16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Really good. I swap chilli powder for cumin because it was for children. Used yellow onions and canned tomatoes. Once cooked, I blended everything with a hand blender for smooth texture. Then, I added 2 tablespoon of fresh lemon juice (but lime juice would be better..) . Excellent for a party.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anoushka January 04, 2014

My boyfriend is vegan, so I changed this recipe by adding vegan cheese instead. We use follow your heart. Anyway, this dip is really really filling! I added rotel tomatoes, so it added some extra flavor and spice to the dish. Quite tasty! Thanks for the quick and easy dip!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Efz001 in the Midwest US June 24, 2010

OMG this is soooo addicting...the only thing I did differently was to use non-fat cooking spray instead of oil for sauteeing, and I used reduced fat old cheddar cheese. The flavours mingle beautifully and it's even good cold! Will make this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KP in Canada January 18, 2010

Very good dip. I gave it 4 stars only because I thought the flavor of the cilantro was too strong and sort of overpowered the other flavors. I will cut back on that the next time I make it...and there will be a next time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patti C October 19, 2009

Absolutely perfect... this is great as a dip or even in place of refried beans. The family demolished this quickly. Thumbs WAY up!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CandyTX June 03, 2009

love this black bean dip! great recipe, wouldn't change a thing. thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weluv2cook February 16, 2009

This stuff is delicious! I used Herdez medium salsa and shredded Mexican blend cheese. I used it as filling for quesadillas and my husband, who typically has a must-have-meat rule for ALL meals, said he could make a rare exception in this case. (That's really saying something!) My two-year-old daughter also gobbled this up. She ate a good bit just plain with a spoon, then scraped the insides of her quesadilla out and ate it, too. It really seems to be a dip for everyone!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soup Fly * January 26, 2008

OMG I love this dip. The flavor is very intense. I used habanaro slasa for a little extra kick. Thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ October 12, 2007

This is awesome! I used 2% Kraft Mexican-blend cheese and it worked great. I was in a hurry and accidentally added cumin before realizing the recipe called for chili powder, so I ended up adding both as well as a dash of salt. This is going to be fantastic wamed over chicken or even as a small side dish to a salad. It's got a great blend of flavors. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AKillian24 August 27, 2007

This was great! I sauted some chopped white onion with the garlic and then proceeded as instructed.. Used a smaller amount of dry chipolte pepper rather than the standard chili pepper.. and used the Mexican shredded quesidilla cheese as I can get that here.. Yum and different than the rest...Make sure you use fresh cilantro- makes all the difference. 'nora

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
'nora August 26, 2007
Western Black Bean Dip