Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Weight Watchers Grandma's Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Weight Watchers Grandma's Casserole

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on February 06, 2010

      I've been using this recipe for years, but have some changes that I think make it great. Don't use noodles, use spiral pasta, instead of tomato puree I use a good canned or bottled pasta sauce and for the cheese I use mozzarella and also a sprinkle or two of parmesan. If you can't do the ground turkey use extra lean ground beef. Also I add some oregano, basil and garlic powder. Everybody refers to this as lasagna type thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      Very good "healthy" comfort food. I did use the no yolk egg noodles, used no butter, and added minced garlic, Italian seasoning and cayenne pepper as others have stated. I also added a splash of worcestershire and used 2% cheese. When I do recipe builder with these changes and the recipe, it comes up to 5 points for 8 serving or 7 points for 6 servings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      I made it ahead and baked it about 4 hours later. I think I would cook the pasts first next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      Pure comfort food. I cut the cheese in half, used a little olive oil instead of butter and whole wheat pasta.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      From the information given in the Nutrition Facts, this figures to be 8 points per serving.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2014

      This was delicious. I did add some Italian seasoning and a little cheese in the sauce as suggested by some of the other reviewers. Used egg noodles and covered it until the last 10 minutes then sprinkled mozzarella cheese on top with a little parmesan. Very tasty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2014

      Husband and two picky children loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2014

      Will make this again! I did take the suggestion of using spiral pasta and added the oregano, basil and garlic powder but added Rotel because I did not have enough canned plain tomatoes. Family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2014

      Great dish. I think I will save my own version of this dish. I would agree with adding garlic and the noodles should just be cooked in the sauce in the pan. Mix some cheese in at then add some to the top and let melt for a few minutes. I might try making small turkey meatballs next round also. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2013

    • on June 22, 2011

      My husband really liked this, he said maybe add more seasoning. I did enjoy this also, it was easy to put together. Couldn't find 12oz can of puree so added 12oz crushed tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      I should have read the reviews before making as this was very bland and needed a lot more seasoning. I didn't have turkey so used venison. I also used crushed tomatoes instead of puree as that is what I had. I also didn't use the butter to cook the onions and pepper, I just sprayed the pan with PAM. I used no yoke egg noodles as that is all I buy. With more seasoning, this would be a lot better. We all ate it but agreed it was missing something.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      Made recipe as written except added garlic powder and some Italian seasoning as previous reviewers suggested. I liked everything about it, but I'm giving it 4 stars due to some of the kids not really liking it enough to have it again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      We liked this. I stuck to the recipe pretty closely. I used reduced fat cheese. I also subbed crushed tomatoes for the puree. I think it would have helped to put the cheese on top towards the end of cooking. It was pretty hard and crusty. Tasty, though. Thanks JackieMarie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      This recipe is very easy to put together, using ingredients that I typically have in the pantry. However, I found it to be pretty bland. Like another reviewer, I could see adding Italian seasonings. Maybe even cayenne/crushed red pepper flakes or pepper jack cheese in place of the cheddar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      This was very good and super easy to make. My husband and my picky six year old son both loved it. Definitely a repeater and happy that it's healthy. I also used the no egg yolk noodles! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      Awesome! My husband and I thought it resembled Goulash a lot, but that's why we LOVED it!!!! He didn't even notice it was turkey! He just commented on how "non" greasy the meat was, and I told him that's because it's turkey, and he said, well you should use that a lot more!!! Yay!! Helps out with the weight watchers a TON!!! Thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      Great recipe for WW's looking for comfort food! My beef-eating hubby and son didn't even complain about the use of turkey instead of ground round, so that makes it even better. Couple changes that I made to make it even more WW friendly without sacrificing taste were to cut the butter to 1 tablespoon, used "No-Yolk" brand egg noodles and 2% shredded cheddar. These changes cut the points value down to about 6 1/2 points per serving. Will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      Great comfort food. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      Havent tried the recipe yet, but thought I would add that the recipe is actually 8 points per serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Weight Watchers Grandma's Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (307 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 370.6
     
    Calories from Fat 163
    44%
    Total Fat 18.1 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 9.3 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 100.5 mg
    33%
    Sodium 258.2 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 23.8 g
    47%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes