Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Watermelon Jelly Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Watermelon Jelly

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on June 27, 2002

      I have used this jelly for years. It is wonderful and I recommend that everyone try it. Watermelon Rind jelly is also a favorite of my faimly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2002

      This recipe is delicious, but it takes much longer than 1 minute to set up. Use a jelly thermometer and boil till it's done!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2003

      I made this jelly and while I thought it was good I thought I might could improved it a little so I made another batch and added 1/2 cup red hot candies, 6 whole cloves, six whole all spice seeds and 1/2 stick cinnamon which I placed in home made spice bag (I find that coffee filter and twistie tie works fine)..this made a bolder taste and I think is quite good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2010

      I think the jelling problems people are having are coming from a missing step in the recipe that's causing too much watermelon and liquid to end up in the final mixture. I started with the 4 cups of melon called for, seeded, then blended the fruit as written. I then poured the puree into a jelly bag and let it drip into a pot (undisturbed) for 30 minutes. Do not squeeze the bag or you'll get a cloudy jelly. (You can also do this by lining a strainer with a couple layers of cheese cloth). I then measured out just 2 cups of the strained liquid and used that to follow the rest of the original recipe. I live at high altitude (6200 feet) and found I needed to boil the mixture for two minutes after adding the liquid pectin, but it jelled perfectly, has a great color and a really nice watermelon flavor. By the way, I replaced the lemon juice with 2 tablespoons of freshly squeezed lime juice because I like the flavor combination better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      I had major gel problems and just did not like the taste of this jelly. It was time consuming and not something I will try again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      Wonderful jelly. The grandkids and adults loved it. Used a thermometer and had no trouble with it jelling. Will be a regular on my list. Thanks for such a special recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      Photo looks great, but mine did not gel. I'm still experimenting with watermelon jelly, and after four failures, I've some comments: I like the flavor of brown sugar over white. I appreciate use of lemon juice over heavy flavor of vinegar. Maybe House Blend vinegar? Get specific on exact type of pectin used. "Failures" make wonderful syrup for other recipes - like for canning pears.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      Yummy! I made 2 batches of this jelly to use up some extra watermelons in my garden. The first batch came out PERFECT! It made 3 1/2 jelly jars. The second batch, though I did everything the same, did not set and made 4 jars. I did the 15 minute cook time and used 3 cups of watermelon puree. It is a very sweet mild watermelon taste, I ate some with bread and on crackers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      This didn’t set for me �

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      this was ok but the taste didn't seem right. It might have been the melon I used. will make next year maybe better results then

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2006

      YUM! This is the best jam I have ever made or tasted! Maintains a beautiful colour and full, refreshing watermelon taste. I used a thermometer and boiled for about 15 minutes, stirring constantly (it rolls like candy when boiling) until it reached 102*C... the consistency is *perfect*. I will make this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2006

      My son asked me if I had ever heard of watermelon jelly...I went straight to my favorite website and there it was! I cooked it up, but found that I had to boil it at least 30 minutes to get the right consistancy...I dropped a bit in ice water to test it...I left out the lemon juice because it just tasted so GOOD without it! Great recipe! I thank you J!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2003

      This didn't set for me the first time, but the second time it worked fine. I used the red hots- it is definately different! Not sure if I am absolutely in love with it or not. I wish I had tried it plain the first time. I will try another batch plain and see.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2002

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Watermelon Jelly

    Serving Size: 1 (1423 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2908.3
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    81%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 6.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 750.1 g
    250%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 737.8 g
    2951%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites