Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Weed Killer at Half the Price of Round Up Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Weed Killer at Half the Price of Round Up

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on April 13, 2012

      I have not tried this recipe and will not. I believe the reviews that say it has worked for them, but these ingredients can damage/kill not only plants but your soil and microorganisms too. Salt is especially problematic. Read more before using the recipe so you can exercise the proper precautions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      It works! I only made a half a cup to try it out and poured it on several types of weeds in my yard. It worked on regular dandelion weeds and a tree weed but didn't work on palm tree seedlings...but if I poured more of it on them it probably would. My regular vinegar is only 4% acidity so I added some concentrated vinegar. Thanks for this all natural recipe. Made for the Zaar Stars tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2010

      I love recipes that re-create expensive products for a fraction of the price. I reduced this recipe to 1/4 of the original, or 32 oz. (1 quart). It worked great! I will surely save some money in the coming summers! Thanks for sharing, breezermom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2012

      I tried this last year. It did not work for me in Maryland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2011

      I am so grateful to this weed killer! I was able to spray it down between the slats of my deck to kill weeds trying to grow up from underneath and then sprayed it around the edges of the deck where the lattice work is present and it killed those grasses and weeds that I can't reach with a trimmer. Took 4 days to see things turn brown and after 7 days they were dead and easy to pull up where needed. I love that I can keep a bottle of this under my cabinet for easy to use access without the concern of poisons being in my home. Great little recipe! Thanks breezer for sharing this gem. Tagged in Everyday is a Holiday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      So easy to make and with ingredients we all have in the house. The best part is "It really WORKS"! Take about 2 days when you first notice results. Turns that plant brown and shrivels it right up. Thanks breezermom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      This is great! Like alligirl said, it is a great money saver and it is so nice to have a more "natural" alternative to Roundup when you have kids running around! My yard is over run with poison ivy and I have been so hesitant to spray anything b/c of the kids.Thanks so much for posting--you have probably saved us some miserable itchy experiences LOL! Made for 123 hits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2013

      You have to be JOKING! "these ingredients can damage/kill not only plants but your soil and microorganisms too. Salt is especially problematic. - corinnep" Yes, salt will do what you say! But this is a spot spray. You are not dousing the entire yard with it! So you kill microorganisms in some spots. So what! You are not killing the entire yard of microorganisms and this has to be better than chemicals that do the same thing. This works and costs way less that Roundup.<br/><br/>UPDATE: What this recipe needs is a line added to the instructions. You should heat the vinegar so the salt dissolves completely. I tried this both ways and got better results from the one that I had heated. While the salt seemed to dissolve in the batch I did not heat, it was evidently just suspended and a lot of it settled to the bottom of the container.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2012

      WOW! This works very good.

      I perpared a small quantity first to try it out.
      I will buy more vinegar and prepare a larger quantity.
      This has to be applied only in non windy days!

      Thanks a lot for this informations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2010

      Ten stars - this stuff is great!! I had an invasion of common horsetail and ground-elder in my garden and finally managed to kill them without completely poisoning the ground. Also my front yard looks all nice and tidy again :D Thanks for posting this keeper!
      Made for 1-2-3-Hits September 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2010

      I sprayed the weeds growing out the sidewalk and driveway cracks last week before going out of town. Looking out this morning they are all nice and brown! I'll get DH to scrap out the remains and spray again to prevent their return. As said before, cheap and effective! Thanks Breezer. Made for Everyday Is A Holiday Tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      Woohoo! This works great! I have some weeds growing up thru my deck that are hard to get to. I sprayed several of them with this mix and waited to see what would happen. The next day they were starting to shrivel up and on day 3 they were dry and brown and easy to pull up. I highly recommend this. Thanks breezermom for a nice cheap keeper. Made for Newest Zaar Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2011

      This is so easy to make! I made a quart's worth, which is what my spray bottle holds. Since this is Maine and there's about 6-10 inches of snow coming tomorrow, I'm not sure what to expect! I'm going to give this 5 stars based on the previous reviewers and my crossed fingers. If this doesn't work as promised, I will revise my post. Thanks, breezermom! Made for Best of 2010 game, per Momaphet's recommendation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2010

      This is a great quick and easy weed killer. I have been waiting for the rain to stop for 3 weeks and finally today the sun came out. Made for Aus/NZ swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      This stuff works! I scaled the mix back greatly and used it in part of my driveway. When Spring comes around I will make a big jug and get to work on my driveway, sidewalk and patio.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2010

      This worked great! I only had to wait a couple of hours. I guess sunny Hawaii made the process speed up. I'll be using this quite often. Made for Zaar 1-2-3 Hits Tag Game 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2013

      This really works...not on everything, but on most weeds I've tried. I have a dog and won't put chemicals in my yard because of her so I thought I would try this. I spray it first thing in the morning and by the time the sun slams it all day it's on its way out the door. I live in Alabama. I haven't found it works on blackberry or kudzu, but those are especially stubborn.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2013

      I have bamboo that is out of control, I'm very excited to try this creation on them, I've tried everything, I refuse to dig them all up, I pulled some last spring and the roots go on and on and on, dear earth, I don't want to hurt you but need to settle the bamboo down, in other words kill those suckers!!!! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2012

      I mixed up 1/2 gallon to try it. Used apple cidar vinegar and 1/2cup salt (1/2 the amount called for)and a few drops of Dawn(green kind). After only 7 hours the weeds started to die! (See my pic) I feel this is better than chemical weed killers and won't harm animals. White vinegar would be cheaper, so I'll try that next.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2014

      Whoever would have believed that regular household items mixed together could kill weeds...not me.....until now.!!!<br/>Mine took quite a few days to die, but who cares, as long as they die!<br/>This worked perfectly on my brick driveway, where the little monsters like to poke up their ugly heads between the brickwork.....a great solution...thanks breezermom!<br/>Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Weed Killer at Half the Price of Round Up

    Serving Size: 1 (4354 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 791.3
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 226783.1 mg
    9449%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.0 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 15.0 g
    60%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    liquid dishwashing soap

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites