23 Reviews

This is cooling as I type. I snagged a piece from it because it smelled so good and I couldn't resist. I also made it in a loaf pan and I have put a lime glaze on top after poking holes in it so it could soak in. I didn't use the peanuts just out of personal preference. You have to try this one if you like Limes!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanetB-KY June 25, 2006

This is a very easy cake to do since i usually have everything on hand. I used key limes and added about 3 tsp of zest in for looks. I also double glazed it with a lime glaze I found on another site. Like some of the others, I made it in a loaf pan. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rreinke1069 January 31, 2014

this cake was so great! it wasn't as fluffy as some other reviewers said theirs was, but that's probably because i hand beat the batter....very delicious lime taste :)) my lime gave 3 tbs of juice and a very delightful light 'crust' baked on the outside--- will definitely make again THANK YOU! ^^

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soyeahill June 27, 2012

What a delightful little cake. Dense yet soft with a very nice twang from the lime. Baked in in a square cake pan and will try it in a loaf pan next time. Did not use any frosting or peanuts (we are not very "frosty" here in Europe). Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dudo October 14, 2006

This was delcious!!!!The lime flavor was very soft but just enough so you could taste it. I made a couple of changes by using vanilla yogurt instead of butter and 1 tbsp bottled lime juice instead of fresh. I baked mine in a 8x8 and it was done after 21 minutes of baking. Thanks for the recipe Chabear01!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BestTeenChef June 26, 2006

Oh this was goooood. I'm so visual, I saw the picture and made mine in a loaf pan as well. This adds about 8-10 minutes to the cooking time. I used light butter and replaced about 1/4 cup of the sugar with Splenda to make this a 2 point treat. The cake itself is much like a pound cake - dense with a soft crumb - with a lovely tanginess from the lime. A definite keeper. Thanks Chabear01!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni June 22, 2006

I suggest adding more lime or using key lime/key lime extract. Otherwise, it was really good. It wasn't too sweet nor was it too fluffy. It was like a delicious dessert cornbread almost.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evaamor13 June 03, 2015

This cake is very easy to prepare and the flavor is really good. I did not have peanuts. I added the zest of the lime and I only used 3/4 cup of sugar (because that's all I had). The cake was still sweet and tasty with less sugar. I also made a blueberry sauce using honey to go with the cake but I think it was really good without sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MikaylaElise July 24, 2014

I'm really glad I tried this. I used one lime and a little extra lime juice. I could taste the faint hint of lime. Mine had the texture of a brownie; I ate it with my fingers. Mine wasn't fluffy like a cake. I will keep this and make it again. I made this for the March Lime tag game in the Spain/Portugal forum. Yes, I am late.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WhatamIgonnaeatnext? April 03, 2014

As a "normal" cake, this would be four stars. However, it is a nice change from the usual cake in that it has more crumb (but doesn't fall apart), and firmer texture. My husband said it was the best cake I've ever made (not my fav chocolate???). I followed the directions exactly but added a dash of salt and the zest of the lime. Served smushed berries on top, yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tenajael November 17, 2013
West African Lime Cake Recipe