Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Watergate Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Watergate Salad

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on November 24, 2010

      I'm NOT on a diet, especially on a holiday.Thanks a lot for putting this recipe up. I lost my tried &true recipe &we all LOVE it! I'm gettin a wee bit tired of folks who write reviews to tell us certain recipes, including some of mine, are high in calories or fat or they are made w/some processed ingredients etc.I've got a conscience of my own and can make my own choices and I don't need anyone pointing out to me how much fat a certain dish on food.com contains. Please, site managers, you say you read reviews before you post them-this is America. We are each responsible for our own choices. Tx again Ozma for posting this delicious and most beloved recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      I'm curious what you mean by 2 c. Cool Whip. Are you going by the packaging (one small tub is 8 oz., the large ones are 16 oz.)? I went by the packaging, using a 16 oz. tub of Cool Whip. I doubled all the other ingredients, and it came out perfect. Technically, you probably want to go with 8 oz. of Cool Whip instead of 2 cups, just to clarify. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2013

      Love this "green stuff", as my family calls it!! Been making it forever, experimenting somewhat along the way with other add-ins. I've noticed that some cans of pineapple have more juice than others, so I started draining it first then adding enough back to get the right consistency so it doesn't end up soupy. Sometimes, it doesn't need any of it. Most times, I throw in more marshmallows than called for and about 1/3 cup of flaked coconut. An 8 oz tub of Cool Whip is plenty even with my extras and the sugar-free/fat-free pudding mix works well also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2003

      I have a similar recipe however instead of minituree marshmallows, I use a large jar of marshmallow cream

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2012

      I made this because it is too hot in Georgia to cook anything and it is GOOD!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2014

      I was in 8th grade during the summer Watergate took place and President Nixon resigned. (showing my age now!). This salad was very popular during the 70's and into the early 80's. I wanted to make a batch to take to a neighbor and was happy to find the recipe here. I didn't want to have to go through 100 old cookbooks. It turned out delicious! I didn't use the nuts, because she has missing/broken teeth. Ozma, thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2013

      I make this for Easter but use the colored mini-marshmallows instead, also cubed jello in green, blue, watermelon (pink), yellow. I used the jello giggler recipe & just folded them into the salad when the jello was firm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2013

      Thank you, thank you, for this recipe! I made this when I cooked at a nursing home, and never could get a family-size batch to turn out right--always too much of something or not enough of something--but now my adult "boys" can have Watergate salad for holiday dinners and not wonder what's wrong with it. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2011

      This is really good! It was my first time to have this and it was even better than expected. We loved the creamy & crunchy texture. I just used an 8oz Cool Whip, sugar free jello, & pineapple in juice. We got 8 servings (1/2 cup each) and it's just the right amount because the sweetness builds as you eat it. I'm sure I'll be making this plenty over the summer so thank you for a great summer dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      I got this recipe off the Kraft website a few years ago. I started off making it for my youngest's birthday because he was born on St. Patrick's Day and we were doing everything green. I now make it though for any special occasion(Christmas, Thanksgiving, Easter), my boy insists on it! It's so good, hubby is the only one who won't eat it, but that's because he hates pineapples. I put it out as a salad, though it's more like a dessert.....it's just so good and so light, trust me, don't start eating it out of the big bowl because before you know it it's all gone! LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      This is so tasty! I add bananas and sometimes coconut when I feel like it. This is definately one of those dishes that takes you back down memory lane. I am making it again for Thanksgiving and it is always a hit! Thank you for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Finally! My husband has had me on the search for the recipe and technique for "Green Stuff" - something his family always has for every family gathering. THIS is the recipe! Well, subbing mandarin orange segments for the pineapple, but other than that, this is it! Thank you, oh thank you for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      Have you noticed the 9.2g fat? This is NOT a healthy salad chef #908620. Try using fat free whipped topping and sugar free pudding to reduce the calories and be sure the pineapple is in natural juices. This is dessert, a favorite of mine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      I have made this salad several times and the family loves it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      Yummy! This is so light and creamy! Best of all, you can feel good for serving a " healthy salad" for dessert :) Thanks Ozma for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      This salad brings back memories. My g'ma always made this salad for every holiday. I made this for my kids and they loved it. I thank you for sharing this recipe and bringing back wonderful memories for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      Awesome, dangerous stuff!!! I could very well forget my manners and stick my head in the bowl. Not good. :)) Thank you Ozma for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      I made this for Easter dinner and it was fast and easy to make! Very tasty! It got the thumbs up! I will make this again. I only used about 3/4 of the can of crushed pineapple and less on the nuts and added a little bit of flaked coconut. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      This was awsome! I made this blind(never made it before) for a St Patricks day potluck at work. We were suppose to bring something green and this was perfect. So easy that I whipped it up in 5 mins at 7 am the morning of the potluck. I used colored minature marshmallow's and pecans. Someone also brought this salad minus the nuts and colored marmallows and mine was the first to go. Everyone raved! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      This is soooo good I forgot to rate it last time I made it, it was big hit with my Family, thanks for sharing !!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Dessert Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Watergate Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (104 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 172.8
     
    Calories from Fat 82
    47%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 67.6 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 18.5 g
    74%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    instant pistachio pudding mix

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes