27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made this sorbet at least three times. It was very good as written, but the lemon did add a bit too much tang for me. Now when I make this I add the juice from one half of a LIME, omitting the lemon... to me, the flavor is now closer to fresh watermelon. DELICIOUS, especially on those hot summer days.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanaG2 June 06, 2010

I made this using 1/2 cup of light corn syrup instead of the sugar and water! So much easier! This tasted great! I think I'll add 1 tablespoon of vodka to the mix next time...it keeps the sorbet from freezing rock solid in the freezer! I'm adding my photo!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LILLIANCOOKS June 25, 2012

i made mine with splenda and it was just as good and lower in calories :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Inspiritual August 12, 2009

I used a ginger syrup and the finished product was gone in a flash!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms_Misty57 April 04, 2011

Very good. Will make with splenda next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KarenT August 31, 2009

This recipe is absolutely fantastic! It tastes like a watermelon jolly rancher. Super easy to make, and even easier to eat!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_loves_electric! June 18, 2009

This Watermelon Sorbet was great tasting. Did not think the lemon juice was overwhelming. I used a Splenda/sugar combination which made it healthier. It was gone as soon as we tried it. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Madray7 July 30, 2008

This was awesome sorbet - the best I've evr had. I read some of the reviews that said it was too lemony, so I used 1/8 c lemon juice and 1/8 c pineapple juice. Now if I could just figure out a way to mix in some vodka I'd be in business......

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meg Sweetland June 10, 2008

This is a great recipe. I made it several times. I add 2 Tbs of cassis liqueur. Allways a hit. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsPia May 05, 2008

I actually made this without an ice cream maker--I froze the fruit first, then blended it with the chilled syrup (which I made with Splenda, so it was no sugar added!). After blending the fruit and syrup, I let the mixture freeze in a container, and to eat after it was frozen, I let it thaw for about 20 minutes and chopped up enough to eat for the moment. In addition to the lemon juice, I added a couple squirts of lime juice for extra zing. This turned out so well, and the flavor was absolutely fabulous! Thank you for a great dessert or mid-day snack that I don't feel guilty about!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodExplorer May 31, 2007
Watermelon Sorbet