23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have not tried this recipe and will not. I believe the reviews that say it has worked for them, but these ingredients can damage/kill not only plants but your soil and microorganisms too. Salt is especially problematic. Read more before using the recipe so you can exercise the proper precautions.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
corinnep April 13, 2012

It works! I only made a half a cup to try it out and poured it on several types of weeds in my yard. It worked on regular dandelion weeds and a tree weed but didn't work on palm tree seedlings...but if I poured more of it on them it probably would. My regular vinegar is only 4% acidity so I added some concentrated vinegar. Thanks for this all natural recipe. Made for the Zaar Stars tag game.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed December 21, 2010

I love recipes that re-create expensive products for a fraction of the price. I reduced this recipe to 1/4 of the original, or 32 oz. (1 quart). It worked great! I will surely save some money in the coming summers! Thanks for sharing, breezermom!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl October 18, 2010

I tried this last year. It did not work for me in Maryland.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wonthefight2009 April 11, 2012

I am so grateful to this weed killer! I was able to spray it down between the slats of my deck to kill weeds trying to grow up from underneath and then sprayed it around the edges of the deck where the lattice work is present and it killed those grasses and weeds that I can't reach with a trimmer. Took 4 days to see things turn brown and after 7 days they were dead and easy to pull up where needed. I love that I can keep a bottle of this under my cabinet for easy to use access without the concern of poisons being in my home. Great little recipe! Thanks breezer for sharing this gem. Tagged in Everyday is a Holiday.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom August 10, 2011

So easy to make and with ingredients we all have in the house. The best part is "It really WORKS"! Take about 2 days when you first notice results. Turns that plant brown and shrivels it right up. Thanks breezermom.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 July 31, 2011

This is great! Like alligirl said, it is a great money saver and it is so nice to have a more "natural" alternative to Roundup when you have kids running around! My yard is over run with poison ivy and I have been so hesitant to spray anything b/c of the kids.Thanks so much for posting--you have probably saved us some miserable itchy experiences LOL! Made for 123 hits.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian October 20, 2010

You have to be JOKING! "these ingredients can damage/kill not only plants but your soil and microorganisms too. Salt is especially problematic. - corinnep" Yes, salt will do what you say! But this is a spot spray. You are not dousing the entire yard with it! So you kill microorganisms in some spots. So what! You are not killing the entire yard of microorganisms and this has to be better than chemicals that do the same thing. This works and costs way less that Roundup.<br/><br/>UPDATE: What this recipe needs is a line added to the instructions. You should heat the vinegar so the salt dissolves completely. I tried this both ways and got better results from the one that I had heated. While the salt seemed to dissolve in the batch I did not heat, it was evidently just suspended and a lot of it settled to the bottom of the container.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aaron_7772557 June 26, 2013

WOW! This works very good.

I perpared a small quantity first to try it out.
I will buy more vinegar and prepare a larger quantity.
This has to be applied only in non windy days!

Thanks a lot for this informations.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde March 27, 2012

Ten stars - this stuff is great!! I had an invasion of common horsetail and ground-elder in my garden and finally managed to kill them without completely poisoning the ground. Also my front yard looks all nice and tidy again :D Thanks for posting this keeper!
Made for 1-2-3-Hits September 2010.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany September 25, 2010
Weed Killer at Half the Price of Round Up