Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Western Black Bean Dip Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Western Black Bean Dip

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2014

      Really good. I swap chilli powder for cumin because it was for children. Used yellow onions and canned tomatoes. Once cooked, I blended everything with a hand blender for smooth texture. Then, I added 2 tablespoon of fresh lemon juice (but lime juice would be better..) . Excellent for a party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      My boyfriend is vegan, so I changed this recipe by adding vegan cheese instead. We use follow your heart. Anyway, this dip is really really filling! I added rotel tomatoes, so it added some extra flavor and spice to the dish. Quite tasty! Thanks for the quick and easy dip!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      OMG this is soooo addicting...the only thing I did differently was to use non-fat cooking spray instead of oil for sauteeing, and I used reduced fat old cheddar cheese. The flavours mingle beautifully and it's even good cold! Will make this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      Very good dip. I gave it 4 stars only because I thought the flavor of the cilantro was too strong and sort of overpowered the other flavors. I will cut back on that the next time I make it...and there will be a next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      Absolutely perfect... this is great as a dip or even in place of refried beans. The family demolished this quickly. Thumbs WAY up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      love this black bean dip! great recipe, wouldn't change a thing. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      This stuff is delicious! I used Herdez medium salsa and shredded Mexican blend cheese. I used it as filling for quesadillas and my husband, who typically has a must-have-meat rule for ALL meals, said he could make a rare exception in this case. (That's really saying something!) My two-year-old daughter also gobbled this up. She ate a good bit just plain with a spoon, then scraped the insides of her quesadilla out and ate it, too. It really seems to be a dip for everyone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      OMG I love this dip. The flavor is very intense. I used habanaro slasa for a little extra kick. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      This is awesome! I used 2% Kraft Mexican-blend cheese and it worked great. I was in a hurry and accidentally added cumin before realizing the recipe called for chili powder, so I ended up adding both as well as a dash of salt. This is going to be fantastic wamed over chicken or even as a small side dish to a salad. It's got a great blend of flavors. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      This was great! I sauted some chopped white onion with the garlic and then proceeded as instructed.. Used a smaller amount of dry chipolte pepper rather than the standard chili pepper.. and used the Mexican shredded quesidilla cheese as I can get that here.. Yum and different than the rest...Make sure you use fresh cilantro- makes all the difference. 'nora

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

    • on May 07, 2007

      Wonderful flavor and texture--I loved this! Even my husband, who doesn't usually like beans, thought it was good. We didn't have any tortilla chips, so I used this as taco filling--and it worked out great! Thanks Kaarin!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2006

      This was very good...I think I added a little more cheese than listed, and next time will add a little more spice (we like hot so I'm thinking a dash or two of tabasco) but an overall excellent flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      Very tasty, spicy without being too hot ( although I had to halve the amount of chilli powder - DH has very sensitive taste buds!). I Wasn't quite sure what to use for the salsa ingredient so ended up using a 375g jar of Doritos Mild Salsa Dip. But it turned out fine, with every last scrap eaten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2005

      This was a fantastic dip. Loved the way the partly mashed beans added to the texture. I made it with Amy's medium organic salsa and served with baked blue corn chips. Really tasty. (I though I had some cilantro left over but didn't, so I left it out.) Cutting down on the oil a bit and using low-fat cheese probably does not affect the taste a bit. Two of us had this as a light dinner with a vegetable side. Great recipe, will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2005

      Just polished off a batch of this for lunch...Delicious and SO easy! I didn't really measure the ingredients, just eye-balled it. I used a garden fresh yellow heirloom tomato and a cheddar-jack mixture for the cheese. This is excellent with tortilla chips and ice cold beer! Thanks for posting this Kaarin...this one's going to the cabin with us :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Western Black Bean Dip

    Serving Size: 1 (650 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 488.3
     
    Calories from Fat 154
    31%
    Total Fat 17.2 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 19.7 mg
    6%
    Sodium 657.3 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.1 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 21.4 g
    85%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 25.9 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes