15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This tastes just like I remember having in England. I served it with grilled sliced tomatoes on top, because that's how I remember it. And next time I might cut back on the ale, just a little, to make a thicker sauce.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leonard Cohen March 09, 2002

I usually use a high quality imported beer to make welsh rarebit, but the ale turned out just fine, thanks. (My only recommendation is to start with an ale you're sure to like.) I also usually use a dry mustard but the Dijon gave it an extra depth of taste. My BF picked this recipe out to make and I think I'll use this one from now on! As per other reviewer's suggestions he added a tablespoon or more to the ale and served with sliced tomatoes on top. Great recipe! Now, how to make it lower fat...

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend December 05, 2009

Super recipe. This tastes great and is very easy to make. I used 50% low fat cheese and Sierra Nevada Pale Ale with oatmeal bread. This is the standard I will make again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CranberrySparkle December 06, 2009

I'm addicted. I made this as directed, but followed carolinerenee's tip about the flour. I just tossed the freshly grated cheddar with a tbl. of flour before adding it to the ale...perfection! I also served it on top of thick toasted slabs of my dad's rye bread (Rye Bread Ala Polish Papa Rye Bread Ala Polish Papa). This will be my supper at least once a week this winter. Miller posted some of the best recipes ever, may God bless him.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vina October 22, 2006

This was great! True comfort food. I did not think the sauce was too thin, as others have. Once you put it under the broiler, the cheese sauce thickened up and melded nicely with the bread. I also had no problems with the cheese mixing with the ale--just make sure you get the mixture hot enough.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maiya January 25, 2005

Everybody I fed this to LOVED it!! I did substitute the salt, pepper & cayenne, I used Trader Joe's 21 Season Salute. I highly recomend that you spray the pan or platter with non-stick cooking spray so you can get any runoff.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pamela H January 10, 2005

I had trouble getting the cheese to mix with the ale when I made this the first couple of times, I finally tried adding a tablespoon of flour to the ale to thicken it a little before adding the cheese and it came together perfectly. My son won't leave me alone now, I have to make this for him at least twice a week :) This recipe also brings back good memories for me since my father used to make this a lot when I was a kid. Definitely comfort food! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carolinerenee January 04, 2004

tried your recipe but to make it more authentic replace dijon mustard with dry english mustard then you have the real thing sargie

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sargie August 14, 2002

A classic needs no messing about and this is a classic! I burnt the toast, but hey ho, it was still great. Made this with Black Sheep Ale with Scottish mature Cheddar cheese and wolfed it down for lunch! Made for the Dairy event in the Photos Forum. FT:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart October 26, 2009

Yummy! Brought me back to my childhood (only then it was the stuff in the frozen food aisle) and my husband back to his days in the Navy 25+ years ago. Excellent!! I used honey mustard instead of Dijon and the summer ale I had on hand. Scrumptious! Thank you Miller for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glori-B May 03, 2009
Welsh Rarebit