Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Warr-Shu-Gai Almond Boneless Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Warr-Shu-Gai Almond Boneless Chicken

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on November 01, 2012

      This is definitely not something you can get in south Florida where I now live. I used to order this every week at my local Chinese restaurant, and still do whenever I visit Michigan.
      This recipe is good. The sauce is right on but the batter is wrong. First of all, forget the baking powder. Instead of using water, try clubsoda. It will give your chicken a crispier tempura like texture.Make sure the batter is on the thin side so that it dredges off easily. Use peanut oil or don't make this dish! Regular veg or corn oil cannot get hot enough to really crisp the chicken without setting off smoke alarms!
      Also, the sauce does require 1/4 teaspoon of real Almond Extract to give it the authentic restaurant flavor we Michiganders know and love. Forget the mushrooms. They just water down the gravy. Use Iceberg Lettuce. It is the coldest, crunchiest to offset the warmth of the chicken and gravy.
      I know this works because I experimented with this recipe until it was just like my favorite Chinese haunts in suburban Detroit.
      Also, change out the chicken for duck and make it Wor Su Opp!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2003

      When I was a boy in Detroit I worked as a bus boy in Wing Hong's Chinese American Restaurant. I'm sure Wingy is either very old or dead by this time but the cries of "War Sho GAI" still ring in my ears (along with our american response "wash your OWN guy!!") My first attempt at this receipe was ok but not completely successful, never the less the taste was what I remembered and that earns it a five. Be sure to use THIN cuts of boneless chicken so it fries up crisp. Too thick a piece makes the coating soggy and therefore less edible. This sauce will work best with rendered chicken fat. I save what renders out when I broil chicken for other receipes for just this kind of dish. Thanks for posting this Tonkcats. It was a wonderful addition to my cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2013

      Tonkat: just thought I'd let you know that over in Seattle, where I used to live in a suburb called Ravenna/Lake City, there's a fantastic blast from the past called Ying's Chinese Food Drive In. When I lived there, they delivered THE best Almond Chicken with brown gravy you have ever tasted! I crave Ying's Almond Chicken from here in Honolulu some 20 years later! And more awesome is the fact they've not changed a thing since back then: same signage, chairs, menu on the wall and polaroids of each dish, it's all like a time warp! Check out the picture from yelp: http://m.yelp.com/biz_photos/yings-drive-in-seattle?select=jly1qsp2YXJIs70_ds11Ng I know there are some bad reviews there, lol. But that chicken was tender white meat with the lightest dark brown crispy coating, covered with their ruch, saviry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      Not 100% like I remember, but wasn't bad. After reading reviews I didn't use the baking powder. Also left out the mushrooms. Also, put 1/4 teaspoon of Almond Extract in the sauce. I used 2 TBS clubsoda in the batter (1 was not enough). Used peanut oil for frying. The directions didn't mention when to add the dry sherry, so I just included it in the peanut oil. Took about 7 mins each side to cook through. Was easy to put together, but will try other recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      dredge ckn in pancake mix . found that recipe on bob allison site he is a detroiter who worked at local am radio stations . he has many old detroit restaurant recipes from back in the day . the sauce recipe here is better than the one he has listed . watch the size of ckn pces as it will double or triple in size .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2012

      I also grew up in Detroit enjoying this dish. And it is true, you cannot find it out of state. This is a recipe I have been hoping for since I moved away from Ann Arbor. Thanks for taking me home again! Hope Bill Woo's is still open! He would be proud.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2012

      I had no idea that this was a regional recipe either. Our whole family just loves it when we go out to eat. I made it last night and it was absolutely fabulous!!! I too left out the sherry and mushrooms. The sauce is dead on, but I can't quite figure out how to fix the batter so it's more like the restaurant version. I was thinking maybe it should have salt in it and omit the baking powder so it crisps up more like a fried chicken batter????

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      I have been looking for a recipe similar to this for a long time. I live in Canada just across the river from Detroit, and our Chinese restaurants have served this as far back as I can remember. I haven't tried the recipe yet, but I am hopeful it is the one I have been looking for. I will rate and review it properly once I try it, but for now am giving it five stars in anticipation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      I grew up in MI where I could get Almond Boneless Chicken at any Chinese restaurant I walked into. When I moved to NC I quickly learned that it was regional since no Chinese restaurant here knew what it was. This came in as a close second to the traditional Almond Boneless Chicken I can get at my favorite Chinese Restaurant. Thank you so much for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      Being a fellow Michiganian, I thought the sauce was dead on!!!! Only complaint that was heard this evening was from my DH who actually fried the chicken, was maybe 2 eggs would have worked better. But we both agreed that when recipes are written, who knows what size of eggs are really used. And who knows if the same sizes are offered in the areas. Or, no offense to the momma chicks, but do they always lay the same sized eggs!!! LOL. Tonkcats, great recipe and we will be making over and over, well at least until the DS goes off to college!!!! LOL This is his favorite dish :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      I live in Montana and here they call this deep-fried chicken with almond gravy...whatever you call it it's darn good! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      My Husband and I are both From Michigan. We now live in Tenn. and Have not been able to find this sort of Almond chicken anywhere. Thanks so much for the recipe it is the closest thing we have found to it.We will be useing this in our kitchen regularly.Do you by chance have a good egg drop soup recipe?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      We enjoyed this recipe. We left out the mushrooms and did not miss them. We will definitely make this again. My son actually ate all of his chicken. That is a rave review.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2006

      Well, we did enjoy this but the recipe calls for salt and sherry but does not say what to do with it. I marinated the chicken in it. The chicken was moist and the sauce was very flavorful. I did not use the mushrooms. I was debating on the stars but the recipe is lacking in description. It would have been a five star if it explained the whole recipe. Thanks Tonkcats

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2005

      The whole family enjoyed this dish. I opted to use the mushrooms but 1 1/2 cups is a lot of mushrooms and sauce ended up being a mushroom sauce. The next time that I prepare this dish, I will try it without the mushrooms and compare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2005

      they serve this here in neb too its one of my favorites instead of slicing almonds chop them fine we dont have the mushrooms here

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2003

      I was looking for a recipe for Almond Chicken Soo Guy, and this was very close- I guess that's what we call it in Canada! It was very good, although I didn't have any homemade chicken stock, which would greatly improve the sauce. You could also adapt it to make Lemon Soo Guy with a lemon sauce instead of a gravy type sauce. A bit of work, but will definitely make it again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2003

      I liked the chicken and the almonds were a delicious addition. However, I did not care for the sauce. I suppose that could just be my taste, but I was thinking that something a little sweeter would have been good. At any rate, it did make a nice midweek meal and I will explore other chicken and almond recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2002

      This recipe is also served in Chinese Restaurants in Northeast Ohio and also Columbus, Ohio. It is great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2002

      Haven't tried to make this yet, so I can't rate it. I will try it though. I just wanted to let Tonkcat know that War Su Gai does exist in southwestern Ohio, both under that name and under Almond Boneless Chicken. I've had it with a variety of sauces...one very gravy-like, the rest more oriental in nature. It's a great dish. I'm anxious to try it at home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Warr-Shu-Gai Almond Boneless Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (1578 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 341.8
     
    Calories from Fat 127
    37%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 6.8 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 145.1 mg
    48%
    Sodium 1654.4 mg
    68%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 31.6 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites