9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This made a lovely quick evening meal last night. I used cos instead of spinach and made my own croutons. Very nice indeed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew November 01, 2010

I needed a fat-free salad dressing recipe and this fit the bill perfectly! I omitted the bacon and sauted the onion and garlic in only a drop of olive oil. Used only 1 1/2 tbsp of splenda and added about 2 tsp of red wine vinegar. This was very yummy served with baby spinach leaves and sliced apples. Will be made often :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K's October 07, 2009

I loved this! I used 2 pieces of turkey bacon from butterball which is 25 calories a slice! I also added a little balsamic vinegar , just because I love the way it taste with dijon mustard! I always felt guilty when I would eat the warm spinach salad from Applebees. Now I can Make my own with no guilt! Yum Yum! Thanks for posting!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NanaJulie May 29, 2009

Replaced the croutons with sliced mushrooms cooked along with the turkey bacon. The results were really good. Next time I will cut the mustard by a teaspoon or so as I thought it was a little to heavy compared to the other flavors in the dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni January 04, 2005

We really enjoyed this. I used regular bacon and was really glad to have the Splenda in it instead of sugar! I will cut back just a bit on the amount of vinigar the next time - but there will be a next time! I also used just one garlic clove - because I have learned by experience that I prefer a mild garlic taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trisha W September 26, 2004

I used to make this all the time and loved it. Now that we don't eat pork I tried it with veggie bacon. It doesn't have quite the taste, but still good. I added a little olive oil to the veggie bacon because it was dry. Thanks Paula!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 September 24, 2004

Love this dressing! Would also like to try cooling it a bit and use it on other salads as well. Used regular bacon - all I had on hand. Also added some grape tomatoes. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing it, Paula.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie August 20, 2004

Paula, this is fantabulous! My whole family loved it. I added some roma tomato slices because they were there. The dressing has a unique sweet and sour taste that is out of this world. This deserves more than 5 stars - a definite keeper. I will be making this over and over again. Thanks, Paula!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claudia Dawn August 08, 2004

This turned out great and was so easy to make. I love that the dressing doesn't have any oil and uses Splenda instead of sugar. I will definately make this again. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas August 07, 2004
Warm Spinach Salad