Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Warm Eggplant Salad With Sesame and Shallots Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Warm Eggplant Salad With Sesame and Shallots

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 10, 2011

      You can also use tahini instead of Japanese sesame paste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      I don't know what I did wrong here but I followed the directions and the eggplant was like mush. I also should have peeled it because the skin was too tough. We didn't like the dressing either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      I made this for ZWT4 as well. I used Sherry, peanut butter & a mix of mint and basil leaves. I also used Japanese eggplant. I served it with some grilled pork. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      This is a deliciously different way to prepare eggplant! The sauce is flavorful and pares well with the eggplant. We used scallion and mint, but I'd be interested to try the Japanese ingredients some time. It's nice and easy to fix, too. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT4. ~Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      This is for ZTW 4 - low fat recipe. Harumi Kurihara is one of my favorite Japanese home chef/cookbook author. Her sauces are always very good. Since I did not have eggplant, I used turnip greens and nanohana like vegetable from my own garden - just picked. This sauce goes well with any steamed vegetables. Like all of her sauces, this one was excellent. I love the contrast of shiso leaves (perilla) and I believe it is a major component of this sauce. Thank you Kumquat for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2006

      This time I grilled the eggplant & it was wonderful! I sauteed the shallots but wished I had only barely warmed them - they went from too sharp to too sweet. *sigh* Great stuff!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

      Wow, what a great salad! I served it while still warm and used the shisho leaves which I grow on my balcony. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2006

      I am always looking for new ways to use up eggplant. Finding a recipe that isn't stuffed with cheese and calorie-laden but still tastes good is a challenge. This recipe fit the bill nicely. I was sceptical about steaming the eggplant but it actually works very well and takes a lot less time than the usual baking method. I chose to skin it after the steaming. The dressing was good, quite easy to prepare and a nice sour / salty combination. We both thought it might benefit though from a bit of spice but if you aren't hot-heads like we are I'm sure you'd love it just the way it is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Warm Eggplant Salad With Sesame and Shallots

    Serving Size: 1 (145 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 98.2
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    22%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 255.4 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sesame paste

    shiso leaves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites