9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! I made a few small changes for our personal preference- I used turkey bacon instead of pork bacon. I also used tomato paste rather than puree. I browned the chicken with the shallots and bacon the night before and then cooked all ingredients (less flour) for 8.5 hours on low in my crockpot. When it finished cooking, I put the crockpot on high for 15 minutes and added a couple of tablespoons of corn starch instead of flour to thicken gravy. Great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke's Kitchen January 23, 2010

I went full on with the chicken thighs and I can't really imagine the dish without them. I recommend using the crockpot method all day on low to break them down, but the flavor is amazing. I fry the thighs hard in the bacon grease, both sides, before adding the shallots (another must-have). My only addition is a clove of garlic and my only change is tomato paste vs puree. An outstanding dish for winter.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L2E770 October 04, 2009

A regular in our house. Keep to the list of ingredients as the mushrooms, shallots , red wine and bay leaf all work together. Do not overcook and I use stovetop or frypan for 45 min covered on low. I have used the corn starch for thickening Great with mashed potatoes

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chez 4411 chef December 21, 2014

Please note that Food.com is not a WW site, and we cannot calculate the points for you; this is something you need to do with the tools that WW provided for you. WW also changes their point system every couple of years, so you'll need to use the current tools.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zeldaz December 18, 2013

Wow - can't believe how tasty this is for a crockpot dish. My impossible French boss would never believe it. Okay, I left the skin on the thighs so no doubt it doesn't quite meet WW criteria, but it is darn delicious! I used a merlot, and thickened with corn starch slightly at the end. Everything else is just as the recipe suggests.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SolightlyUK March 16, 2008

Found this recipe today & tried it right away. Very good but I forgot to pick up the mushrooms when I went to the grocery store. I would of loved the addition but it still tasted good. I took the advice of another rating & added a bit of garlic and thyme. I will make this again for sure! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Busy Cook September 02, 2007

This was pretty good. For the red wine, I used Yellowtail Merlot. Easy and good. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mariposa13 August 20, 2007

How can you go wrong with the combo of these ingredients? It smelled so good in my house today! I used chicken breasts (personal preference) and the crockpot cooking method. After frying the bacon, sauteeing the shallots and browning off the chicken, I drained the remaining fat before adding it all to the pot. To my taste, it needed some more flavor - perhaps some garlic and/or thyme to perk it up. Thanks or sharing this easy and delicious recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie August 02, 2007

This was absolutely amazing. I browned the chicken and bacon in a frying pan and then just threw the whole lot into the crockpot and cooked it for 10 hours. The flavours were fabulous, and it went so well with mashed potato. Definitely a keeper, thanks Wendy-Bob

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cherlyndria77 June 22, 2007
Weight Watchers (But Doesn't Taste It) Coq Au Vin 16 WW Points