Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Western Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Western Dressing

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on May 17, 2011

      This is a wonderful recipe! Since changing to a "real food" diet a while back, salad dressings have been difficult for me, since I'm avoiding soy as much as possible and most commercial dressings are mainly soybean oil. I was a little unsure of how the sucanat would make it taste, but it was fantastic! The only changes I made were to use melted coconut oil (all I had on hand) and a pinch of dry mustard (for 1/4 recipe). It's really close to Western, which is my favorite dressing ever, and I love that I can make it with healthy ingredients. Taco Salad was saved tonight, THANK YOU!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2014

      This is wonderful! Western dressing is my favorite and I'm very picky about it...and this is a keeper. I buy the big Cosco organic (sugar based) ketchup already so this is easy for me to do. My kids, husband, and myself all think it beats the store bought kind!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2014

      Thanks so much for a great recipe! I substituted coconut oil and coconut sugar and used coconut aminos in place of the Worcestershire sauce, and it's delicious--better than any commercial variety we've ever tried! The "healthy" dressings out there are so expensive and still contain a lot of ingredients we don't eat. I'm happy to have a healthy homemade version of my husband and children's favorite sweet yet zingy dressing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2013

      Excellent. Made taco salad & used this as the dressing. Easy to make, and simple to cut down to amount needed. I used regular vinegar, and it was still great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2011

      We ran out of store bought Western brand dressing. I figured someone would have a recipe and I found this one. I was skeptical, sorry, but a lot of copy type recipes aren't that close to the original.

      I have to say.....WOW! This is just as good, if not better, then the Western brand dressing you buy from the store. My kids both ate two bowls of salad tonight. This is a real winner in my book!

      Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      Fantastic salad dressing that is definitely sweet, but I still enjoyed it greatly. It reminded me of Catalina dressing, and I plan to use it as a dip for chicken tenders. For a 2-person household, I appreciated that this recipe could be reduced easily to 1/4 recipe. Thanks for posting this recipe, WI Cheesehead -- commercial bottled salad dressing are rather scary with their preservatives. Made for Top Favorites of 2008 Tag, on the recommendation of 2Bleu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      What a great salad dressing! We loved it. I may use it sometime to marinate chicken in, then baste it with the marinade during baking or grilling. Yummy on our salad too! It's a new favorite for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      This recipe made it into our Book #231450. 4/06/08 - Absolutely fabulous! We have never had Western dressing before, so we can't compare it to anything, but this stuff is great! We will definitely add bacon next time also. This has a BBQ flavor, and a hint of catalina or french dressing. You could use this on burgers, ribs, pulled pork sandwiches, chef salads, etc. Endless possibilities! Thanks WI Cheeshead for a definite keeper. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      this is a very good western dressing everything is balanced perfectly this does taste better then store bought and you know what is in it sometimes i add bacon bits to the dressing when i make it to make it western with bacon bits it adds a very nice smokey bacon flavor

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2007

      Made this as an ingredient for WI's Western Dressing Chip Dip, & it makes are real go-for-it dressing! I did cut the recipe in half, but another time I'll do the whole thing & give half away as a gift! Very nice tasting, & from a recipe that I'll keep on file! Many thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2007

      I don't think I've ever eaten Western dressing so I have no basis for comparison - but this is VERY good dressing! I did lighten it a bit by reducing the oil & subbing Splenda Granular for the sugar & admit to not using organic catsup. If that changed the flavor appreciably, then this must be a SUPERIOR dressing made as written. ;-) Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Western Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (21 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 32

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 89.2
     
    Calories from Fat 61
    68%
    Total Fat 6.8 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 80.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 7.1 g
    28%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites