40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent recipe! We really enjoyed both the tuna and the sauce!!! I added a little more wasabi to the sauce because it wasn't hot enough for me...I like it hot!!! My husband and my 6 year old loved this as well. I used low fat mayo and reduced sodium soy. Made as directed...but cooked the tuna about 5 minutes on each side so that it was only pink in the middle, not as rare...because even though we used sushi grade my husband has this thing about meats still red....LOL!! It was still delish as medium rare.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kelly Bug February 28, 2009

GREAT! For a stiffer sauce (more like mayo)I would suggest using just the rice wine vinegar to make the wasabi paste.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
John Mcknight September 20, 2002

This is a delicious recipe that is easy to prepare and great for summertime! The sauce is not as biting as you might think because wasabi is calmed when mixed with other ingredients, so I prepared a wasabe paste to serve on the plates as a garnish for those who like it hot. The sauce did need to be doubled to have enough to go around but was very tasty and creamy with a mild wasabe flavor. I would prepare this recipe again, and think it is a great addition to an Asian meal.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau July 08, 2002

This recipe is absolutely delicious. The wasabi isn't too overpowering, but it gives the tuna great flavor. Anybody who loves tuna and wasabi has to try this!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alliwini June 28, 2003

Mmmmm.....super simple and so delicious. I did grill it a bit longer, and wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing this keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview July 31, 2014

MAKE THIS IMMEDIATELY!!! This was beyond fantastic! FABULOUS!! Will be making this again and again! Thank you chasfoodie for posting this! I used Wasabi paste and omitted the water. I also used low fat mayo with olive oil and reduced sodium soy sauce. PERFECTLY seasoned. I'm ashamed to admit I made my tuna a bit well done. Only way I can eat it...but wouldn't change a thing. TO DIE FOR!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl May 14, 2014

You were right this is an EXCELLENT and easy dinner...tasty too! I served it with Spinach With Pine Nuts#203925 and Asian Pasta Salad#137204. What a fabulous meal and one I will make again. Made for Let's PARTY 2011 tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf December 16, 2011

WOW! This was absolutely delicious. I licked the plate to get the last bit of sauce. We were out of soy sauce, and were worried that we'd ruin the taste making it with substitutions, but it was still amazing. We will certainly be making this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cassyt July 31, 2011

Fantastic! I doubled the sauce after reading reviews, and was glad I did. The sauce really complements the tuna. This recipe is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Els Wells August 23, 2010
Wasabi Grilled Tuna