11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm not sure if it was the 5 spice I bought, but my husband came downstairs thinking I was backing some wonderful CINNAMON treat. That's what this sesame chicken smelled and tasted like. Everything else smelled and looked great, but adding that 5 spice totally ruined mine. I should have left it out and just used the sauce without it. SO, smell your spice first, if it smells like something you bake with, you need a different brand. Oh and I have used in the past, I know it gives a nice undertone of seasoning, just not this one I bought. Just an FYI, be careful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kteggers February 04, 2010

I really liked the way the chicken came out. It was tender and flavorful. I did think the ginger was a tad bit overpowering, but it could be because I had to omit the five spice powder. Next time I make it, I will double the sauce and lessen the ginger just a tad. My DS LOVED it and DH did not even know he was eating diet food! THANKS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BenandMatt'smommy April 10, 2008

oh but this is TASTY... I made it and had it for dinner then the next day I put the leftover chicken on a spinach salad and took it for lunch. delish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SolightlyUK January 26, 2008

Wow, what a surprise. I was expecting something sweeter but was pleasantly surprised by the flavor. Omited the 5 spice powder and peanut oil, then added 1 teaspoon of sesame oil to the sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen of Flowers December 26, 2007

Excellent! I loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lyndsey #2 September 28, 2007

Tasty! I didn't have any sherry, so I used a dash of sweet red wine and added some honey, as the sauce wasn't as sweet as I like it. I took another reviewer's advice and doubled the sauce--I like saucy dishes, so next time I would triple it. Just my personal taste. I also used ginger powder since I find ginger root to be a bit too strong. It turned out great. Served with brown rice and steamed brocolli. Will definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
knitterstitcher August 29, 2007

This really deserves at least 10 stars. When DH says "this is great, what kind of meat is it"? I know I have a winner, he hate's chicken. Not only does this taste great but it also is WW friendly. What more can you ask for. helluvawoman, you did it again. This is a keeper, thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas March 17, 2007

I made this and it tasted like gingerbread chicken. The only thing that's sesame about this are the seeds. So I tried making this again excluding five-spice powder & ginger, subbing 1 tsp sesame oil and it came out a lot better. I just don't like my chicken tasting like cookies. Thanks for the posting though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eCCAbOO February 17, 2007

Very good! My family requested that I double the sauce next time... and there WILL be a next time! We enjoyed it. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HollyGolightly January 07, 2007
Weight Watchers Sesame Chicken