10 Reviews

These were easy to make biscuits that satisfied the snack attack. I have also baked these welsh cakes as opposed to making them in the electric frying pan. I let them bake for about 10-12 minutes on a cookie sheet @ 365°. They turned out more light and fluffy. My husband preferred them in this way. As well, I used raisins as opposed to currants. Yummy!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunny_day August 05, 2002

Delicious and easy. Great proportions. Made them in a food processor using the pulse button and stopped the mixing just before it all clumped together. Then rolled it out. Dough made way more than 12 though. Maybe I just have a smaller cutter, but I got 20 of these little beauties.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jangomango November 26, 2002

My grandma & mom have made these all my life!!! They are one of my favorite things! They're great when you want some baking & it's too hot to use the oven. My uncle can eat dozens at one sitting!! Thanks for sharing!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KristinB August 06, 2002

I actually tried both baking and frying in a pan (I don't own a griddle). Definately fry them, the baked version spreads out too much and becomes a crumbly cookie. The fried ones are incredible and just like the ones I had in Wales. If you are using a frying pan, (even a big one) dont put more than two in at a time. They are VERY tender and hard to turn over...more than two is very hard to manage. I'm going out to buy a griddle this afternoon! What a great and authentic recipe, thanks for sharing it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Callinectes Sapidus August 23, 2009

I agree with Chef #570804 grill don't bake them. 5 minutes a side and enjoy! Wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
All Heart February 20, 2009

These griddle cakes (because that is how they should be cooked otherwise they do not have the same taste) are wonderful. Can remember eating too many of thse as a kid!! Thanks for submitting this recipe which will make cooks aware of just how good simple ingredients can be.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waynejohn1234 May 08, 2008

Just a review update: I think this is a nice recipe, but do still recommend a couple changes. The dough needed more flour; also, baking them on a cookie sheet for 5 or 6 minutes on each side was easier, quicker, and more efficient than frying them. I baked them at 350 degrees. (When I tried frying them at 300, they took forever to cook through). This time, I made them with half whole wheat flour and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup--they tasted great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Messy Cook January 06, 2008

I've never tasted nor heard of Welsh cakes until today! With such simple ingredients and methods, I couldn't help but had to have a go at it. Turned out to be wonderful! Used raisins instead of currants too. Made them into bite-sized size and had more than 20 of them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ling #233771 October 06, 2005

I grew up in a town with a lot of people of Welsh ancestry, so I had many opportunities to eat these as a child. I wanted to have them again, so I found this recipe. Just as I remembered! Tasty and not too sweet. Perfect with butter and jam and a cup of hot tea. Thanks for giving me a blast from the past!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HollyJane June 29, 2005

DiB's!! We loved these! Oh my lambs these are delicous and easy to prepare! I substituted buttermilk for regular milk and used raisins for currants because someone broke into the cupboard and ate all the currants. Before I fried these in a castiron skillet, I cooked up a few slices of bacon strips, poured off the fat and used some of the lard to fry the Welsh Cakes. As other reviewers mentioned, I also ended up with more cakes than the recipe said it would yield, and that was after having cut the recipe in half to begin with. I used a 3" round cookie cutter to shape the cakes. These are wonderfully addicting and very delicious topped with butter and strawberry jam! Thanks for sharing. cg ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl June 05, 2005
Welsh Cakes