17 Reviews

This was so easy and great tasting. My wife often complains that too many of my recipe choices have too much of a "kick" for her taste. This was a fanatastic balance of spices. The meat was fork tender. I too added about 1/2 cup red wine and turned the meat halfway through the cooking time. There was enough drippings to thicken on the stove (removing the large onion pieces first) to make a great gravy.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Saskatchewan Bound September 26, 2009

Just made this last night and it turned out wonderful. Didn't have the sage, but seemed good to go without it! Only other thing I changed was that I removed a good portion of the fat first, and added approx 1/2 cup of liquid consisting of red wine, warm water and a little Lipton mushroom soup mix. Turned it over about halfway through, and cooked on low for about 6 hours total.Very good, everyone had seconds.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CatLover,RN=^..^= February 26, 2008

This comes together quickly and is very tender and tasty. I made an onion gravy with the drippings and it is wonderful. Mine was done in 7 hours.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea in NH July 21, 2007

Very Good and very easy. I made just as directed but used oregano instead of rosemary (funny about where I use rosemary) and added about a teaspoon of salt becaust it doesn't call for it in the recipe but I think it could have used more maybe 1 1/2 t. or 2 t. Thank you for the easy and delicious recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Take a Letter Maria January 26, 2007

I made this for my family and NOBODY liked it at all. NOBODY. The herbs and seasoning turned us all off. It was horrible in our opinion. I am sorry, but.......yuck. We did not like this recipe at all. Not one bit. I cannot even give this recipe one star coz it was that bad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda K. 59 August 03, 2013

Made this yesterday for our dinner and the house smelled soooo good! When it came to eat the pot roast the recipe didn't disappoint us. Made as written only adding some carrots and potatoes under the pot roast to make a complete meal when taken out. Also served with Broccoli Bacon Salad#146614. Definately a keeper for my Favorites of 2013. Thank you for posting. Made for Recipe Swap #78 ~ July 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf July 09, 2013

I loved the sage in the spice mixture! Great flavours and a really nice combination of spices. I added carrots and potatoes to the bottom of the crock pot for a complete meal. The gravy was delicious too. I will definitely make this again, thanks Connie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word January 03, 2013

I made this a meal in one by making a "nest" for the roast in the crock pot of potatoes, carrots, onions, green beans, tomatoes, and a splash of red wine. Turned out very nice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
berry271 July 02, 2012

this was such a yummy treat on aq chilly day sooooo easy we will make this again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angie r chatlos October 16, 2011

So delicious ,this is the only way i will ever make a bottom round roast ever a again. I added a 1/2 cup of red wine like another reviewer and 2 tsp's of salt and don't like rosemary or sage so i substituted parsley and oregano.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cvalentin21 July 30, 2011
Warm and Cozy Bottom Round Roast Crock Pot Style