52 Reviews

I'm NOT on a diet, especially on a holiday.Thanks a lot for putting this recipe up. I lost my tried &true recipe &we all LOVE it! I'm gettin a wee bit tired of folks who write reviews to tell us certain recipes, including some of mine, are high in calories or fat or they are made w/some processed ingredients etc.I've got a conscience of my own and can make my own choices and I don't need anyone pointing out to me how much fat a certain dish on food.com contains. Please, site managers, you say you read reviews before you post them-this is America. We are each responsible for our own choices. Tx again Ozma for posting this delicious and most beloved recipe!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
plantfreek1_13154351 November 24, 2010

I'm curious what you mean by 2 c. Cool Whip. Are you going by the packaging (one small tub is 8 oz., the large ones are 16 oz.)? I went by the packaging, using a 16 oz. tub of Cool Whip. I doubled all the other ingredients, and it came out perfect. Technically, you probably want to go with 8 oz. of Cool Whip instead of 2 cups, just to clarify. :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WillsMommy November 29, 2010

Love this "green stuff", as my family calls it!! Been making it forever, experimenting somewhat along the way with other add-ins. I've noticed that some cans of pineapple have more juice than others, so I started draining it first then adding enough back to get the right consistency so it doesn't end up soupy. Sometimes, it doesn't need any of it. Most times, I throw in more marshmallows than called for and about 1/3 cup of flaked coconut. An 8 oz tub of Cool Whip is plenty even with my extras and the sugar-free/fat-free pudding mix works well also.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MSippigirl November 22, 2013

I have a similar recipe however instead of minituree marshmallows, I use a large jar of marshmallow cream

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nschneider June 17, 2003

I made this because it is too hot in Georgia to cook anything and it is GOOD!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sherry1246 July 02, 2012

I was in 8th grade during the summer Watergate took place and President Nixon resigned. (showing my age now!). This salad was very popular during the 70's and into the early 80's. I wanted to make a batch to take to a neighbor and was happy to find the recipe here. I didn't want to have to go through 100 old cookbooks. It turned out delicious! I didn't use the nuts, because she has missing/broken teeth. Ozma, thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose August 29, 2014

I make this for Easter but use the colored mini-marshmallows instead, also cubed jello in green, blue, watermelon (pink), yellow. I used the jello giggler recipe & just folded them into the salad when the jello was firm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dharris80 December 31, 2013

Thank you, thank you, for this recipe! I made this when I cooked at a nursing home, and never could get a family-size batch to turn out right--always too much of something or not enough of something--but now my adult "boys" can have Watergate salad for holiday dinners and not wonder what's wrong with it. Thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweetamelia August 04, 2013

This is really good! It was my first time to have this and it was even better than expected. We loved the creamy & crunchy texture. I just used an 8oz Cool Whip, sugar free jello, & pineapple in juice. We got 8 servings (1/2 cup each) and it's just the right amount because the sweetness builds as you eat it. I'm sure I'll be making this plenty over the summer so thank you for a great summer dessert!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kit Katchen July 04, 2011

I got this recipe off the Kraft website a few years ago. I started off making it for my youngest's birthday because he was born on St. Patrick's Day and we were doing everything green. I now make it though for any special occasion(Christmas, Thanksgiving, Easter), my boy insists on it! It's so good, hubby is the only one who won't eat it, but that's because he hates pineapples. I put it out as a salad, though it's more like a dessert.....it's just so good and so light, trust me, don't start eating it out of the big bowl because before you know it it's all gone! LOL

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jomom75 December 30, 2010
Watergate Salad