Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wendy's Rhubarb Stir Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wendy's Rhubarb Stir Cake

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on March 22, 2002

      Oh boy this is good ! It disappeared so fast I had to make another one the next day which I sharec with my neighbors also. This cake is really moist and tastes like "Rhubarb Pudding" my gramma used to make in the early 40's. It is very easy to make and the neighbor I shared with said she had to drop by to see what i was baking.. grammajune

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2002

      Yum Yum Yum! That's what I said when I took it out of the oven and I haven't stopped saying it since. Just like the one my mom used to make! Thanks Lennie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2002

      This was my first rhubarb cake and the first time my grandkids had ever tasted rhubarb. When I served it with whipped topping, they all said it was delicious. Thanks for a good cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2002

      Very soft and moist cake.My family loved it.Gone by breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2002

      Oh, Lennie! This is to die for!! :o) I have never even heard of rhubarb until I married 11 years ago, and I had my MIL's strawberry rhubarb pie. I fell in love instantly! It is my favorite pie! I simply HAD to try this, especially since it had a familiar name in the title! LOL My family went nuts over this! So moist and delicious and I had almost everything on hand. Thanks for another first prize winner in our family!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2014

      Other than substituting cinnamon for nutmeg, cuz I didn't have nutmeg, I followed the directions as written & everyone loved this cake. Rhubarb was available at the Farmers Market & one bunch for a lousy $2.00 made the 4 cups perfectly. I just asked the seller & he told me to pick the smallest redist stalks, and said that would make the 4 cups. How would I know. Anyway, thank you for this recipe. It made me the hit of the neighborhood when I gave it out to my friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2014

      I was able to use gluten free flour in this recipe, and it still came out great! Thanks for sharing such a tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2014

      Very Good. Even hubby who doesn't like rhubarb liked it. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2013

      Fabulous cake. I'm throwing away all my other rhubarb cake recipes. This cake is moist, delicious, and slices neatly into attractive servings. I beat the sour cream directly into the butter/egg/sugar mixture. then folded in the flour mixture. I also substituted cinnamon for nutmeg in the topping, and added 1/2 cup chopped toasted pecans. My cake took 50 minutes to bake in a heavy ceramic baking dish. I also think it serves 16 rather than 12, since each slice is so rich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2013

      Great Great Great! I have been looking for a recipe for all that rhubarb that didn't leave a strange taste in your mouth. The dough tasted great so I was ready for a great cake and this recipe didn't disappoint. I did add half sour cream half marionberry yogurt and 1 cup currants with 2 cups rhubarb (I will increase that next time) and I also switched up the flour to 1 cup regular and 1 cup teff flour. I also made a bit sweeter topping to include 1/2 cup packed brown sugar, 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour, 1 teaspoon cinnamon<br/>1 tablespoon butter, softened - next time I may leave out the butter. The cake was a bit pudding like which we loved. The kids ate it as it came out of the oven and again for dinner. I will add all the rhubarb next time or split half and half with the currants.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2012

      Really good cake! I used only 1 tbls of sugar for the topping though and subsituted cinnamon for the nutmeg (personal preference). My cake tested done at 35 minutes and I will check it at 30 mintues the next time. Goes great with vanilla ice cream too! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2012

      Wow this was good! It was more like a bread pudding - in a good way! Lower in fat too, which was great. I will totally make this again. I'm passing this recipe on to all my rhubarb-lovers. Thanks so much for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2011

      Nice cake with lots of rhubarb! I cut the sugar (because I don't like things too sweet), used half whole wheat flour and substituted greek yogurt for the sour cream and it was still nice and moist and plenty sweet. The batter was a little thick, but I think you need that to soak up the juices from the rhubarb. I also used raw sugar for extra crunch on top, but only about half the amount the recipe called for. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      Very good rhubarb cake - our family really enjoyed it. I will use cinnamon next time instead of nutmeg, though, but that's just our taste. The batter does seem like it would be too dry, but once you put the sour cream in, then it looks like the right consistency for cake batter. Loved it. Thanks for the recipe, Lennie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      Good cake, thanks! I thought it might be too sweet, but was just the right amount of tart for me. Tasty and moist, even on day 3...and that's as long as it lasted!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

    • on April 27, 2010

      Very good. Next time I will cut the nutmeg down to 1/4 tsp. This cake stayed very moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      Another great rhubarb treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      Quite good! I resisted the urge to mix cinnamon with the nutmeg for sprinkling on top. I'm glad I did, the nutmeg gives it a special taste. I didn't know if I was to fold in the sour cream THEN the rhubarb or fold them both in at the same time. I did the later and it turned out fine. Very moist. I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      I have a lot of rhubarb in my garden and so I decided to make tow rhubarb cakes to compare. Both are excellent and moist. The other one was rhubarb coffee cake by kate in ontario. This one has double the amount of rhubarb in it and so the texture was more gooey and more rhubarb flavor. The coffee cake was more cake like. I like the coffee cake better my husband likes this one. We both agree the topping on the other cake is much better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wendy's Rhubarb Stir Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (127 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 303.3
     
    Calories from Fat 75
    24%
    Total Fat 8.3 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 35.6 mg
    11%
    Sodium 266.7 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.6 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 33.5 g
    134%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes