Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Warm Chickpea Salad With Shallots and Red Wine Vinaigrette Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Warm Chickpea Salad With Shallots and Red Wine Vinaigrette

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on August 09, 2010

      I second the other reviews - we LOVED this salad! It's very hearty and can easily stand alone, especially on a summer day with bread. I also sauteed the garlic and shallots with red wine vinegar and 1/2 teaspoon sugar instead of step #1. In addition, I added fresh basil and grated fresh parmesan cheese. I'll try adding mint also next time - would be great in the salad! I questionned blanching the chickpeas, but I agree that this really (unexpectedly!) brings out the flavor. Wonderful salad - will make again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      Love this salad. Shallots, mint, parsley, vinegar and oil, you can't go wrong. I used the mint suggested by someone here. I have it going wild in the garden and the parsley. I heated the dressing and poured over the chickpeas which I then chilled for several hours before serving cold. Served along side hamburger steaks, stewed okra and tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      I don't think I've come across a salad with chickpeas that I don't like, this is lovely & simple & served with greens makes a tasty lunch. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      Delicious salad, I made a few change and used green onions in place of shallots and sprinkled on some fresh grated Parmesan cheese, we enjoyed this, thanks for sharing bluemoon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      I used fresh chickpeas - only because I had them on hand - and subtsituted red capsicum for the carrot. I also added a handful of fresh chopped mint. This was a fantastic accompaniment to a Mediterranean lamb salad. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      I used all the ingredients however, I sauteed the shallots and garlic in the vinegar with 1/2 tsp of sugar. Then added 2 Tablespoons of Lemon Juice and 2 shakes of Spike Seasoning. It still turned out phenomenal. Taste much better they day after and the days to come...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2007

      EVERYONE commented, yes, TRUE! Different kind of salad at a BBQ! Used canned chickpeas, was a breeze! Making this recipe SURE did please!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2006

      Spectacular salad! We loved it! I did everything as per recipe, except I did it with a 19 oz. can of chickpeas. It was fantastic....couldn't stop eating it! Thanks bluemoon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2006

      We really enjoyed this salad! I loved the shallots! I also added some red onion and used roasted garlic after reading the other reviews. This was lovely!! If you like garbanzo beans you must give this one a try! Thanks bluemoon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      I'm also a huge fan of chickpeas but initially I was skeptical about this recipe because I felt it lacked enough seasonings but I was very wrong. It was terrific, and I thought the shallots were particularly tasty, but red onion and more garlic might work well too. Since I ran out of red wine vinegar I used white wine vinegar which turned out fine. I also reduced the oil quite a bit because I'm on a perpetual diet:D Thanks Bluemoon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2005

      I used the ingredients as stated except for the garlic which I used a heeping tablespoon of roasted garlic. But I served this well chilled with it being 90 degrees out. It was vey good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2005

      My husband and I enjoyed this immensely! I made the recipe pretty much as directed with the exception of using thinly sliced red onions in place of the shallots, 2 cloves of garlic instead of 1, and in tasting the dish after it was made I added an additional tablespoon of red wine vinegar. This was indeed a nice dish, though I think the next time I will add more grated carrots and a bit more parsley. I think a vegetarian could easily make a main meal out of this dish by adding some seasonal vegetables and playing around with the oil/vinegar ratio a bit. Nice recipe bluemoon - thank you for posting and joining the recipe/photo swap. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Warm Chickpea Salad With Shallots and Red Wine Vinaigrette

    Serving Size: 1 (273 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 428.9
     
    Calories from Fat 184
    43%
    Total Fat 20.5 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 799.7 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.4 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 10.1 g
    40%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 11.0 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes