10 Reviews

I didn't have any problem whatsoever with getting these to hold together. But be warned, these are very rich and very salty when prepared as written. I was thinking the garlic salt AND salt would be overkill, but the reviews were so good that I did it anyway. It was overkill. Way overkill. Everyone liked them, but they were so salty and rich that you really have a difficult time finishing off the one, and forget about eating two. If I were to make this again, I would use minced garlic instead of the garlic salt. It was so rich that I would try to lighten it up a bit, too. Unfortunately, that means using a shredded roasted chicken instead, or something of the like. Kind of defeats the purpose of the ease of canned chicken, but I think it would work out a little more tasty. To each their own, I guess! Still glad I tried it. Every recipe can be a learning experience. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WifeyJo September 17, 2013

My family loves these things. I find they hold together better if I put a can of cream of chicken in the mixture. Mine seem to turn out a little dry so we eat them with chicken gravy on top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soph3999 October 27, 2008

I'm giving these 5 stars because of how easy and versatile they are. They are made with items that are generally in my cupboard, which is a plus on busy nights. They were also very good as leftovers. The night I made them, I did not want anything that was in the shape of a burger or a patty so I made them into croquette shapes. They were shaped like long marshmallows. I would like to have a great sauce to dip them in or to drizzle over them. I will be making these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
psychotammymom August 11, 2007

These were quite good. DH enjoyed them even though he is a somewhat picky chicken eater. I substituted crushed pork rinds for the bread crumbs to reduce the carbs and refrigerated about an hour before trying to form the patties (this works for salmon croquettes, so why not?). However, I was using 20 oz. of chicken (all I had) instead of 30, and I think I made a mistake in my reductions of other ingredients, because it would not hold together to make what I consider to be regular sized patties. Very small patties worked well and fried up perfectly. Main thing is they were tasty. I served with yellow crooked neck squash and potatoes for DH. I will try again and use 3 cans or be more careful in my figures.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb G July 26, 2007

Wanted to update my review. I am a littlebit smarter and bit more able to tell you what I did with this recipe. I did not drain the cans of chicken. I just chopped the onion really small.At first I thought they were to wet. However they cooked up very well. I am so pleased with this recipe. I have made this recipe so many times. I just wanted to give credit were it is due..I sure hope each and everyone of you enjoy this as much as my family has. Thanks for a keeper. Hugs

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Braunda July 10, 2007

We are not too fond of canned chicken, but all the good reviews convinced me to try!! I must say , they are GREAT! Soo easy and easy to have the ingredients n hand. I added: parsley, celery, garlic, minced very fine. I also added some lemon juice and lemon zest. To the lightly beaten egg I added some Worcester and tabasco. Will be making these a lot. A great change from the usual hamburger. Oh. I used WASABI Mayo on the Buns. Thanks for sharing. Koechin/Chef

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Koechin (Chef) June 23, 2007

Angela, 2 words for ya girl: YOU ROCK!! I gotta tell ya, my mama (who has now passed) made, which I thought and so did everyone whoever tasted them, the world's best croquettes!! Bar none! NEWS FLASH! (and I thought I'd never say this ever)--I'd put Angela's up against my mama's anytime!!;o) I baked an oven stuffer roaster, right? So sick of just chicken salad or chicken casseroles, I happened to do a search and up pops Angela's croquettes. And I'm here to tell ya--ITS SLAMMIN!!!! Most important--the taste is absolutely delicious not to mention, it's SUPER easy to make. This recipe is very similiar to my Mama's "Fried Dressing." Yep, down South we do "fry" what a lot of folks call "stuffing." Trust me, its nothing at all like stuffing as you know it but incredibly close to Angela's croquettes. 2nd time I made it, I added a 1/2 c celery and used crackers in lieu of bread crumbs and ommitted the salt--my tastebuds were thanking me all night long! :o) You owe it to yourself to try it--your tastebuds AND your family will be saying what a great cook Mom is!;o) This is the ONLY OTHER recipe in the FRONT of my cookbook and a regular in my house. I made #213040 "Mashed Potato Casserole" (by Eat it up). So help me, I thought Paula Deen had come in and made dinner especially for me!! and this dinner? Its what cooking's all about!! Enjoy! RED, Richmond VA

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RichmondRED February 25, 2007

I liked this alot. The only change I made was to use cornbread stuffing as my breadcrumbs. I just put them in a bag and crushed them to a fine texture. I actually thought they were better the next day. I reheated in a toaster oven in order to crisp them back up. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeAfter40 January 26, 2007

These are great! As usual, I sprinkled in Spicy Mrs. Dash and Italian seasoning (grinder style). Makes for a quick entree when you're short on time. I've made them often and will continue to do so. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
T Burton September 14, 2006

Really great and soooo easy! My eight-year-old son had to be told they were all gone after he had three of them. Only change I made was to flour them before frying. Great with a sauce but even better without one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hafthyme December 12, 2005
Weeknight Chicken Croquettes