39 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I read several Au Gratin Potato recipes before I settled on this one, but I made a few adjustments:

* Cooked onions until translucent to keep the flavor more delicate
* Used King Arthur Gluten Free Multipurpose Flour (Celiac in our family)
* Substituted ground white pepper rather than black pepper
* Added 2 cloves minced garlic
* Added 1/2 tsp paprika (US traditional, not hot or Hungarian)
* Used Simply Potatoes Homestyle Slices as a way to save prep and cooking time
* Decreased cooking time to 35 minute

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rinnie1 September 18, 2011

YUMMY!!!!!!!!!! I made this for our Christmas dinner. My only alterations from the recipe (because I hate measuring): heavy on the pepper and added a bit more reduced fat cheese. next time, I might add an extra onion and some garlic, just because. Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe Kittencalskitchen.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hterry December 25, 2011

Really, really great recipe. I cut the servings in half and want to reiterate that people should also cut the cooking times in half! I used a bit more cheese than the recipe indicated and so added an extra point, but still well, well worth it -- and super filling! I'm excited to make these again. Also, even if you're not on Weight Watchers -- who cares? It's delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TracyFL October 20, 2010

This is a great Au Gratin Potato dish, nobody could even guess it was low fat, another thing is that I almost always have every ingredient so easy to put together too. There is the problem of over eating this dish though, we probably only got 5 servings. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DPar December 11, 2014

Delicious. I didn't have low-fat cheese, but I did have 1% milk so hopefully this dish was a little less caloric. I also added dried thyme and Mrs. Dash seasoning. The only issue that I had with the recipe was that the sauce was runny--maybe it was the liquid from the onions? When I make this again I think I'll omit the onions and add some extra flour to the sauce to make it thicker. This was served with baked fish and thoroughly enjoyed by hubby and myself. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noor.Khalid October 02, 2013

I loved these potatoes. I will add more onion and try some garlic next time as others have suggested. I did use fat free cheddar cheese and 1% milk and it was still super yummy... This is a great recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dilksdilks_7010202 September 04, 2013

These were really good. I served them with a pork tenderloin and a veggie. I didn't put the cheese on top and they were still great. Thank you for this delicious, yet easy recipe for potatoes. its a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour May 09, 2013

Absolutely wonderful. I used 2% milk and sharp cheddar and it still added up to 3 points (calculated with ww recipe builder). Husband loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
natsha February 23, 2013

This dish is freaking fantastic! Really delicious, diet or not. I used fat free milk and smart balance for butter, but regular cheddar cheese. Compared with other recipes, it does have a lot less fat, but was more flavorful. My whole family loved it, even the kids who've never eaten potatoes served this way. Beautiful presentation, cooking time is perfect. Can't say enough good things about this recipe. Reading the reviews, I wouldn't have thought to use mozzarella but may give that a try next time. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama January 12, 2013
Weight Watchers Au Gratin Potatoes 3 Pts (Low-Fat)