Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Watermelon Rind Pickles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Watermelon Rind Pickles

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 09, 2002

      I doubled the recipe and made a little extra syrup and got 7 pints. I cut the watermelon rind in 1 inch pieces. The flavors in the syrup are great, with the cloves giving a wonderful extra kick! I had these when I was a girl and always wanted to make some. Thanks for the recipe, Cindy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      Delicious! Nice balance of flavors, not too sweet like many sweet pickle recipes. The spice flavors are also not too heavy. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      This is a great recipe. Love them. I tried it with pumpkin...we always have a bunch around in the fall and it usually goes to waste...they look great but are maybe a bit salty...I would reccomend reducing the brining time if you're making this recipe with pumpkin.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2014

      I've never had Watermelon Rind pickles before and was intrigued so thought I'd try them. I made the mistake of believing the reviewer who said this recipe wasn't sweet enough so I increased the sugar. BIG mistake. My pickles turned out more like candy. If I make them again, I will follow the original recipe for sugar.<br/>What I did do that worked is I substituted limes for the lemon and sliced them on a mandolin, very thin. I added 3 Star Anise, a 2 inch piece of fresh Ginger - peeled and sliced very thin and a teaspoon of Cardamom seeds.<br/>As I said, my pickles were too sweet and that was my fault but the extra spices are delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2013

      This is not the traditional recipe. Watermelon pickle should not be at all lemony and should not be at all salty (by brining). It should be far more sweet than sour. Also, there's nothing wrong with using ground Allspice in this recipe, in fact, it's preferred. Whole cloves should be used, but bolstered with a small amount of ground cloves too. <br/><br/> Don't get me wrong... This recipe is very good, but if you want to experience the real-world, old-time flavor of pickled watermelon rind, leave out the lemon and use more sugar... Like 6 cups... and use 1 cup of cider vinegar and 1 cup of white vinegar.<br/><br/>It takes a little experience to get the exact mix but this recipe will definitely get you in the right direction. <br/><br/> LEAVE OUT THE LEMON! ADD SUGAR!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2012

      Great Recipe Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2011

      Salty sweet, a great recipe for this old favorite. I used a little more rind than called for (if I trust my scale), or, the rind from 1/2 a medium watermelon (it had a pretty thin rind though). I used the same amounts called for on vinegar, sugar & water and had maybe 2 Tb. leftover pickle juice when I was done; it all came together perfectly. I did double the spices (used a tsp. cinnamon instead of sticks) and used 1/8 C lemon juice because it was all spur of the moment and I didn't have a lemon. For me it made 4 1/2 pints. I could have gotten it in 4 pints if I had packed it, but I spaced it out till I was halfway done.
      If you use a vegetable peeler to peel the rind instead of a knife, they cut so thin you may need to extend cooking time some to soften the tougher outer rind that doesn't get cut away. It still cooks up nicely.

      Thanks for putting this up, it's a better recipe than the one I had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2011

      OOPS! I forget to add the stars to my review. Absolutely a 5 star recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      This is a lovely recipe, not outstanding though. Used it on a salami, lettuce, and smoked cheese sandwhich (freshly baked bread ) and it complemented the smoked cheese nicely. Hubby says it would be great with blue cheese too. I only made one jar, and used limes instead of lemon as I had no lemon. I think i prefer the lime taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      My kitchen smelled like apple pies when I was making this. As you can see in the photo, I didn't cut the rinds into 1" size chunks. When you are cutting rinds with older women who have their own ideas about cutting rinds, you go along. ;P My neighbour liked it. Used powdered allspice as I didn't have whole allspice. Will bring this to the office tomorrow. It will be the first time many of my colleagues would have tried this. Will post reviews when I get them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      Oh man were these good. I'd hear of people making these before but never had them myself. These are so good. I was not a sweet pickle fan til I had these. I scooped out the spices and put in the jars with the pickles. I thought it looked prettier and helps make the flavor stronger. My daughter's 8th grade teacher had never heard of these(must be a city gal), she got a jar and loved them too. Again, these are great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      Great recipe. I love the idea of using the whole watermelon. The spices smell and taste like Christmas. I have now made 3 batches that I canned to save as gifts for the holiday season. When harvesting the melon, I sliced the watermelon in thin strips. This made peeling off the skin with my potato peeler much quicker. I also added one ince of fresh minced ginger to the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2005

      Great recipe! My mother made these while I was growing up and I absolutely loved them. It seems like she used to put green and red food coloring in parts of the batch, process the jars and save a few pints to serve with Christmas dinner. These are excellent and really very easy. I cut the recipe in half and kept in the fridge. I would suggest finding watermelon with a fairly thick white layer. Be sure to remove all of the green and red before brining. What a treat. Thanks, Cindy Lynn, for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2003

      Thank you--these are just the way I remembered them. A childhood favorite....a perfect blend of spices & followed your directions to a tea. The hint of the leamon is great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Watermelon Rind Pickles

    Serving Size: 1 (2836 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 642.0
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    10%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5672.2 mg
    236%
    Total Carbohydrate 161.6 g
    53%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 160.0 g
    640%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    watermelon rind

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites