Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Welfare Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Welfare Cookies

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on April 02, 2003

      I once had a recipe similar to this and I had misplaced it. I am so glad to have it again! I used slivered almonds instead of the walnuts. I had made these for a bridal shower and in keeping with the Bride's colors, I also added crushed red smarties along with the almonds. (I think that adding multi-colored crushed smarties on top would make a pretty snack as well.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2003

      I am so glad that I can update my review. The first time I made these cookies, I just threw the margarine and sugar in a pot on the stove to heat. Unfortunately the sugar turned into a mass on the bottom and the margarine melted on the top. Well I made it again this weekend as an extra dessert. We were getting together with friends who have 7 children so I wanted an extra easy dessert on hand. This time I melted the margarine and then slowly added the sugar. It came out much better. Really easy after that and my kids liked sprinkiling on the chips. I used chocolate and vanilla chips and it looked very pretty and they gobbled them up too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2002

      This recipe desearves a better title! It is absolutely delicious. The only things I changed were the nuts and the chips. I had Butterscotch chips on hand and pecans. (cut is as soon as you can and get it out of the pan before it hardens). This candy is even better than a "Heath Bar"! and sooo simple to make! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2002

      a very quick easy bar, also quite tasty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2003

      Absolutely delicious. DH and the kids loved them, along with every other kid that entered our house this weekend. I also used butterscotch chipts as I ran out of the chocolate ones. Next time I will try it with chocolate chips. Thanks for posting a great recipe that is simple to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2013

      These are very good! The name of these is actually fools toffee in part because they are so much like Heath toffee bars. I used almonds instead of walnuts on mine since I like them more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2012

      I had these made for my bday about 7 years ago, and every now and then I crave them :) I can never completely remember the right amounts of everything and this helped! I like to cook my saltines a little longer then recommended, but they are so delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2011

      This was great. I decided to try it because it calls for 1/2 the butter of all the similar recipes. It worked great and doesn't taste "low fat" at all (but that's a reduction of 800 calories for the recipe!).

      Thanks for a great recipe... this makes inexpensive "candy bars" (two squares together) for my kids lunches.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      These were GREAT!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      I saw this recipe and wanted to try it cause it looked so simple. Well my daughter and I whipped these up in no time flat! The hardest part was waiting for them to set up(we waited overnight.) We used semi sweet chips and they were like little dark chocolate candy bars. My kids are already talking about how we could add these too our christmas goodies we give out. Tonight we are going to try them with milk chocolate chips... maybe next time we might add some peanut butter chips or white chocolate chips... possibilities are endless!!! My elementary student shared them with friends along with a promise to bring the 4 ingrediant recipe the next day... I can't believe more people haven't rated this simple yummy cookie! I say 5 stars!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      This was just WAY TOO EASY! I'm not one to make sweets, and candy certainly intimidates me.... but I gave these a try and they turned out perfectly! I used pecans instead of walnuts, and lined the pan with tinfoil. Clean up couldn't have been easier! 5 stars for a great treat and the ease of making it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      Oh my gosh I almost didnt make this weird recipe but I had a chocolate party and wanted to go off the deep end. I made truffles with spices, choc covered potato chips etc. so these fit right it. No one knew they were saltines. When I told them they all took a 2nd bite and asked for the recipe. It tastes just like toffee!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2010

      HELP!! I have tasted these before, so I know they're good. But, after TWO attempts at the butter/sugar combination, I gave up. The sugar and oil either separated or burned for me. Please tell me what I am doing wrong. I would love to make these. I can't rate them because I failed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      I don't know what i did wrong - tossed the first pan of sugar/butter - tried again and decided the sugar would just be sugary. I coouldn't spread it fast enough - ended up with spoons and pans with sugary coatings (I threw spoons away.) AND, the cookies came out too burned because I had too much of the solid butter/sugar on. I've had these cookies and loved them....but I just couldn't make them. Spent two hours, said the heck with it, and tore this page out of my saved book. I am soo sad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      Strange. At first bite, I didn't like these-too sweet and sort of "gritty". So I grabbed another one just to be sure. But then I was IMMEDIATELY addicted and (no kidding) could NOT stop eating them. Hubby liked them too and so I sent some to work with him. His buddy requested the recipe so I'm here printing HIM a copy now. I used CINNAMON chips (YUM) and a 50/50 mix of chopped peanuts and walnuts because that's what I had. It made a big batch and there are NONE left after one day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      I have had this recipe for many years and it was called "Chocolate Bark Cookies". Also, it should be put into the freezer for 30 mins and then break it up into pieces. It does call for a little more than one sleeve of saltines. Also, crushed peppermint candy canes are great for the holidays instead of nuts and look so pretty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      I made these to take to a 100th Birthday Party (two friends both turning 50). They were an immediate hit. Someone came and asked me if I had tried the great "candy" and they pointed out my dish! I told them I had made it and they immediately asked for the recipe. These cookies/candy are so rich, delicious and really easy to make. I wasn't sure when I was boiling the butter/sugar mix if I'd be able to spread it over the crackers because it was so thick, but it worked JUST fine! Thanks again Merlot for another of your fabulous recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      It is a mistake not to use foil on the pan. Mine stuck even with spray. I had to badly scrape my pan to get it loose. Also, I only had one sleeve of crackers and it didn't quite fill out to the last inch or so at the edge of the cookie sheet, also a mistake. Cover the pan with crackers. Otherwise, the "goo" will just bake right on the pan, which is not what you want. I did stick the whole pan in the freezer for a few minutes after it cooled and it helped trememdously in breaking the bark. I don't think I am in a hurry to make this again. It tastes good, very much like a "Skor" bar but much more like candy than cookies. I used half white and half brown sugar and light butter and whole wheat crackers. I think the title should be Welfare Candy. Let me repeat - use foil!!!! MarieDanette

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      These are soooooooo yummy!!! I have made them several times and everyone loves them. I have found the best way to break them up is to let them cool and then put them in the freezer for a while.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      This turned out great, but it took a while for me to form that opinion. Perhaps the cookie sheet I used was too big, but the proportion of caramel sauce to saltines was not ideal. At first, I also panicked when I found that the whole thing was stuck to the pan and wouldn't come off. I thought I was going to have to throw the whole thing away. But as it turned out, after putting it on the back porch, it came out of the pan without difficulty. What you want to do is make sure that all the crackers are totally covered by the caramel sauce and the chocolate. When you break it, it will come out like brittle or bark. Not traditional cookies. Tasty though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Welfare Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (776 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 134.2
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    54%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 10.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 35.4 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 16.0 g
    64%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites