Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wasabi Almonds Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wasabi Almonds

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on June 17, 2009

      These almonds are very tasty! However I have to agree with the other posters, that they are lacking that "wasabi kick". Years ago my husband made these and we had the same problem. I attributed it to the wasabi powder, and vowed to use a different brand. Well, I did this time and I got the same results. I think that maybe the powder is just not as strong as the paste. I also put some wasabi paste into the egg white mixture, and when I made the wasabi coating I put in extra powder. Still no luck,. The next time, I will add even more wasabi paste and see how that works.. I will get that "kick" that I want!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2014

      Since it's more than apparent that heat kills the Wasabi flavor, why not add more Wasabi powder and popcorn salt to a bag, spritz almonds with soy after baking and shake them up in the bag?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      I'm giving this recipe a middle of the road 3 stars, for the fact that while somewhat flavorful (from the salt I would suppose), they don't have the wasabi flavor or bite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      Bergy, these nuts are perfect for wasabi lovers like my mum. They are very esay to prepare, smell intensely and have a lot of flavour. I was impressed at how quick and simple this treat was to prepare at home, cause when you buy these kind of snack nuts, they tend to be so expensive. Im sure this will be requested often by my mum, who just adores wasabi! :) THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this recipe with us! It is the perfect last minute gift. Oh in case you wonder about the picture, I had to use peanuts as my mum is such a fan of wasabi coated peanuts. I hope you dont mind!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      I made half a recipe but kept the wasabi the same. Not quite enough flavor so will add more next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      This recipie also works quite well with walnuts and pecans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      I couldn't find wasabi powder in the shops so had a go with fresh wasabi paste. I mixed this with the egg white and water. Otherwise I used the recipe as stated. Despite using heaps of wasabi paste because of the previous review that siad this recipe could take it and I felt it probably wouldn't be as potent as the powder, the wasabi doesn't really give it a bite. whether this is the cornstarch partly counteracting it, I don't know but you end up with spicy almonds which are great but you don't get the typical wasabi kick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2006

      I have to say these were very tasty... but not spicy at all. Next batch will have one more tablespoon of wasabi powder and maybe some of my dried habanero peppers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wasabi Almonds

    Serving Size: 1 (32 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 165.3
     
    Calories from Fat 126
    76%
    Total Fat 14.0 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 294.4 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    wasabi powder

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites