Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / West African Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    West African Beans

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on June 26, 2010

      We have an exchange student from Central West Africa. I really wanted to give him a taste of home and knew he liked beans and rice but knew there had to be some special way to prepare them. I made this recipe exactly as directed with touch of onion salt and red pepper for a bit more flavor. I served it with roast chicken (his favorite). His smile was the reward. He stated that this dish was served often with the other ingredients that I saw on other reviews...the squash etc. Thank you for blessing a young man far from home with this recipe posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      thank you, thank you! i am a returned peace corps volunteer from guinea (and senegal), west africa. while i took the time to learn some of the more "prominent" dishes (yassa poulet, attieke avec poisson frite, etc...), i failed to take into account the daily pleasures of the village fare. i've been missing these and am SO excited to have found them here! ***for added authenticity, try palm oil and a couple pierced "piments" (habaneros), if you're into that sort of thing. again...thank you, thank you, THANK YOU!!! FIVE STARS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      This is some good stuff!! And it was very forgiving. I didn't have paste so I made up with extra sauce and only had black eyed peas on had. Also used onion and garlic powder. And it still turned out fantastic.I even got a little heavy handed with the cayenne. But the kids didn't care, they just sweat it out bowl after bowl! I can't wait to make it again and use the suggested ingredients and I'm sure it will be even better!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      I really expected this to be just another "beans and rice" recipe. The ingredients seemed too ordinary to be anything else. But WOW! It was really good and every single one of use (6 in the house) from age 5 to age 39 loved it. Definately my new frugal favorite.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2014

      My roomie and I are on a very tight budget right now so I've been looking around for recipes to use the dried beans we have in our pantry. I'd never had any kind of African food before, so I wasn't sure what to expect with this. It was really good! So good that, after I'm done eating this bowl, I'm going to use the rest of the beans I cooked for a second batch for the freezer. Because I wasn't using canned beans, I had to use a little more salt than I anticipated, and I skimmed some of the water off the beans as they were cooking instead of using the canned "juice". Turned out great and was delicious with basmati rice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2013

      I have died and gone to heaven lickin the pot.. I used 1 cup of water and that was enough consistency for me. I used 100% Coconut oil as that is the oil I had. I used more garlic and northern beans. I have to tell you I really did lick my plate.. Thank you so much Angela..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2013

      Amazing! This is going to be a staple at our house it was so delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      I started to make this only to realize that I didn't have cayenne. I substituted crushed red pepper flakes and added a bit cumin for extra kick. It was great! My husband requested it again. I will try again with cayenne as written because it was really easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      I enjoyed this, it was easy to make and had good consistency and flavor. I only used 1 cup of water and 2 tbsp of olive oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      great recipe! We love spicy (hot) food and this was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      I made this for a large dinner party which included people from China, Americans, and a man from Benin, West Africa. The internationals raved about this. The only change-- I used black-eyed peas, which I read about in other research on West African cooking. My guests gave it 5*, but to my American taste buds-- 4 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2006

      Excellent! I made a half batch for the two of us, and used it as a side to oven roasted veggies and tilapia. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2005

      I'm sorry, despite all the very postivie reviews, neither DH nor I cared for this. It wasn't bad, just that we like beans prepared different ways so much better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2005

      Very interesting dish, i'm glad I tried it =) My family thought it was pork and beans until I told them what it was.. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2004

      Very good. I have made this over and over again. I have used as a meal and as a side dish. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2004

      This dish was beyond excellent! My mother, myself and my two-year old all loved it! We had it as a side dish tonight, and I plan on eating it for lunch for the rest of the week. Some recipe notes: There are easily 8 side dish servings in this recipe, 6 main dish servings. I used a 10 inch cast iron skillet, as my onions weren't browning well in the saucepan. I think using cast iron helped them brown more. It took about 10 minutes for the tomato paste to color properly. I used only 1 cup of water and never needed the other cup. I will be making this again and again...I'm thinking of possibly doing an oven and a crockpot version some day. I'll keep 'Zaar updated!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2004

      Let's put it this way: my daughter stood over the pot the whole time it was cooking, savoring the aroma. Wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2003

      This was good. It reminded me of something I have had before. I only used about a tbsp of olive oil and it tasted fine...although i used enough ingredients for 2 people so maybe that's why the amount of oil was not an issue. Anyway, thank you and I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2003

      This is a GREAT recipe. I love the dish. I use dried black-eyed peas, boiled with garlic, and it turns out really tasty. A word of advice--letting the paste separate and darken takes longer than you think, the first time you do it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2003

      Hey Angela, This was very good!!! It was not a bit hard to make either.My kind of recipe. Thanks,Darlene Summers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for West African Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (135 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 323.3
     
    Calories from Fat 84
    26%
    Total Fat 9.3 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 75.0 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.0 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    6%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white beans

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes