Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wasabi Salmon Cakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wasabi Salmon Cakes

    Average Rating:

    81 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 81

    Sort by:

    • on February 12, 2004

      Excellent recipe. I microwaved a large salmon fillet instead of using canned salmon. I left out the red bell peppers since I didn't have any. And instead of spraying the patties with Pam, I put about 1/4 cup of olive oil in my frying pan. I worked in two batches and each took about 7 minutes. They were very flavorful but only mildly spicy (more wasabi powder would be in order for those who like it hot). I enjoyed the fritter-like texture/consistency. What an all around delicious treat--thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      These are pretty tasty salmon cakes; however, I'm not sure if they would have been even better had the directions been clearer. I doubled the recipe, using two 5-oz. well-drained cans of boneless, skinless salmon, which size was never indicated. I used wasabi paste in a tube (wasn't sure if I was supposed to use this or wasabi powder). I used rice vinegar and tamari. The mixture ended up being very wet, so I had to add some more breadcrumbs (for a total of about 3/4 cup). The mixture was still not so workable, but I didn't want to add more breadcrumbs, since they would be coated in them as well. I originally used too much of the mixture to roll into balls and eventually realized I needed to use a smaller amount and just gently flatten it. I pressed the patties into some panko, which gave them a nice crunch, and ended up using safflower oil to fry them in, as they were getting too dry. I think these would benefit greatly from some type of condiment or sauce to serve them with. The flavor was very tasty and the wasabi was present, but not overwhelming. I would definitely like to play with this recipe again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      I really enjoyed these, but the recipe needs to be more clear as to what size to use for the can of salmon. I used a 5 oz can, which was NOT enough, so I had to add a lot more bread cumbs and still had trouble forming the patties. Next time I will use at least 2 cans of salmon, and will try panko instead of bread cumbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      These were very good. I cut the recipe in half and put them in muffin tins. I loved the wasabi and red bell pepper. Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2006

      These were the hit of our Father's Day dinner - thanks for the recipe! I used Topher's suggestion and added scallions and also whipped up a wasabi tartar sauce with 1/4 cup mayo, 1 T. wasabi, 2 T. relish & 1 tsp. soy sauce - great addition!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      I had it in mind to make salmon spinach cakes and I used this recipe as my "base". I didn't have wasabi on hand, but I'd love to make the original recipe and try it out.
      Since I wasn't going the wasabi route, I omitted the soy sauce, and I didn't have peppers so those went as well.
      I used 2 5 oz cans of salmon and doubled the rest of the ingredients. I added 3/4 package of thawed chopped spinach that I squeezed out very well. Since I didn't use soy sauce I added about 1 tsp of kosher salt and some ground pepper. The mixture made 10 1/4 cup size patties. After dipping them in breadcrumbs, I had to refrigerate them for about 30 min to be able to handle them without them falling apart.
      I then fried them on a stove top griddle.
      My kids absolutely LOVED them, and they don't usually like spinach or canned fish (they're 6, 4 1/2 and 2 years old). Actually, my 9 month old ate a good bit of it as well. My husband also enjoyed them with some mayo on the side. And I have found a great way to get my family to eat fish and spinach, and be excited about a meatless dinner!
      Thanks for a great recipe. I look forward to trying the wasabi version next Friday :o)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      These were really good. I have never used canned salmon before and just assumed it was all skinless and boneless. It isn't. Next time I'll look more closely. I also used green onion in place of the red pepper, since the peppers at the store didn't look all that good. A great recipe, thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      DH voted these "the best salmon cakes ever". We used only 1 tbsp of wasabi b/c my son is not too fond, but even he gobbled these up. UPDATE: Tried these again, but didn't have any wasabi so I used a wasabi-flavored mayo. Also forgot the rice vinegar, but they still turned out fantastic. Thanks so much for this recipe! It will be a regular rotation.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      Wow! These were very good--much better even than we thought they'd be. For maximum heat, make your own paste from powdered wasabi (not the toothpaste-tube kind of wasabi paste, which is very, very mild), and let it sit, covered, for at least 1 minute before using it. These were so zippy, my son wouldn't eat them; I'll have to tone them down if I want him to eat them in future. I served them with Wasabi Herbed Mayonnaise for a sauce, and Japanese Vinegared Cucumbers and steamed short-grain rice on the side. Thanks so much for posting, Susan!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2007

      This was, out to dinner fantastic! I had the wasabi paste and used 1 1/2 tablespoon. I also had to add a bit more bread crumbs but I mixed it several hours ahead of time so they probably soaked up the liquid more than usual. I baked them as suggested and everyone gobbled them up. No leftovers that night! Next time I'll try the panko and fry them. Thanks for a very special recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2005

      Excellent recipe. I have made the cakes using fresh salmon filets and this works out fine. The recipe is easy to follow. With the cakes I served noodle salad (#31110) and Toasted Seame Greens (#119872) as suggested by Chef "Vote for Pedro". I have cooked the cakes until they had a good looking brwon color outside. Inside the were fluffily and juicily. Exact the way they should be. The taste was extraordinary. The flavor of the fresh salmon harmonized well the bell pepper and the pepperiness of the wasabi. Because I used less wasabi than in the recipe, I served wasabi paste seperately. We also tried them cold and they were still excellent. The cakes would also be great for partys. An absolute five star recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2013

      These are wonderful. I too used fresh salmon because I already had it. This recipe can be tweaked in many ways to keep the flavors interesting. I grilled these. I have to say to the many people that commented about the ingredients not being clear. It states the amount of salmon to use and the wasabi. I assumed powder but the paste would not be much different. An ingredient like wasabi is used to taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2013

      These were really good and a nice change from standard salmon cakes. I was conservative and used only 1/2 of the wasabi called for as I have 2 small children. There was almost no "heat" so I think I could've made them will the full amount and still had them eat them without hesitation. I did have to increase the breadcrumbs substantially (used fresh, potato rolls processed in the food processor). I would say I had to at least double the amount of breadcrumbs (using a 15 oz can of drained red Alaskan salmon) and they were still very moist, having to use an ice cream scoop to put them in the pan to cook. Even with the addition of the doubled breadcrumbs, the "shaping" was not possible. I made half with the red pepper and half without, each were very good. Cilantro would make an excellent garnish. Served with asian sugar snap peas & steamed rice. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2013

      I didn't follow instructions at all. I use a 1 lb salmon and cook it in the frying pan. 5 russets potatoes, mashed. Stir fry mince garlic and onion. I omited the egg since I have a lot of potatoes and I can shape the patty easily. Taste great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

      These were very different than other salmon cakes that I have tried. I absolutely love the twist of the wasabi and soy in them! Yum.
      My only problem was that for me, they needed more soy and more lemon. I felt they were a bit on the bland side. Call me crazy.
      Thanks for sharing though! I will make these again with the added soy and lemon to my taste. I bet these would benefit from some chopped ginger as well.
      Good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2012

      These simple little cakes are outstanding! I made them exactly as written. At first I hesitated about using what I thought was so much wasabi, but the amount suggested is perfect. Thank you - this is truly a tasty and wonderfully easy dish to prepare and is now a favorite of mine.***I am so sorry for overlooking the stars when I originally reviewed these delicious salmon cakes. They deserve more than just 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2012

      Yummy! These were easy to make and tasty. Loved the wasabi. There's enough flavor in the cakes so there's no need for an additional topping sauce. Double the recipe if the can of salmon is small as we only ended up with two patties (enough for the two of us but I was left wanting another one - did I say "yummy"). I am sure tuna would taste great too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2012

      I LOVED this recipe. I used a large salmon fillet and baked it before making these. I then doubled this recipe. I used a lot of bread crumbs though in order to make these workable. I finally gave up with the bread crumbs and just formed them into mushy patties and pressed them into panko crumbs. I found it nicer to cook them with oil in the pan rather than spraying with oil (I don't use Pam). I only used half the wasabi - and next time I'll use it all - I was worried my kids would find it too hot but you couldnt even taste it. I can't wait to make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2012

      Delicious! I substituted finely chopped green onion and celery for the red pepper because that was what I had on hand. Also used the soy sauce and lemon juice subs noted in the recipe. Used 2 6oz cans of salmon, and panko bread crumbs. After forming palm-sized patties, I patted some more panko on both sides and cooked them stove top in a mixture of olive and coconut oil. Served with some leftover tzatziki which was a perfect complement to the salmon cakes. Dinner was a big hit! Will make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2011

    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wasabi Salmon Cakes

    Serving Size: 1 (617 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 125.5
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    28%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 61.4 mg
    20%
    Sodium 1025.6 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.6 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 17.0 g
    34%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    low-fat mayonnaise

    wasabi

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites