Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Weight Watchers Barley With Butternut Squash, Apples and Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Weight Watchers Barley With Butternut Squash, Apples and Onions

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on April 16, 2012

      I really liked this. I used a little less salt & it tasted great. I used C&W frozen squash - added it right after the onions & peppers started to soften.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2011

      I love this recipe. I made a couple of changes however. When I was sauteing the squash I added a chopped up apple chicken sausage. And at the last I added some dried cranberry. I know this changes the calories...but I didn't want it to be meatless...This combo was awesome !!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      Yummy!!! I made this for dinner today and was absolutely amazed at the superb flavour combination! The butternut, apples, peppers, onion and garlic went so well together and made for a scrumptious and satisfying meal in combination with the barley. As I had pearl barley on hand, thats what I used (reducing the liquid accordingly). This was so easy and relatively quick to throw together and the end result tastes so good, that I will certainly make it often again! THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this great recipe with us, Vraklis!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      Delicious. Really liked the addition of the thyme and I believe it would equally taste nice with rosemary. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      This is so wonderful. Light and delicate, yet very flavorful. I made this using quick barley, and everything else as written. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2013

      Please note that Food.com is not a WW site, and we cannot calculate the points for you; this is something you need to do with the tools that WW provided for you. WW also changes their point system every couple of years, so you'll need to use the current tools.<br/><br/>This is a nice combination of healthful foods for a cold-weather meal with a pork roast or chicken. With the right side dishes and some beans or nuts, it can be turned into a filling vegan main dish (use vegetable broth instead of chicken, of course). I did find it to be a bit bland, so I recommend seasoning liberally and using some nice tart apples.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2013

      Very nice recipe! I studied previous reviews so altered a bit. I wanted less barley. This is a huge recipe. Toasted barley for 3 minutes which meant less simmering (20 minutes) and less broth. Reduced barley to 1/4 cup, salt to 1/4 teaspoon, and broth for simmering barley to 1 1/3 cup. Stirred in 1/4 cup parsley at end for some color. Cut my squash into 1/4 inch cubes and it was not done in five minutes and even later was not done-- next time I would do that first cooking for 8 minutes. Served with Peppery-Sweet Oven-Roasted Salmon and a green salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2013

      this was a little disappointing i thought i would have more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2013

      Individual components tasted nice, but altogether the flavours just didn't fit. Also it took much much longer for squash too cook through than what recipe implied. If I were to attempt it again, I would roast the ingredients and then mix into the barley.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2013

      Delicious and healthy, served with a fresh salad that complemented it well. The mix of ingredients worked well and have given me ideas for additions (meat choice or beans and perhaps experiment with different spices including curries) The apple I left a bit more crisp which was great with the slightly chewy barley. The thyme worked well in bringing together the mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2013

      This was really good, although we found that it made 8 servings rather than 4. We made it to serve with Easter dinner. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2012

      Worth trying again, but with less salt, less thyme and more squash and apple. I wonder what the result would be of cooking the barley in chicken broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2012

      not worth the time or the money.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2012

      It was good but I needed to cook everything a lot longer to make it soft enough. I also think it's missing something but I can't figure out what.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2012

      Our entire family loved this dish! Really tasty and filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      This was just good. I did have 2 helpings. I made some minor changes. I didn't have any onion, red pepper, or thyme. I used a bit of basil, and sliced a zucchini into chunks as I found it frozen in my veggie drawer! I also added some lemon juice (I figure this will stop the apples from turning brown in the leftovers). I also cooked my barley in vegetable stock as mentioned by another reviewer. Mine turned out much more mushy than the pictures here, but the taste of it was pretty good. I like squash, so that helps. Not sure if I'll make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      This recipe was beyond disappointing. It had absolutely no flavor even though I followed the recipe. I wasn't expecting it to be too delicious since it is a weight watchers recipe, but my roommate and I couldn't even finish it so we threw it out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      Sounds totally weird.. But try cooking it.. its surprisingly tasty with just the right balance of sweet and savory. Try it, before you knock it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

    • on October 14, 2009

      I made this for lunch today and was very impressed! Very healthy and very filling. The only changes I made were leaving out the red pepper and replacing it with red pepper flakes. Also, instead of chicken broth, I used chicken style veggie broth. Overall I thought it was missing something (as another reviewer said) and I can't put my finger on what it was, but I still enjoyed it very much. I don't think it was salt, although it could have been. I thought the flavor combination was going to be gross, but I was encouraged by good reviews and really liked it! The entire time I was eating this, it felt like the start of Autumn, such a wonderful feeling. I'll be passing this recipe around to my family and friends, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Weight Watchers Barley With Butternut Squash, Apples and Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (222 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 191.5
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    19%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 522.1 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.8 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 7.7 g
    30%
    Sugars 8.9 g
    35%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites