Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wee Bear's Special Porridge Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wee Bear's Special Porridge

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 10, 2011

      'At the table in the kitchen, there were three bowls of porridge. Goldilocks was hungry. She tasted the porridge from the first bowl. "This porridge is too hot!" she exclaimed.
      So, she tasted the porridge from the second bowl. "This porridge is too cold," she said
      So, she tasted the last bowl of porridge. "Ahhh, this Wee Bear Special Porridge is just right," she said happily and she ate it all up.' (The milk was replaced with a 5.6 ounce can of coconut milk diluted with filtered water to the 3 cup mark. Walnuts were garnished on top. Delicious and ~Tasty Dish~ approved! Reviewed for Veg Tag January.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      This oatmeal is so yummy! Loved its creamy consistency and wonderful taste! The walnuts, coconut and banana went so well together and made for a highly satisfying lunch today. Mmmm!
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this tasty, yet healthy treat with us, Sharon!
      Made and reviewed for your Cookathon October 2010.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      Great way to start the day. Creamy with lots of flavor. We both loved that there lots of walnuts and DH also loved the coconut. Made as written using 1% milk. Thanks for the healthy start to the day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      I LOVED this oatmeal! I skipped the coconut to lower the fat and used the brown sugar instead. I used vanilla rice milk instead of regular milk. It came together quick and tasted great. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      I really enjoyed this! I always have a lot of bananas around (they are my favorite fruit) & so finding new ways to have it in my oatmeal is always welcome! I made one serving & used finely chopped almonds. I also used reduced fat coconut (sold at our co-op!) & added a little cinnamon & Splenda brown sugar. I actually added some coconut into the oatmeal on low with the nuts & then topped it with a little more coconut. I drizzled the top with a little honey but next time will try sugar free maple syrup. Tasty, nutty & healthy!! Thanks so much for sharing; will have this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      Wow, this was probably the best oatmeal porridge I have had in a long time. I used the coconut AND the brown sugar, and my whole family gave it a huge thumbs up! Great blend of flavours that made this porridge memorable. Thanks for posting Sharon! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      I made this for breakfast to serve one, added some raisins to cook it & left out the salt. Added almonds instead of walnuts. Very nice brekky which saw me through until lunchtime, thanks. Made for ZWT III

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2005

      I divided the recipe and this made a wonderful breakfast for DH and I. I used vanilla soy milk and pecans instead of walnuts. Also, I topped it off with some unsweetened coconut and since the coconut was unsweetened, some brown sugar. I will have this again as I am always looking for ways to prepare oatmeal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2012

      Yum! Bananas, coconut and walnut = excellent combination with oatmeal. I made half of the recipe and it made for a huge portion for my breakfast. This is a great, hearty way to start the day. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      An easy and delicious breakfast! The bananas and walnuts added a nice flavor. I used the brown sugar option for the topping. Thanks for sharing! Best of 2011 Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wee Bear's Special Porridge

    Serving Size: 1 (260 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 365.5
     
    Calories from Fat 176
    48%
    Total Fat 19.5 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 6.8 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 25.6 mg
    8%
    Sodium 397.7 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    24%
    Protein 12.2 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites