95 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Much too thin for my liking. I added 4oz extra cheese, pureed the broccoli stalks, added 2 tsp of corn starch and about 3 T of potato flakes and it was more what we were looking for.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride December 13, 2010

OK this isnt haute cuisine, but I'm giving this 5 stars for what it is--good tasting , low calorie and reasonably healthy. And very easy to make. What's not to like about that? I read the reviews and added some red pepper flakes for some kick, and added about 2 teaspoons of corn starch to thicken it a bit....but I just added extra broccoli florets for bulk and didnt find it too thin at all. Thanks for the recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dallas Chef W/Out Time February 03, 2012

Good! Very easy to make, I used frozen California Vegetable Mix instead of all broccoli. Thanks for posting.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeeperAtHome February 12, 2009

Just made this... added some corn starch, but this is going to be a staple item. I also used lower sodium, fat-free chicken broth. I made a half batch and will use a little of the left over lower fat cheese to make a half of a grilled cheese sandwich for lunch tomorrow.

Some alternatives I'm thinking of might be to add a bean of some sort to add protein, but this soup is very satisfying already.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DMayco98 January 06, 2013

Excellent recipe! I added two pinches of garlic powder and I only used 2 cans of chicken broth and 8 oz of velveta cheese.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mild21 January 14, 2013

I've been making this for a while and, like another reviewer, use California blend frozen veggies because it has more variety in the veggies. Will try it with just broccoli sometime, too. I don't think it's too spicy. You can taste a little kick but I don't like really hot stuff & think this is perfect. I do make it because it's low in WW pts & very filling.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sal from Maine September 27, 2010

What a wonderful guilt free soup! I also made as written, but I used an immersion blender to cut up some of the larger broccoli pieces and I thought it had a nice texture. My husband, who needs no diet, thought it was one of my better ww meals. I served it with an Orowheat sandwich thin toasted for dipping for 1 added point.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandy Trigg February 23, 2010

So sorry, but I really didn't care for this recipe. I was making for my family and knew the kids would not like the big chunks of broccoli so I decided to puree a bunch of the veggies. Our soup really didn't get thick either - so we did corn starch (and ours must be old because it did nothing) and then flour which did thicken it up. But it doesn't look good, actually it looks like a waste product, and doesn't taste like anything - so my husband is on the way to pick up pizza right now.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fairly Cooking March 05, 2013

WOW! Made this last night and it was deeeelicious! Only changes I made were I put 1/3 of the broccoli in a food processor after it was cooked and then threw it back in and I added a sprinkle of cayenne pepper (I used mild Ro-Tel) because we like spicy. It was sooooo good!!! I am having leftovers for lunch today...can't wait!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise504 January 28, 2013

I made this soup last night and followed the directions precisely. My family loved it and I would definitely serve it to friends. I made a double batch and froze into portions so that my family could take it for lunch and eat healthy. A little prep work over the weekend provides us with healthy alternatives for throwing into our lunches. I'm excited to try more recipes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gemini469 January 20, 2013
Weight Watchers Broccoli Cheese Soup - 2 Pts Per Cup