151 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made these a few times as per the recipe and they were great. Everybody in the house really liked them. This time I made a few changes based on the reviews, and now they are even better. Instead of using muffin wrappers I just sprayed the muffin tins and they dropped right out. (They always used to stuck to the paper and that was annoying as you'd lose some of your muffin.) Also, I added 1 egg and reduced the water to about a 1/3 of a can. Now they are not as wet and much more cakey. I will now be making these more often!

24 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StillRiverCook February 18, 2011

I didn't have spice cake mix on hand so I used a yellow cake mix and did the following tweaks:

1 egg
1 cup oatmeal
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp ground cloves
1/4 tsp ginger powder
reduced water to 2/3 cup

I found the oatmeal reduced the excess moistness leaving a balanced muffin (moist still but not too moist). I also reduced the water to 1/2 cup because I added an egg to the recipe. The whole house smells like fall when these are being baked! Next time I might add nuts or craisins for extra flavor.
2 points per serving (24 cup cakes)!

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ktangerine October 17, 2010

I love these muffins and you can't mess them up! I used the exact recipe except I used a yellow cake mix and added 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice and they came out great! My kids love them too and I feel like I am sneaking in a veggie!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
firefly1970 October 18, 2011

These are absolutely amazing! I made them as bar by putting the batter in a 12x16 cookie sheet and cooking it for 22 minutes. Less hassle and clean up than muffins. They are moist and flavorful and entirely too addictive! Thanks for a great recipe!! I will be making these often.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jadelabyrinth June 14, 2008

Actually, according to the new "Pointsplus" system, these are worth 3 points. But still SO easy, yummy and filling!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BooBooKatie September 22, 2011

FYI with the new WW program, these are now 3 points per muffin

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Inge September 16, 2011

excellent muffin! I was going to use pumpkin but when I looked at my can it was out of date. So I added to mashed bananas and one cup of oatmeal and 1/2 cup of sugar free apple sauce. They are outstanding. Not sure which ingredient made them rise but my muffins rose up and were beautiful.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Chef May 05, 2008

I have made a similar recipe for years. The only difference is I use NO water. Pumpkin and cake mix only. I have done this in many flavors. The yellow, white and spice mixes taste like pumpkin. The chocolate mix will taste only of chocolate. I make it in muffin cups, cupcake pans, and 13 x 9 pans. They come.out like dense cake. They are moist, but not wet. Just the mix and pumpkin. I think you'll be pleased. I serve it with whipped cream or cool whip. I will spray the pans and if you make it right in the large pan, nothing could be simpler.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moonflwr912 November 08, 2012

These are delish and healthy! My 5 year old loves them! The neighbor kids also love these and range from 5-12 in age :) I do put 1/2 c water instead of 1 c and I also add 1 egg and pumpkin pie spice(about 1 tsp)! Thank you for this recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Victoria A October 05, 2012

These were beyond delicious!! I don't know where people are getting the WW 3 PointsPlus from. I entered everything into my recipe builder and came out with 2 points for one muffin. I made one batch regular muffins and then made some using my mini muffin tin (comes out to 1 point each). Just by tasting it you would have no idea that it was so low in points!! : )

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
desterp July 25, 2012
Weight Watchers 2 Point- Pumpkin Muffins