Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wegman's Delicious, Spunky, Clammy Chowda! Longmeadow Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wegman's Delicious, Spunky, Clammy Chowda! Longmeadow

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on January 14, 2010

      Clam chowder is one of my DH's favorites. I made this using 1 cup of clam juice and 1 cup of chicken stock. The potatoes were red skinned and 1 used 2 largish and they were broken up a bit at the end of cooking to thicken the soup. I used a combination of evaporated milk and 1% milk. The soup was garnished with sliced green onions. Delicious! Made for the Diabetic Forums event *Soups On*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      This was really good chowda. I "played" with the recipe slightly. I added one rib of celery chopped, an extra potato, doubled up on the chicken stock and increased the milk (used half & half) to 12 oz.. and a pat of butter. I also thickened it slightly with cornstarch. These changes (served with bread) made our dinner wonderful & warm and filled dh's belly! Made for Everyday Holiday Tag-Jan'10,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      Just wonderful! Simple, filling, and delicious. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      We really enjoyed this. Some changes I made were to puree half of the soup. It gave it a creamy base but you still had great chunks of potato. I also used skim or 1% milk. I garnished with the bacon (it stays crisp that way) and chopped green onions. My husband liked it so much and even said it didnt need the clams! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      Oh my dear Andi, I just knew this would be a winner. This is the first time I've ever made homemade clam chowder, one of my favortites and this was super easy and tasted rich and wonderful even though it wasn't loaded with fat and calories. Okay my "changes" I used about 2t of olive oil instead of bacon drippings. Then added 1/4 c bacon bits to the potatoes and onions. I used 1 c. clam juice and 1 c water. and then I used 1 12 oz can fat-free evaporated milk instead of whole milk. Very good and warmed us up on a cold rainy afternoon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      This is soooo quick and soooo delicious! The clams I bought were "minced", but still tasty. Love the addition of the thyme, Andi. Wonderful lunch on Feb. 4th-National Soup Day! Made for Holiday tag and for Nat'l Clam Chowder Day, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      Delicious and warming! I used fresh thyme and chicken stock. I can't wait to try this really simple formula using fresh clams and the broth resulting from Bergy's Garlic Steamed Clams. Thanks, Andi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      Yummy recipe, will make again. Easy to make! I recommend doubling recipe for more yummy chowder! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      I am a huge Wegmans fan, and I love all of the recipes that I normally find there. Ths one was no diffrent. I used some low fat turkey bacon and used skim milk to lighten it up a tad. Not using whole milk made this a bit thin so I added some cornstarch water slurry mixture to the finished soup to thicken it up a tad. Great comforting recipe for this rainy day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      This is delicious! I had a large, thicker than usual piece of prosciutto left over and fried it instead of bacon. I used clam juice and a can of whole baby clams. This was really quick and easy! Made for Fall 2007 PAC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2007

      Even though it's not a thick chowder, it's got tons of flavor, (and it's chock full of potatoes) and it is delicious. I used 2 slices of bacon. I'm not a huge fan of bacon, but I have to say it lends lots of good flavor to this chowder. I used the clam juice and 1 10 oz can of baby clams. For the milk, I used fat free half and half. I'll make this again. Thanx for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2007

      This was lovely, reminds me of how my mother made clam chowder. I don't think she used thyme, but it was a very nice addition. It's amazing the flavour a small amount of bacon can add to a recipe! An excellent use for tinned clams and very easy to make. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wegman's Delicious, Spunky, Clammy Chowda! Longmeadow

    Serving Size: 1 (316 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 382.2
     
    Calories from Fat 94
    24%
    Total Fat 10.5 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 33.1 mg
    11%
    Sodium 642.5 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.3 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 5.6 g
    22%
    Sugars 10.0 g
    40%
    Protein 15.0 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes