Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Welsh Cakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Welsh Cakes

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2002

      These were easy to make biscuits that satisfied the snack attack. I have also baked these welsh cakes as opposed to making them in the electric frying pan. I let them bake for about 10-12 minutes on a cookie sheet @ 365°. They turned out more light and fluffy. My husband preferred them in this way. As well, I used raisins as opposed to currants. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2002

      Delicious and easy. Great proportions. Made them in a food processor using the pulse button and stopped the mixing just before it all clumped together. Then rolled it out. Dough made way more than 12 though. Maybe I just have a smaller cutter, but I got 20 of these little beauties.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2002

      My grandma & mom have made these all my life!!! They are one of my favorite things! They're great when you want some baking & it's too hot to use the oven. My uncle can eat dozens at one sitting!! Thanks for sharing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      I actually tried both baking and frying in a pan (I don't own a griddle). Definately fry them, the baked version spreads out too much and becomes a crumbly cookie. The fried ones are incredible and just like the ones I had in Wales. If you are using a frying pan, (even a big one) dont put more than two in at a time. They are VERY tender and hard to turn over...more than two is very hard to manage. I'm going out to buy a griddle this afternoon! What a great and authentic recipe, thanks for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      I agree with Chef #570804 grill don't bake them. 5 minutes a side and enjoy! Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      These griddle cakes (because that is how they should be cooked otherwise they do not have the same taste) are wonderful. Can remember eating too many of thse as a kid!! Thanks for submitting this recipe which will make cooks aware of just how good simple ingredients can be.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      Just a review update: I think this is a nice recipe, but do still recommend a couple changes. The dough needed more flour; also, baking them on a cookie sheet for 5 or 6 minutes on each side was easier, quicker, and more efficient than frying them. I baked them at 350 degrees. (When I tried frying them at 300, they took forever to cook through). This time, I made them with half whole wheat flour and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup--they tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2005

      I've never tasted nor heard of Welsh cakes until today! With such simple ingredients and methods, I couldn't help but had to have a go at it. Turned out to be wonderful! Used raisins instead of currants too. Made them into bite-sized size and had more than 20 of them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2005

      I grew up in a town with a lot of people of Welsh ancestry, so I had many opportunities to eat these as a child. I wanted to have them again, so I found this recipe. Just as I remembered! Tasty and not too sweet. Perfect with butter and jam and a cup of hot tea. Thanks for giving me a blast from the past!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2005

      DiB's!! We loved these! Oh my lambs these are delicous and easy to prepare! I substituted buttermilk for regular milk and used raisins for currants because someone broke into the cupboard and ate all the currants. Before I fried these in a castiron skillet, I cooked up a few slices of bacon strips, poured off the fat and used some of the lard to fry the Welsh Cakes. As other reviewers mentioned, I also ended up with more cakes than the recipe said it would yield, and that was after having cut the recipe in half to begin with. I used a 3" round cookie cutter to shape the cakes. These are wonderfully addicting and very delicious topped with butter and strawberry jam! Thanks for sharing. cg ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Breads Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Welsh Cakes

    Serving Size: 1 (1025 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 488.9
     
    Calories from Fat 221
    45%
    Total Fat 24.6 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 15.1 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 89.5 mg
    29%
    Sodium 608.7 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.0 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 31.0 g
    124%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes