26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I once had a recipe similar to this and I had misplaced it. I am so glad to have it again! I used slivered almonds instead of the walnuts. I had made these for a bridal shower and in keeping with the Bride's colors, I also added crushed red smarties along with the almonds. (I think that adding multi-colored crushed smarties on top would make a pretty snack as well.)

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * April 02, 2003

I am so glad that I can update my review. The first time I made these cookies, I just threw the margarine and sugar in a pot on the stove to heat. Unfortunately the sugar turned into a mass on the bottom and the margarine melted on the top. Well I made it again this weekend as an extra dessert. We were getting together with friends who have 7 children so I wanted an extra easy dessert on hand. This time I melted the margarine and then slowly added the sugar. It came out much better. Really easy after that and my kids liked sprinkiling on the chips. I used chocolate and vanilla chips and it looked very pretty and they gobbled them up too.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn Gale March 15, 2003

This recipe desearves a better title! It is absolutely delicious. The only things I changed were the nuts and the chips. I had Butterscotch chips on hand and pecans. (cut is as soon as you can and get it out of the pan before it hardens). This candy is even better than a "Heath Bar"! and sooo simple to make! Thanks.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dottie5 November 23, 2002

a very quick easy bar, also quite tasty

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jade56303 September 02, 2002

Absolutely delicious. DH and the kids loved them, along with every other kid that entered our house this weekend. I also used butterscotch chipts as I ran out of the chocolate ones. Next time I will try it with chocolate chips. Thanks for posting a great recipe that is simple to make.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heather in Ont, October 05, 2003

These are very good! The name of these is actually fools toffee in part because they are so much like Heath toffee bars. I used almonds instead of walnuts on mine since I like them more.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmmmclaire December 21, 2013

I had these made for my bday about 7 years ago, and every now and then I crave them :) I can never completely remember the right amounts of everything and this helped! I like to cook my saltines a little longer then recommended, but they are so delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jasesmommy13 April 27, 2012

This was great. I decided to try it because it calls for 1/2 the butter of all the similar recipes. It worked great and doesn't taste "low fat" at all (but that's a reduction of 800 calories for the recipe!).

Thanks for a great recipe... this makes inexpensive "candy bars" (two squares together) for my kids lunches.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TanyaW October 04, 2011

These were GREAT!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
closet chef in ma July 01, 2010

I saw this recipe and wanted to try it cause it looked so simple. Well my daughter and I whipped these up in no time flat! The hardest part was waiting for them to set up(we waited overnight.) We used semi sweet chips and they were like little dark chocolate candy bars. My kids are already talking about how we could add these too our christmas goodies we give out. Tonight we are going to try them with milk chocolate chips... maybe next time we might add some peanut butter chips or white chocolate chips... possibilities are endless!!! My elementary student shared them with friends along with a promise to bring the 4 ingrediant recipe the next day... I can't believe more people haven't rated this simple yummy cookie! I say 5 stars!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustErin April 26, 2010
Welfare Cookies