86 Reviews

Made this for the Zaar Cookathon/4th of July BBQ. Wow, this is so refreshing. Also easy to put together. Perfect summertime drink. Big hit with my family/guests. I have made this everyday for the entire week. That ought to tell you how much we liked it. Thanks.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' July 07, 2002

Karen, this was wonderful for the hot, humid weather we had at the cookout. It was refreshing, and everyone raved about it. I made the 12 servings, but next time I will double the recipe. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie July 07, 2002

This was so good, Karen. I toted this to the beach and everyone loved it! A lot of people thought this was store-bought! Thanks for sharing this easy concoction!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yooper July 04, 2002

This is such a refreshing and delicious drink. I have made it several times this summer, just now getting around to reviewing. We are melon-heads and the watermelon flavor is intense, which is what makes this so good. Also very easy to make. Thanks Karen, you have a real winner here.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PixieDust July 18, 2002

Fantastic!! A great summer recipe. The only problem I had was the watermelon separating from the lemonade. Next, time I will make it just before serving.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M July 20, 2003

Karen, this is so fine. Easy, refreshing and my family and guests slurped it down. Served this for the 4th. Many thanks and we will continue to enjoy this for the remainder of the summer.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunflower July 07, 2002

Is ummy nummy in the dictionary? Goooooood! I used raspberry lemonade instead of regular because that's what I had on hand.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bogey'sMom June 20, 2002

i served this at one of the barbeques my fiance threw and everyone loved it! truly delicious

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jackie Perez June 17, 2002

OH MY! Soooo REFRESHING! I just loved this drink. I had about a half a melon left that had been spiked with different flavored rums. I needed to use it up and thought since it was already marinated in rum, that I should make a drink out of it. I found this recipe and it is so good! I do recommend to puree very well and before dumping your watermelon puree into a pitcher, strain it thru a very fine sieve. That will help with all the pulp the melon has and help with the separating issues people are having since the pulp likes to float to the top. Even after putting the liquid thru the sieve, just a little bit of the pulp still gets thru so you still have some of it if you like it pulpy. I had a medium to large size melon and this recipe just used half of the melon. So if your worried of wasting your melon in a drink, dont worry you should still have some left over to cut up and enjoy whole! Or even better, you know when you goto the store, get home, and the melon you picked out isnt as sweet or as good as you liked it to be. Well use it in this instead of letting it go to waste! You wont be disappointed. Thanks so much for the recipe! I will make again and again!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*pink* June 01, 2010

Used frozen watermelon cubes, fantastic!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare September 08, 2009
Watermelon Lemonade