71 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

After reading the other reviews, I decided to experiment. Some of the reviews said the casserole had a "soup" consistseny. Preheat oven at 350 degrees and oil a rectangle casserole dish. I used 2 cups of whole wheat macaroni (cooked), 2 cups of chicken breast (cooked), 2 cans of Healthy Request Mushroom soup (undiluted), skim milk (about 1 can measured from the soup can), 1.5 cups of shredded parmesan cheese, grilled onions, and lots of spices. First, I grilled the onions and chicken in separate pans with extra-virgin olive oil. I added garlic powder and italian seasoning. I also cooked the noodles. In a bowl, I mixed the soup, milk, cheese, and other ingredients once they are finished cooking on the stove top. I also added more garlic powder, italian seasoning, and rosemary. I put the mixture in the dish and baked it for 30 mins, covered. Last, I cooked the casserole for 15 mins uncovered. It was good, healthy, and had the right consistency. I will be making this again!

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
STNorman May 02, 2010

Just a note. According to WW new Points this is 5 pts for 1/8th of the casserole. :)

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Newly Mrs. Johnson August 29, 2011

I love to cook, and was sad when I started Weight Watchers because I assumed that a lot of the fun would go out of cooking. I am so glad that I was wrong about that though, and I thought this dish was DELICIOUS. Excellent comfort food. I used 3 chicken breasts, one can of ff cream of chicken, one can of ff cream of mushroom, and added mushrooms, onions and peas. It was perfect. Thanks Budgie! :)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djbarnez September 22, 2009

You can do so much with this casserole. I omitted the macaroni, used 1 can 98% fat free cream of chicken soup, 1 can 98% fat free cream of chicken & mushroom soup, 2% cheese and fat free milk. On one side, I added crushed butter crackers and sprayed them with spray butter for the kids. My whole family loved it. You could add fat free noodles, brown rice, broccoli...the possibilities are endless....Thanks for the recipe...I will use it often!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shellibaby0912 November 10, 2009

I made this dish for my husband tonight and he absolutely loved it! Here are some of the notes that I made: August 19, 2008: 1) I used 1 16 ounce box of Hodgson Mill Whole Wheat Elbows 2) I used 2.28 pounds of cooked boneless, skinless chicken breasts 3) I used 2 - 10 3/4 ounce cans of 98% fat free Cream of Chicken Soup 4) I used 2 cups of fat free milk 5) I used 1 - 8 ounce package of Kraft fat free shredded cheddar cheese 6) I sprayed my 9 x 13 inch glass baking dish with Olive Oil Cooking Spray Thank you for posting such a yummy recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
senseicheryl August 19, 2008

After a lot of debate as to whether or not to rate this recipe, I finally decided not to but I would like to still write the review. This dish so didn't work for us. I followed the recipe as written and that might be the problem. I think that perhaps the recipe should say UNcooked pasta. I was in a hurry & did notice that 2 cups of milk made it rather soupy but I was in such a rush that I didn't even notice that the recipe didn't call for a thickener. I also then noticed that it didn't call for spices either! Ultimately, it cooked for a little over an hour and a half when it should have been less than an hour. I also had to add about 1/3 a cup of flour to thicken it up so it wasn't a soup. I also added some sage, rosemary, thyme, salt, & white pepper so it would have some flavor. At long last when we finally were able to eat dinner it was decent, but unfortunately the alterations I made would be more of a good starting point to work from. It also increased my points value :( I would highly suggest that anyone who tries this recipe and uses the amount of liquid called for should place the macaroni in the casserole dish uncooked and allow for a longer bake time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kit Katchen December 18, 2009

My family LOVES this dish (not sure what good it does to cook low-fat when everyone just wants to eat triple servings! =) ) - I've had to make it at least once per week since the first time I made it several weeks ago. I like to have some leftover so I use 4 - 5 chicken breasts, which I boil and then shred, two cans of low fat, low sodium COM soup, 1 soup can of 1/2% milk and 8 - 12 oz of 2% cheese (depending on how much chicken I end up with). It usually needs a little salt but I'd rather serve it and let everyone season it to their taste. My DH especially loves this with a red pepper blend sprinkled on it. Thanks so much for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShellSkips March 23, 2009

This recipe was great! Before making it I read the reviews and decided to use 1 can of soup (I used healthy choice cream of chicken) and 1 cup of milk insead of the recommended amounts. I also did not cook the chicken before I put it in the caserole dish and it turned out perfectly. The only complaint my boyfriend had was that it was lacking salt...so he added some and loved it as well!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joane1464 February 20, 2009

I was unsure about whether to use raw or cooked chicken, but b/c the macaroni specifically said 'cooked', I figured the chicken could be raw. And with the 50+ minutes cooking time the raw chicken was perfectly cooked. However, there was way too much sauce! I measured the chicken and noodles precisely, used 2 cans of soup and only 1 cup of milk, and I had to fish out the chicken and noodles to serve - leaving excess sauce behind. Even then it was way too 'rich' for my family's taste. Also, the dish ended up tasting too much like cream of mushroom soup. SO - I would recommend only using 1 can of soup (maybe cheddar cheese soup?), and 1 cup of milk, unless you increase the amount of chicken and macaroni. This did not fit in my 2 Qt. caserole, and in any case I could not adequately mix all the ingredients together in a shallow casserole, so I recommend using a mixing bowl and a whisk to mix soups and milk and cheese and then transfering. I ended up using a 9 x 11 baking dish, and covered with aluminum foil for the first round of baking.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ellee December 08, 2008

I've made this several times and it's been a hit with everyone who has tried it. It doesn't taste like it would be considered a Weight Watchers recipe at all. It's very filling and really satisfies that "comfort food" craving I get a lot since I've been on WW. It's very reminiscent of Tuna Noodle Casserole, except, of course, with chicken instead of tuna. I only used one can of milk and COOKED pasta and everything turned out perfectly. I also would recommend not adding in all the extra spices etc. that some people are suggesting, unless of course you like your mac and cheese dishes or tuna noodle casseroles to taste like a spice cabinet. I HAVE to have a lot of flavor in my food, and I really enjoyed just a dash of plain old salt & a few grinds of fresh pepper. The cheese and soup already have some salt in it, and I noticed the first time, it was very easy to over-salt before it was cooked.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CazMo January 04, 2013
Weight Watchers Chicken and Cheese Casserole