Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / West African Peanut Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    West African Peanut Soup

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2012

      Really good! I especially appreciated the fact that the creaminess came from vegetables rather than a milk product. It results in a lower-calorie dish, which is great. I left the lid on for most of the cooking, as I wanted more volume in the final soup. I just used a potato masher to mash up most of the vegetables, given that I don't have a blender of any kind. I used low-salt V8 juice instead of tomato juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      Absolutely delicious, easy and cheap. I recommend using an immersion blender if you have one, it's a lot easier than dumping the soup back and forth between your blender and pot. I also top this soup with some chopped peanuts as a garnish in addition to the green onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      This is a fantastic soup and so easy to prepare. I made it as written, except for omitting the sugar. We didn't think it needed it. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2013

      I cannot believe I have not reviewed this recipe. It has become a family favorite and I have made it more times than I can count. I love that it is creamy and dairy free as we have milk allergies in the family. It freezes well. I have also reduced it to a thick sauce and served it on noodles. Delicious! Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2010

    • on January 18, 2010

      This was very good and made a very large batch. Served over rice. Will make again. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      This was a huge winner. I used cropped green onion for the garnish and it was amazing! Thank you so much for the recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      I have three Moosewood cookbooks (although no one in the house is a vegetarian) and HIGHLY recommend them to anyone who loves great food. I do not care for sweet potatoes at all so I was very surprised at how much I love this soup, and my future husband says it is tied for his all-time favorite soup (with my clam chowder, recipe not yet posted.) I recommend chunky peanut butter, and sprinkling chopped low-salt dry roasted peanuts on top along with the scallions or chives. Great served with naan or other flatbread -- no meat needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      I used to make this at a restaurant I cooked at in a past life; I've made it for years since, All in all I've probably made it hundreds of times. It is, by far, my favorite soup and always sold very well. We always used Frank's Red hot sauce instead of cayenne pepper. It adds a spicy tomato-y flavor plus it adds extra liquid and isn't overpowering in the heat department. I made it tonight, but was too lazy to blend it. I tried using a potato masher after it cooked a while. It was good, but really is best blended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      This soup was pretty good. The cup measurements ended up to be 1 large carrot, 1 large onion, and 1 large sweet potato. I added about a cup of extra water and upped the cayenne. I did not have any scallions or chives on hand, but it is good without. This only made 5 servings for us. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      Oh the wonderful flavours of this soup!! More stars needed!!! I served this with Arabian Pita Bread 17977 and the children just loved eating this soup sopped up with the pita....no spoons required. Thank you for sharing...it will be made again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      My girlfriend and I both LOVE this soup, but our husbands don't care for it. So several times during cold weather, I make a batch and we split it. I use V8 instead of tomato juice. Also learned that it's much less messy to process with as little juice as possible and add the rest of the juice once it's back in the pot. Last time I used an immersion blender and it worked really well, much less mess! I say definitely add the sugar to taste, and for goodness sake remember to put the scallions on top! It's unbelievable what a difference they make. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      Thanks for the recipe~! We made this today with potato ( we were out of sweet ) I topped it with some cheese and served it with nan bread :) Very nice and filling!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2006

      This recipe is WONDERFUL, I have made it for a few years now from the Moosewood cookbook and I was glad to see it on here for all to read. It is an amazing and belly-warming soup with a kick, so nice for this autumn time of year. We also like to use leftovers as a sauce on top of steamed broccoli (the soup thinckens if left for a day or so thus making it more "sauce" like) anyhow, give it a shot and make your belly SMILE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2006

      I've been wanting to try this soup and I'm glad I did! It's very interesting-smooth and creamy with a slightly nutty taste, followed by a little heat. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for West African Peanut Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (198 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 360.7
     
    Calories from Fat 217
    60%
    Total Fat 24.1 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 459.2 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    24%
    Sugars 12.3 g
    49%
    Protein 13.2 g
    26%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes