Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Welsh Rabbit (Rarebit) - Sort of Toasted Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Welsh Rabbit (Rarebit) - Sort of Toasted Cheese

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on August 07, 2014

      This is an easy, but decadent dish. Definitely a great brunch item. I halved the recipe and just to make it more decadent, I added a poached egg on top of the toast with the cheese sauce over it. Delish! Made for the FYC Tag game, August, 20-14

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2013

      Great easy recipe! Thanks for sharing, Karen! Made for PRMR 2013

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2012

      Decadent and delicious!! This took about 5 minutes to make and is a real feel-good recipe. I used an old cheddar and all the rest of the ingredients listed and it was great! Made for ZWT8. Thanks Karen Elizabeth! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2012

      Made for Zaar World Tour 8. I forgot to take some ingrediants with me, so have left out the sauce and pepper/paprika. This was delicious even missing some extra flavours. I can't wait to try it again with everything included. My boyfriend, who isn't a big fan of breakfast has been telling me how much he loved this dish. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      Made for ZWT-8, mainly because I'd never eaten Rabbit (Rarebit) B4 or understood what its mass appeal was since it seemed ordinary to me ... ordinary til I saw Andi's pic. Andi's pic told a true story cuz there's nothing ordinary about this. I used the beer option as DH always has 1-2 in the fridge I can make disappear for a good cause. He's salt-restricted, so I left that out. My guess is that this is the British version of "comfort food" (like the grilled cheese sandwich in the US) & it works if that's its goal. I know the recipe makes 4 servings, but it didn't go that far for the 2 of us (we both indulged ourselves w/an extra half portion). My orig plan was to make a half recipe (good thing I didn't), but I've never been very good at halving 1 egg & try to avoid it. DH is on vacation for the whole mo of Aug & is really enjoying the Tour. Thx for sharing this recipe w/us. I'm now a Rabbit (Rarebit) fan. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      This was the very first dish I made in Home Economics in Junior High. I remember being so proud of myself for making such a yummy dish. LOL It was a tad on the salty side, it might have been from the brand of cheddar cheese I used. Next time I am going to leave out the salt. I used milk instead of the beer. Thanks for bringing back such a great memory. Made for February 2010 Aussie/NZ Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      This is my first time making Welsh rarebit and won't be my last. I don't like beer at all in any manner and so I used whole milk for the sauce. I found a fantastic grass fed New Zealand white cheddar at Trader Joe's last week and it worked perfectly in this recipe. The rarebit was served over homemade bread, too!: Our Daily Bread in a Crock - Weekly Make and Bake Rustic Bread Thanks for posting and introducing me to this classic dish. Made for Veg Swap #19-2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      This so quick and easy to make and it tastes wonderful.. First time I have made Rarebit at home and we loved this recipe.. I am going to also try adding a slice of ham to the toast before pouring the cheese sauce over next time I make this, that would make for a great quick evening meal.. I served ours as a brunch today and all three of us enjoyed it.. Thanks Karen for a super little recipe that is packed full of flavour with hardly any effort.. A Huge Thumbs up from all.. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      I adore welsh rarebit and this is a fabulous version of it. Made for a great lunch a couple of weeks ago.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      I scaled the sauce down for 2 and served it over toasted bread and cooked turkey bacon for breakfast. Delicious. I also did this in the microwave with success, which made breakfast quick and easy. A nice change of pace. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      I also downsized this recipe for 2. And it was ....how you say!!!!Fantastic! Although I did cheat and made most of the recipe in the microwave on low.... and yes it worked! It worked well also. I used the beer option ( although had a small bottle left over as DH doesnt drink much) ahhh well it was worth it!!!!! I served with roasted tomatoes on toast and this made for a very rich and filling meal! Although I did not use the paprika option but this was so easy and quick to prepare (especially using the microwave.) First time trier's to Rarebit here, and DH an I both loved it. Thanks Karen.....wont let this recipe go am saving this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      I downsized to 2 serves which gave the four of us a lovely tasty gooey snack. I used the milk option and a sharp vintage cheddar and served on a thick slice of wholemeal/wholgrain buttered toast. This tasted sinfully rich and don't think I could handle more than 1 slice at a time, would like to have as a light lunch with a crisp green salad, though. Thank you Karen Elizabeth, made for Please Review My Recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      I grew up having welsh rarebit and this was actaully like I'd remembered

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      Toasted, cooked, in the mouths of guests, and none left. This was so easy, there would be no reason why not whip this up when you have friends who stop by? I used butter, beer, and added the whole amount of cayenne. Whoot! This is absolutely delicious! I quartered the toasts into toast points and threw some diced green onion on top. Just delicious! Made for *Veggie/Vegan* swap! September 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      Aaah...yum! I love welsh rarebit (and all of the various ways to make it!!).This method was quick,easy and did I already mention delicious!! I used beer (not a rarebit without it really!) and added a dash of tabasco to the mix too. A wonderful lunch snack or supper dish without much effort being exerted. Thanks Karen Elizabeth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Welsh Rabbit (Rarebit) - Sort of Toasted Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (103 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 227.5
     
    Calories from Fat 91
    40%
    Total Fat 10.1 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 66.8 mg
    22%
    Sodium 646.0 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Mature cheddar cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes