Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Watergate Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Watergate Salad

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on November 02, 2003

      This is great to serve for a holiday sidedish.Its easy and it tastes so good! We love it! I toss the bananas in a little lemon juice to keep them from turning brown otherwise don't change a thing. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2003

      you just brought back a thousand memories of the church-lady potlucks I went to with grandma as a little girl! This stuff without the bananas ("pistachio fluff" in Bellevue, Ohio) was always my favorite! Thanks for the recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2003

      very easy-very good.I will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2012

      yummmy!! made today for cookout. the only thing i left out was the cherries...didnt have any..i also served it with angel food cake (charlotte j )....went real well together...thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2012

      This is exactly the recipe that my grandma has made for years at all our family dinners, it has always been a family favorite dish. My uncle always requests it, and I love it too, my brother and I when we were kids used to try to get a scoop with the cherry in it. It's just not a family dinner without a big bowl of fluffy Watergate Salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      Awesome dessert! I made this for a work luncheon, and everytime we plan a celebration, I am always asked to bring this! Thanks so much for posting this delicious treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      Very nice Christmas dessert. Loved the combination of the fruits. It was so light and creamy. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      Yummy! I made this for a St. Pat's day party and it was such a hit. It was the only dessert that completely went. I debated about putting in the nuts, but I'm so glad I did, they gave it a nice crunch/texture. DH has requested I make this at home for us to enjoy by ourselves. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      Made this as a dessert for Christmas. Everyone loved it. I used lite cool whip, and it still worked out well. Very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      Thanks for the recipe; I made it for St. Patricks. Instead of using pistachio pudding I used vanilla and then in order to make it green I colored the Cool Whip. My mom didn't want maraschino cherries so I substituted the only other fruit we had which was strawberries. It gave it a different texture and taste but still tasted fine. The only thing I might change is less nuts because that created a crunch where one thought the salad would be soft and smooth. So with less it would give it a different texture and probably wouldn't alter the taste too much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      I have been making a variation of this for years, only I use all sugar free products where I can to cut the calories way down, especially for diabetics like myself. Can't do much about the marshmallows

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

    • on December 25, 2007

      Fantastic! I made this to serve with Christmas dinner this year and almost everyone had 2 helpings. I grew up on this salad as a child and it brings back so many great memories. My mom's recipe was similar...the same as this one, minus the bananas and cherries. I like this one better, and the red and green make it perfect for Christmas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      I also had this as a child and feel fortunate to have this recipe. I could have ate this all to myself but my mother also taught me to share!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      I always liked this salad as a kid- we had this every holiday growing up. I was so glad to see it posted here. I left out the bananas and cherries just out of preference. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2007

      I made this for Easter, and while it tasted good, the color was very unappetizing. My fiancee wouldn't even taste it. Overall it is a nice, different and light dessert, but I wouldn't feel comfortable serving it to guests unless I can figure out a way to make it look more appealing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2006

      Thank you Mysterygirl and Mg's mom! This salad is awesome and so simple to put together! I used a package of instant pudding and sliced the maraschino cherries in half. We couldnt wait for it to chill, helped ourselves as soon as I had it mixed and plated! Definitely will be a family favorite for us and would be wonderful on the table for the holidays!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2006

      This salad is absolutely wonderful. I got rave reviews when I made it for a get together. I wish I could give it more than 5 stars

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2006

      Ooops forgot to review this recipe. I made this for Thanksgiving, my Mother and Sister-in-Law could not get enough! Easy recipe, light and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2006

      My family loves this salad. Even those that wouldn't eat the "original" recipe ate this one and loved it. I'm making it a lot now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Dessert Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Watergate Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (145 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 326.0
     
    Calories from Fat 152
    46%
    Total Fat 16.9 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 10.1 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 95.0 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 32.9 g
    131%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pistachio pudding mix

    maraschino cherries

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites