I used an large crispy burger bun! Lovely blend of flavours - I had my turkey in wine & herb mixture for 24 hours!!! FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2007

      It was like a cross between gourmet and comfort food! I couldn't resist trying a burger with wine and I was glad I did. It was even better than I had imagined. The turkey was moist and succulent. I used mozzarella cheese, shiitake and oyster mushrooms, and souvvignon Blanc (2 Buck chuck) Thanks Whine and Cheesers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2007

      Well, what can I say. Mrs G, you must have great ones, cos the chicken breast burger pattie was great (sorry, used chicken as turkey is not common here - we cook it in a roast but not much else). All of the flavours work well together, I am a big fan of mustard, garlic & thyme, and you had all 3 in one place - brilliant. We don't have vidalia onions here but used white, they're pretty much close to the same thing, I also couldn't get cremini mushrooms, however had some wild ones that had been given to me so it all worked out well. Thanks for such a moreish burger, this made 4 thick patties but the burger as a whole was so filling (had one and that was it). (Did use beautiful chardonnay, thanks for the incentive to open a bottle just for 3T, gave me the excuse to have 2 glasses whilst watching a fantastic netball semi-final)!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2007

      This was a fantastic burger! It was huge though, and I barely managed half. I love the combination of the wine and goats cheese. Nice alternative to a regular turkey burger. You guys rock! Made for ZWT 3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      This was every bit as wonderful as I thought it would be. It had everything in it I love. Don't leave out the wine because I think that makes it along with the Dijon. I also used grated mont/jack cheese. The only thing I didn't do was add the pepper toppers and I had it on a toasted texas toast slice. I would give this 10 stars. Great Burger!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whine and Cheese All the Thyme Burger

    Serving Size: 1 (559 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 788.1
     
    Calories from Fat 144
    18%
    Total Fat 16.0 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 109.8 mg
    36%
    Sodium 1190.4 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 94.4 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 7.3 g
    29%
    Sugars 12.5 g
    50%
    Protein 58.8 g
    117%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites