50 Reviews

This was REALLY good! My family really, really liked it! I used Coke Zero, but I added a little bit more ketchup and coke because I thought there would not be enough sauce. I also added some garlic and herb seasoning as well as Tony's Creole Seasoning to the chicken and the gravy. After 40 minutes, I added a slurry of cornstarch and water to thicken up the sauce. DD and DH had two servings over rice. Thanks for a KEEPER!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsjjkool February 03, 2011

This tasted like it had so many more calories than it actually did, which is great in my book! When I read the ingredients I was like "cola?!" but it totally works, it adds a lovely sweetness and I loved how few ingredients there were.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniesnomsblog December 15, 2014

A very delicious and easy recipe with only a few ingredients! I prepared this recipe using the chopped onion. I also added chopped green peppers. I noted that many who reviewed this recipe said they had to thicken the sauce, but mine thickened with the additional cooking time and the lid off. I will prepare this recipe again, but to suit my taste, I will add a sprinkling of salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I served the chicken on brown rice and oven-roasted asparagus. In the future, I may also try this recipe with pork chops!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobettern April 07, 2013

I had this at a party, it was made with legs and thighs, it was delicious! I made this recipe this evening, minus onions because I didn't have them on hand. The family really enjoyed it. I served it with rice and poured the extra sauce on the rice, huge hit!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nanner18411 April 18, 2012

I am only rating this 4 stars because both my Mother and my 4 year old daughter said it smelled gross while it was cooking. The end result however was delicious and I'm so glad I made it. My mother enjoyed it as well as my daughter who when first trying it told me it was yucky but ended up eating most of her portion. I served this with a rice and veggie side dish and I will definitely be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
estan86 March 15, 2012

This is a simple and wonderful recipe! the only thing I added was garlic. The family loved it

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keli in Indy February 14, 2012

This has become a standard at our house! Very moist and tastes like some down-home cooking. I like to add a couple dashes of freshly ground pepper and garlic powder, just to give it a little extra flavor. My family now refers to it as "Curryless curry" and it goes awesomely over rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShellyCatherine September 26, 2010

The sauce didn't seem to give the chicken a lot of flavor but it was VERY moist and tender. I only cooked it for about 30 mins. once it boiled and that was plenty. I'll make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stclair204 September 19, 2015

This is a very simple and delicious chicken dish. HOWEVER, be warned that any diet soda that contains Aspertame is harmful when heated. PLEASE do your homework & choose a soda without Aspertame. You can also use Dr. Pepper in this recipe, & if you have a preference for regular cola, that can be used as well with success; just not as low cal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy September 15, 2015

This was quite good - note: MAKE SURE to read labels, and find cola and ketchup that do not have High Fructose Corn Syrup in them. The taste is better, and you are doing yourself much less harm !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NancyD9393 September 15, 2015
Weight Watchers 4pt. Cola Chicken