9 Reviews

Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrincessLevinia September 28, 2011

Thank You! - Thank You! - Thank You!!! As a youngster in the Bronx in the 1950s my grandpa Corbin made dried codfish cakes which I loved, but haven't been able to duplicate until now! I don't think he used curry powder, but he did put in crushed red pepper - which is what I had on hand and used. They are perfect - just like I remember them! Thanks for the wonderful recipe! Fived Stars for the recipe and another Five for bringing back wonderful memories!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Popcat April 03, 2011

I made half a recipe using tilapia for the fish. This is one wonderful recipe. Loved the aioli. I wasn't sure what Jamaican Curry powder was so made some fresh.
2 T. coriander seeds
1 T. cumin seeds
1 T. mustard seeds
1 T. anise seeds
1/2 T. fenugreek seeds
1/2 T. allspice berries
1/2 T. black peppercorns
2 1/2 T. turmeric, ground
Dry roast all but turmeric for 10 min. Cool and then grind in mini blender.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound August 04, 2010

A first class recipe and I am looking forward to making them again with the *right* ingredients. True to form I did not have all the stuff I needed so I improvised. First off I had left over Dover sole so I used that. Then I had no cayenne pepper so I compensated with a little bit more curry powder and a smidge of chil powder. Of course I had no scallions so substituted dried onion flakes (I need to go to the store badly!!). Anyway they were excellent but I am sure they will be even better when I cook them again properly. However it does prove you can mix and match and these still rock!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stevensonloflin@yahoo.com February 04, 2009

These fish cakes were so good, the whole family loved them. The sauce was fantastic. Will make these often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Lynnie June 11, 2008

Since I didn't make the fish cakes, I won't offer a star rating until I do. But the curry aioli already has FAR more than the 5 star limit. Outstanding flavor and such a simple combination! I will come back to this for repeat making, thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandi (From CA) December 06, 2005

this method of preparing fish cakes (though the recipe is more of a fritter format) has a lot of potential for me, but i found it lacking in flavor (like a previous reviewer noted). this, even though i used 5 scallions, 6 garlic cloves and 1.5t curry powder. next time i might try to infuse more flavor with the addition of lemon, parsley or bell peppers, even if it is not quite as authentic. i really liked the texture in this and it's a nice variation on the ususal method of preparing fish cakes with potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eatrealfood October 26, 2005

Oh my goodness. Soooo good. I made these for our Chanukah housewarming, and they were fantastic. In the future though, I'll add just a bit more kick to the batter. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginna Green December 13, 2004

I tried this with catfish, sccallops, and shrimp. It was simply marvelous I reccommend it highly. The format can be used with many of your favorite foods.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bishopbob September 04, 2004
West Indies Fish Cakes With Curry Aioli