11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a really great soup, Maybe back in 2008 when Newly Mrs. Johnson submitted it from her fellow WW member the point value was only 2.5 points per cup, but todays point value is 7 points per cup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sjailer50 October 01, 2014

An incredible, creamy and filling dish. I felt like I was eating a delicious baked potato smothered in cheese, sour cream and bacon bits, yet at only 2.5pts this gem won't expand my waistline. Even my picky two year old couldn't get enough. Amazing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheBandit June 19, 2013

I used frozen southern style hash brown and seasoned the potatoes with salt, black pepper, Accent, and garlic powder. The soup was delicious and very easy to make. My family loved it, and I loved the fact that it was only 2.5 WW points. However, I crumbled a 1/2 slice of bacon on top and rounded to points to 3.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zeta_92 January 28, 2012

Loooooovvvvvveeeeedddd this...I added the whole sauteed onion ( sauteed in the the left over bacon grease.) and added a fourth of a carrot finely chopped for color.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wyldkat80 October 12, 2011

Made this last night, it was absolutely wonderful!!! My husband and I are trying to eat better and lose weight. Made just a written. Wonderful. Will totally make it again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
manda1027 July 06, 2011

This was soooo good and filling too! I used scallions and added some chopped celery and carrots for color/flavor. I only need to add a little flour to thicken at the end. Served with chopped scallions, crumbled turkey bacon and a tad of sharp cheddar..that way everybody could put however much they wanted on top!!! Definitely making again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kateburns01 July 07, 2010

Easily the best WW recipe I have found yet! I cut the recipe in half and thoroughly enjoyed it and I have frozen leftovers for lunches! Thanks for posting! Made for Spring PAC 2010!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~SarahBeth~ April 06, 2010

I love this soup! I used 4 oz velveeta cheese and 4 oz of shredded cheddar. (That's what I had on hand.) I just love the creamy cheese sauce that it made. It was suprisingly filling, too! I'm making it again for dinner tonight.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellyb77 January 13, 2010

Oh my goodness! I never rate recipes, but this recipe was too good to not rate! 5 stars is an understatement! This is good for just a regular recipe. I will never make another potato soup ever again. Instead of regular bacon I used Canadian bacon. Next time I might add some chopped veggies, carrots and celery or the like, but other than that, nothing else needs to be changed! GREAT RECIPE!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caitie J September 20, 2009

Oh my, wonderful comfort food! I used a 32 ounce box of chicken stock, about 8 Idaho potatoes, minced dried onion, and bacon bits. This was easy to make and smelled so good. A mild creamy cheese flavor with chunks of potatoes but also some simmered down potatoes. I also like the amount of flour and water to thicken as it wasnt so thick it was like a stew. Thank you so much for posting this recipe Mrs Johnson, I will be making it again! Made and reviewed for Pick A Chef - Summer 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 April 24, 2009
Weight Watchers Potato Soup