Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Copycat Restaurant Recipes

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    From Cheesecake Factory to IHOP
    Red Lobster Remakes

    Red Lobster Remakes

    Make Your Own Cheddar Bay Biscuits
    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    Skip the Morning Coffee Run
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wendy's Spicy Chicken Fillet Sandwich by Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wendy's Spicy Chicken Fillet Sandwich by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on May 24, 2010

      I sprayed a baking sheet with cooking spray and baked/broiled the filets, but they came out great and tasted just like the Wendy's sandwich. I'd copied the recipe and reposted to my Facebook account for friends!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      I really liked the flavor of this recipe but had trouble getting the coating to stick on the chicken. I baked strips in the oven instead of frying, next time will try to grease the cookie sheet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2011

      DH brought this recipe to my attention, which I was certain was because of the hot sauce. I asked him if he wanted for Christmas a holster to carry his Frank's.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      I followed it to a T, and it was perfect. This does taste like Wendy's spicy chicken sandwich. I deep fried mine at 350 for 7 min.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2014

      Very nice recipe although I do believe this taste more like Tyson's Buffalo Strips that you buy in the freezer section of the grocery store. I sliced a large chicken breast (partially frozen) into 5 fillets at a 45 degree angle and pounded to 1/2 inch thick after thawing was complete. It was the perfect size for a hamburger bun. I combined the Frank's Red Hot Sauce with an egg, couple splashes of milk and 3 T of the seasoned flour which makes a thick batter. Pat dry chicken pieces, dip in batter and then roll in seasoned flour. No need to double batter. Fry in oil 375 degrees approx 6 minutes. Placed cooked chicken on coffee filters to absorb excess oil. I cut the cayenne pepper in half and these were plenty spicy and crispy. I added sliced jalapenos and peperoncini peppers to my sandwich, delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2013

      Delicious chicken sandwich :) I used the extra breading with the egg as other users suggested. I cut down the cayenne because I expected it to be too much, but next time I plan to add more. I also pan fried instead of deep fried. Everyone in my family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2013

      I must say this is one of the first copy cat recipes I've tried that was actually close. The flavor was good. The texture was not much like Wendy's. Mine came out a lot crunchier and the crust didn't stick as well. That might be a result of not making sure the chicken was completely dry or maybe we should let the chicken set in the fridge for a while after the second dredging. Hopefully someone with a lot of chicken experience can detail how some places get that softer texture on their chicken kind of like KFC original used to be back in the day.<br/><br/>As for the taste, the taste was almost spot on. If it's not exactly like Wendy's, it's pretty darn close. I didn't make mine exactly like Wendy's because I was out of tomatoes, but the taste on this was pretty good, and even if it hadn't been close to 100%, it's just to just have a tasty chicken sandwich recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2013

      As a teenager I worked at Wendy's and this is the closest you will get other then hitting the drive thru. My DH and I have 5 children and all of us enjoy this. It is now on regular rotation in our home. Quick and cheap...always a plus when feeding 5 children. Thank you so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2013

      Good and tasty, next time I have to cut the cayenne a bit since I used Tabassco Sauce since that is what we keep on hand. It was a bit to hot that way. Other than that it is a good recipe although I did have some trouble with the breading wanting to stay on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2013

      I like this recipe but, I put half a cup of cornstarch and, way less cayenne. When I got done frying I sprinkled them with seasoning salt. The cornstarch gives it that light crunchy look that's in the first picture. God bless you all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2012

      Oh these were so good. We all loved them. The spice was perfect. Not too spicy that our 10 year old still liked the flavor. I had no problem at all with the breading sticking to the chicken. We will definately make these again. They are so good. thank you for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2012

    • on July 12, 2012

      I was looking for something to compare with the spicy chicken breasts we used to buy in Mexico, these were pretty close. My kids were eating them up even though they don't like spicy food too much. I did as others suggested and did the flour, sauce ,flour, egg, flour. As well added buttermilk instead of water, cut down the paprika and salt. Terrific recipe! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2012

      Way better than Wendy's! Followed the recipe exactly, had just the right amount of heat. Was a great hit with the whole family, thanks Kris B.!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2012

      I substituted milk instead of using water and my breading stayed in just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      Very good and gives that chicken fantastic flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      I've never eaten Wendy's so I can't compare to theirs. I didn't add as much cayenne pepper or hot sauce. Instead of deep frying I fried in butter. The batting was really crispy and good. This was a fast easy recipe. Great for those nights you don't know what to make. I would guess most people have all the ingredients on hand and if not substitutes could be made easily.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

      Very yummy! The only change I made was to use panko breadcrumbs instead of flour. Turned out really good! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2011

      Wow! Awesome! I didn't have Franks on hand so I subbed some tobasco - just winged it - not as much as the recpipe calls for. Still awesome. I pan fried them in a little oil. I think the average family is going to need to cut the cayenne quite a bit. Breading was great. Perfect thickness and not goopy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wendy's Spicy Chicken Fillet Sandwich by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (520 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3182.2
     
    Calories from Fat 2996
    94%
    Total Fat 332.9 g
    512%
    Saturated Fat 43.4 g
    217%
    Cholesterol 2.5 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2243.7 mg
    93%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.3 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chicken breast fillets


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes