26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thank you so much! I'm always looking for new ways to use kidney beans, which I love but have so few uses for! This was wonderful! I didn't have cajun seasoning, so I made up my own from things I had in my cabinet such as seasoned salt, parsley, granulated garlic, white pepper, chili powder, and paprika. I *love* this recipe! This is going to be a wonderful, flavorful, fast and easy addition to our weeknights!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daphne2002 March 10, 2003

We really enjoyed this recipe for dinner last night. I did drain my beans and used a large can of diced tomatoes. It was just spicy enough and very nice for a cold rainy evening. I'll be making this one over and over. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarthaRN October 18, 2009

This was fabulous! I am also in the "why didn't I try this earlier" club? I used to prepare the red beans and rice mix from the box, but this is so much tastier and just as fast! Our only complaint is that it was a little soupy. I had drained one can of beans in anticipation of this but it was still too watery for us. Next time I will drain both cans of beans and just use the juice from the tomatoes only. Thanks so much for posting PanNan!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ksduffster June 14, 2007

This is delicious! We don't use any other red beans & rice recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheffydoo November 19, 2011

This is good! For a slightly different taste I've used 1 teaspoon worcestershire sauce and a couple of drops of Tabasco when I am out of cajun seasoning.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet PQ? August 06, 2009

This recipe was very easy to make. I cheated and used regular beef sausage instead of turkey -- I figured all the veggies made up for the extra fat. ;-) Definitely a repeat. Try serving with Sweet Cornbread (Sweet Cornbread) for a special treat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GimlisGirl August 07, 2008

Easy, healthy, economical. I used kidney beans and cooked quite a lot longer. Good with couscous too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha August 01, 2007

Made this just as posted and my whole family loved it. Perfect amount of heat and the smoked turkey sausage is a healthy plus.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zetty66 July 26, 2013

We loved this and you are right, this is a fantastic weeknight dinner dish. I used an uncased pound of chicken sausage and fried it up seperately and then added it to the vegetable mix. I also used brown rice, but otherwise made as directed. Made for ZWT #9.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan July 16, 2013

I just realized that I have never reviewed this recipe, though I have made it and passed it on many times. I usually make it meatless and it is just fantastic. I do drain and rinse my red beans. SUPER recipe. Thanks, PanNan!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim S. February 13, 2013
Weeknight Red Beans and Rice