12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I second the other reviews - we LOVED this salad! It's very hearty and can easily stand alone, especially on a summer day with bread. I also sauteed the garlic and shallots with red wine vinegar and 1/2 teaspoon sugar instead of step #1. In addition, I added fresh basil and grated fresh parmesan cheese. I'll try adding mint also next time - would be great in the salad! I questionned blanching the chickpeas, but I agree that this really (unexpectedly!) brings out the flavor. Wonderful salad - will make again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaurelAnn August 09, 2010

Love this salad. Shallots, mint, parsley, vinegar and oil, you can't go wrong. I used the mint suggested by someone here. I have it going wild in the garden and the parsley. I heated the dressing and poured over the chickpeas which I then chilled for several hours before serving cold. Served along side hamburger steaks, stewed okra and tomatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maeven6 May 28, 2010

I don't think I've come across a salad with chickpeas that I don't like, this is lovely & simple & served with greens makes a tasty lunch. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** November 10, 2008

Delicious salad, I made a few change and used green onions in place of shallots and sprinkled on some fresh grated Parmesan cheese, we enjoyed this, thanks for sharing bluemoon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencalskitchen August 28, 2008

I used fresh chickpeas - only because I had them on hand - and subtsituted red capsicum for the carrot. I also added a handful of fresh chopped mint. This was a fantastic accompaniment to a Mediterranean lamb salad. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amanda l b March 17, 2008

I used all the ingredients however, I sauteed the shallots and garlic in the vinegar with 1/2 tsp of sugar. Then added 2 Tablespoons of Lemon Juice and 2 shakes of Spike Seasoning. It still turned out phenomenal. Taste much better they day after and the days to come...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Fawn March 17, 2007

EVERYONE commented, yes, TRUE! Different kind of salad at a BBQ! Used canned chickpeas, was a breeze! Making this recipe SURE did please!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder January 26, 2007

Spectacular salad! We loved it! I did everything as per recipe, except I did it with a 19 oz. can of chickpeas. It was fantastic....couldn't stop eating it! Thanks bluemoon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mabers May 30, 2006

We really enjoyed this salad! I loved the shallots! I also added some red onion and used roasted garlic after reading the other reviews. This was lovely!! If you like garbanzo beans you must give this one a try! Thanks bluemoon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper March 10, 2006

I'm also a huge fan of chickpeas but initially I was skeptical about this recipe because I felt it lacked enough seasonings but I was very wrong. It was terrific, and I thought the shallots were particularly tasty, but red onion and more garlic might work well too. Since I ran out of red wine vinegar I used white wine vinegar which turned out fine. I also reduced the oil quite a bit because I'm on a perpetual diet:D Thanks Bluemoon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend January 08, 2006
Warm Chickpea Salad With Shallots and Red Wine Vinaigrette