15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Really good! I especially appreciated the fact that the creaminess came from vegetables rather than a milk product. It results in a lower-calorie dish, which is great. I left the lid on for most of the cooking, as I wanted more volume in the final soup. I just used a potato masher to mash up most of the vegetables, given that I don't have a blender of any kind. I used low-salt V8 juice instead of tomato juice.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbie R. January 04, 2012

Absolutely delicious, easy and cheap. I recommend using an immersion blender if you have one, it's a lot easier than dumping the soup back and forth between your blender and pot. I also top this soup with some chopped peanuts as a garnish in addition to the green onions.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbatchelor635 November 29, 2011

This is a fantastic soup and so easy to prepare. I made it as written, except for omitting the sugar. We didn't think it needed it. Thanks so much for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy January 14, 2011

I cannot believe I have not reviewed this recipe. It has become a family favorite and I have made it more times than I can count. I love that it is creamy and dairy free as we have milk allergies in the family. It freezes well. I have also reduced it to a thick sauce and served it on noodles. Delicious! Thank you for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynn302 August 08, 2013

This was very good and made a very large batch. Served over rice. Will make again. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sky Valley Cook January 18, 2010

This was a huge winner. I used cropped green onion for the garnish and it was amazing! Thank you so much for the recipe. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheJourneyman August 19, 2009

I have three Moosewood cookbooks (although no one in the house is a vegetarian) and HIGHLY recommend them to anyone who loves great food. I do not care for sweet potatoes at all so I was very surprised at how much I love this soup, and my future husband says it is tied for his all-time favorite soup (with my clam chowder, recipe not yet posted.) I recommend chunky peanut butter, and sprinkling chopped low-salt dry roasted peanuts on top along with the scallions or chives. Great served with naan or other flatbread -- no meat needed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quite Contrary March 17, 2009

I used to make this at a restaurant I cooked at in a past life; I've made it for years since, All in all I've probably made it hundreds of times. It is, by far, my favorite soup and always sold very well. We always used Frank's Red hot sauce instead of cayenne pepper. It adds a spicy tomato-y flavor plus it adds extra liquid and isn't overpowering in the heat department. I made it tonight, but was too lazy to blend it. I tried using a potato masher after it cooked a while. It was good, but really is best blended.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
13 December 30, 2008

This soup was pretty good. The cup measurements ended up to be 1 large carrot, 1 large onion, and 1 large sweet potato. I added about a cup of extra water and upped the cayenne. I did not have any scallions or chives on hand, but it is good without. This only made 5 servings for us. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie October 20, 2008
West African Peanut Soup