Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Water Bagels (Plain) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Water Bagels (Plain)

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on November 17, 2009

      These bagels are great. I've never made bagels before but have always wanted to. They are time consuming, but taste really wonderful. Mine look more like the rings you'd toss at a fair but, lesson learned :) I'll know for next time to shape them better. Also, I didn't grease the cookie sheet for the first batch and they stuck reallllly bad! Second batch I used sprayed parchment paper and it worked great. I will be making these again...I learned a few lessons with the first batch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      Thanks for this. I've made these probably a dozen times now. Over time, I've found the following changes suit me best: 1. I let my bread machine take care of the first 7 steps on the dough setting, then take it from there. 2. I use half white whole wheat flour, and add gluten. 3. I add a little brown sugar to the boiling water.

      I always use the egg wash--it makes them shiny and helps the sesame seeds stick. (Also, 1 package of yeast = .75 oz of yeast = 4.5 teaspoons of yeast.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      We made these per the given directions and they turned out great. To shape the bagels we rolled the dough into balls and stabbed a hole through each one. We brought them to Mother's Day brunch and everyone loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2013

      My family absolutely LOVED this recipe. My husband paid for my tires in exchange for a batch,lol. Time consuming if you are making a lot (and I made a BUNCH) but not difficult. I have made these twice now, and have been called a bagel making godess. Much better than store bought. These last awhile in tupperware, I have been trying to get around to freezing some for later, but they just don't last that long. I also made 8 bagels with this recipe and used the hole poking method. Thank you so much for a fantastic recipe. I will be making these often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2012

      This recipe for bagels is the best, easy and fun to do. They taste superb, just like the ones I grew up with except now, my husband and I make them homemade because of this terrific recipe. These bagels are a lot better than any store bought bagels or bakery bagels. They freeze great too. Love them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2011

      I have tried bagels a few times before and ended up with rubbery results. These worked MUCH better! I think I held my breath the whole time :) My other bagels also always had a yeasty taste that these do not! So I am very happy with the results! I left off the egg wash to keep them vegan (near impossible to find vegan bagels!) They came out surprisingly tender, and nice and crispy when toasted. Will definitely keep this recipe around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2011

      I've made these bagels twice now, with great success both times. The husband absolutely LOVES them. Thank you! He did ask that I make larger bagels the second time around, though. He thought they were a little small when I made 12, as per the recipe. And Hilary #3 is spot on with the shaping technique. I had a lot more luck leaving the dough as a ball, pinching off pieces for each bagel and rolling them into balls as opposed to rolling out the dough and cutting off "snakes" to shape the bagels.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      Chose this recipe for 1st time making bagels and we're glad we did. Bagels came out beautifully, rising a lot. Bagels sort of deflated in the boiling water, but puffed right back up, and more, in the oven. We like a little more salt so next time we will add a bit more. This recipe is definitely worth the effort. Thanks Dee514!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      this recipe was easy and delicious. the bagels were a little smaller than we expected, but a definite success. we put cheese on top (which ended up being an excellent topping!) we plan to try to make a jalapeno cheese version tomorrow...!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      I just made these in my dorm kitchen in Harbin, China. (Missed home, and this seemed like a good recipe.) My facilities/ingredients are a bit lacking, so I had to make a few changes and improvise a bit, but they came out great. A few notes, however: I added brown sugar to the boiling water to make the crust extra crispy. Also, the ends seemed to come apart in the water. Next time I might try adding some vinegar to the water (prbly wine vin.) to keep the dough from splitting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      Great recipe! I recommend rolling the dough out very thick, so you get nice plump bagels. I rolled mine out too thin and ended up have to spiral the dough around itself leaving a hole in the middle. Even so, that didn't affect the taste any, these are so good and easy to make. I boiled mine then baked them for 10 minutes then froze them. Perfect for popping in the toaster in the morning and for bagel pizzas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      These are really pretty good. I sprinkled with kosher salt and yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      These are so much fun to make. My 14 year old and I have made them twice. They get eaten up in no time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      These bagels were so worth the time it took to make them! I doubled the batch the first time I made these. My family snarfed them right up. So...a few days later I did two double batches. One plain and one blueberry. I didn't do the egg wash on most of the second batch and liked how they turned out. My house must have had just the right temperature because some of the bagels were rising on their own and so I opted to skip the water step on these. They still turned out so tasty. I had to freeze a good portion of them so the family doesn't eat them so fast! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2008

      APR13-Time consuming but very tasty! We made 8 instead of 12 and they were about the size of what you get at the grocery store. Probably won't use the egg wash next time. MAY16- Made them again, didn't use egg wash and put cornmeal on the bottom because they stuck to the sheets the first time. Will be good breakfast tomorrow morning!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      They tasted great! I loved them, and will make again, but mine didn't rise (my bagels never rise...). Very flat, but delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      I have tried several bagel recipes but this is by far the best. I made it in my bread machine and the bagels turned out very good. Other than using the bread machine I wouldn't change a thing . They were so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      these were awesome! between myself my dh and my 3yr old we ate 7 of these in 20min. I will definately be making more and freezing them for later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      This recipe was EXCELLENT! I live in NY and am extremely picky when it comes to bagels. I tried another, higher-rated recipe on Recipezaar first, but those bagels just didn't work out very well (too bread-y, too yeast-y). When making these, I was alarmed because the dough didn't seem to rise at all, but maybe that was okay, because my bagels turned out SO GOOD! I will definitely make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      Exceptional flavor and pretty easy although time-intensive. We tried both ways and the "thumb" method made a more attractive bagel. Made them yesterday and I plan to make a dozen more in two days. Cost-effective and miles ahead of store-bought in flavor! Thank you SO much for a new addition to our regular bread baking schedule.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Water Bagels (Plain)

    Serving Size: 1 (967 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 167.2
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    47%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 588.0 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites