20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We have an exchange student from Central West Africa. I really wanted to give him a taste of home and knew he liked beans and rice but knew there had to be some special way to prepare them. I made this recipe exactly as directed with touch of onion salt and red pepper for a bit more flavor. I served it with roast chicken (his favorite). His smile was the reward. He stated that this dish was served often with the other ingredients that I saw on other reviews...the squash etc. Thank you for blessing a young man far from home with this recipe posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leslieanneohio June 26, 2010

thank you, thank you! i am a returned peace corps volunteer from guinea (and senegal), west africa. while i took the time to learn some of the more "prominent" dishes (yassa poulet, attieke avec poisson frite, etc...), i failed to take into account the daily pleasures of the village fare. i've been missing these and am SO excited to have found them here! ***for added authenticity, try palm oil and a couple pierced "piments" (habaneros), if you're into that sort of thing. again...thank you, thank you, THANK YOU!!! FIVE STARS!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
toubabou-ke August 05, 2009

This is some good stuff!! And it was very forgiving. I didn't have paste so I made up with extra sauce and only had black eyed peas on had. Also used onion and garlic powder. And it still turned out fantastic.I even got a little heavy handed with the cayenne. But the kids didn't care, they just sweat it out bowl after bowl! I can't wait to make it again and use the suggested ingredients and I'm sure it will be even better!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef~Mom February 05, 2010

I really expected this to be just another "beans and rice" recipe. The ingredients seemed too ordinary to be anything else. But WOW! It was really good and every single one of use (6 in the house) from age 5 to age 39 loved it. Definately my new frugal favorite.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grace4Gayle April 12, 2009

My roomie and I are on a very tight budget right now so I've been looking around for recipes to use the dried beans we have in our pantry. I'd never had any kind of African food before, so I wasn't sure what to expect with this. It was really good! So good that, after I'm done eating this bowl, I'm going to use the rest of the beans I cooked for a second batch for the freezer. Because I wasn't using canned beans, I had to use a little more salt than I anticipated, and I skimmed some of the water off the beans as they were cooking instead of using the canned "juice". Turned out great and was delicious with basmati rice!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cascadia August 21, 2014

I have died and gone to heaven lickin the pot.. I used 1 cup of water and that was enough consistency for me. I used 100% Coconut oil as that is the oil I had. I used more garlic and northern beans. I have to tell you I really did lick my plate.. Thank you so much Angela..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsMargo December 08, 2013

Amazing! This is going to be a staple at our house it was so delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TXmex August 20, 2013

I started to make this only to realize that I didn't have cayenne. I substituted crushed red pepper flakes and added a bit cumin for extra kick. It was great! My husband requested it again. I will try again with cayenne as written because it was really easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate J March 03, 2009

I enjoyed this, it was easy to make and had good consistency and flavor. I only used 1 cup of water and 2 tbsp of olive oil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fahrfignursin November 20, 2008

great recipe! We love spicy (hot) food and this was delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandagirl September 12, 2007
West African Beans