10 Reviews

'At the table in the kitchen, there were three bowls of porridge. Goldilocks was hungry. She tasted the porridge from the first bowl. "This porridge is too hot!" she exclaimed.
So, she tasted the porridge from the second bowl. "This porridge is too cold," she said
So, she tasted the last bowl of porridge. "Ahhh, this Wee Bear Special Porridge is just right," she said happily and she ate it all up.' (The milk was replaced with a 5.6 ounce can of coconut milk diluted with filtered water to the 3 cup mark. Walnuts were garnished on top. Delicious and ~Tasty Dish~ approved! Reviewed for Veg Tag January.)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl January 10, 2011

This oatmeal is so yummy! Loved its creamy consistency and wonderful taste! The walnuts, coconut and banana went so well together and made for a highly satisfying lunch today. Mmmm!
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this tasty, yet healthy treat with us, Sharon!
Made and reviewed for your Cookathon October 2010.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula October 20, 2010

Great way to start the day. Creamy with lots of flavor. We both loved that there lots of walnuts and DH also loved the coconut. Made as written using 1% milk. Thanks for the healthy start to the day.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl May 03, 2010

I LOVED this oatmeal! I skipped the coconut to lower the fat and used the brown sugar instead. I used vanilla rice milk instead of regular milk. It came together quick and tasted great. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= January 21, 2008

I really enjoyed this! I always have a lot of bananas around (they are my favorite fruit) & so finding new ways to have it in my oatmeal is always welcome! I made one serving & used finely chopped almonds. I also used reduced fat coconut (sold at our co-op!) & added a little cinnamon & Splenda brown sugar. I actually added some coconut into the oatmeal on low with the nuts & then topped it with a little more coconut. I drizzled the top with a little honey but next time will try sugar free maple syrup. Tasty, nutty & healthy!! Thanks so much for sharing; will have this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS November 19, 2007

Wow, this was probably the best oatmeal porridge I have had in a long time. I used the coconut AND the brown sugar, and my whole family gave it a huge thumbs up! Great blend of flavours that made this porridge memorable. Thanks for posting Sharon! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ November 18, 2007

I made this for breakfast to serve one, added some raisins to cook it & left out the salt. Added almonds instead of walnuts. Very nice brekky which saw me through until lunchtime, thanks. Made for ZWT III

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** June 14, 2007

I divided the recipe and this made a wonderful breakfast for DH and I. I used vanilla soy milk and pecans instead of walnuts. Also, I topped it off with some unsweetened coconut and since the coconut was unsweetened, some brown sugar. I will have this again as I am always looking for ways to prepare oatmeal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG June 14, 2005

Yum! Bananas, coconut and walnut = excellent combination with oatmeal. I made half of the recipe and it made for a huge portion for my breakfast. This is a great, hearty way to start the day. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood February 26, 2012

An easy and delicious breakfast! The bananas and walnuts added a nice flavor. I used the brown sugar option for the topping. Thanks for sharing! Best of 2011 Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews February 12, 2012
Wee Bear's Special Porridge