22 Reviews

With a great name like "Wanda Bars," I just had to make these (my mom's name is Wanda). They are excellent (rave reviews & recipe requests from those who had them)! They are very rich, so a small piece satisfies the sweet tooth. I used the entire package of regular Oreos for the crust and used the amount of sweetened condensed milk that the original recipe called for. I had a few caramel chips left over from something else, so I sprinkled those on the top with the chocolate chips. The recipe is so easy that it lends itself to altering it. Mint oreos would make a great crust, too. Using M&Ms or drizzling white chocolate on top would add a nice touch of color. Next time, I'm going to try making "A Turtle Called Wanda" bars by adding chopped pecans and drizzling melted caramel on top. So many possibilities! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Micki Lea February 27, 2009

Oh so delicious! Wanda, wherever you are, you are a genius :) This so simple and tasty...and dangerous! Luckily there aren't any leftovers or I'd be in trouble. I used unsalted butter in place of margarine and only used 12 oz. of the sweetened condensed milk. The bars came out perfectly fudgy after being refrigerated over night. Thanks so much, Messy.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyloves2cook February 05, 2009

I made these for my nephews 15th birthday but he was sick that day so he didn't have a chance to enjoy them. I just came back from a weekend beach get together with my whole family and as I was serving another one of my home-made desserts, I happily over-heard my other nephew tell his girlfriend about the amazing oreo dessert that his aunt had once made. He told her that he had brought some to school and that he and a friend had spent a few minutes enjoying the "best thing" they had ever eaten! Needless to say, this aunt was beyond happy :-) Thanks again Messy 44. *I wanted to add an extra note to my review because I just made these again over the Labor Day weekend and kids and adults alike were fighting over the last piece!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Maria September 09, 2009

These are OUTSTANDING! Huge 5 star review from myself and any one of my family and friends who has tried them!!! Looking for your chocolate to have chocolate on it....this is the recipe for you! Will be making this many many times!! I love to bake and love finding recipes that make friends and family wide eyed and say WOW! This is IT!! All of my sweet teeth - and believe me I have many, nothing ever too sweet for me - were extremely satisfied. Little tip is keep them cold!! Hold together much better that way. At 2 hour refrigerated time, definitely cut lines in the bars so your wrist won%u2019t hurt trying to cut through and they won%u2019t crack when you are ready to serve. I make night before too so they are extra cold. ENJOY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
welch1198 March 01, 2013

Absolutely Fabulous!!! These were SOOO good, and soooo easy!! Took them to a potluck @ work---everyone wanted the recipe. Thank you so much for sharing. Will make again and again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
"Granna" June 11, 2010

These were extremely rich which was great for a piece or two, but too much so for my family to enjoy the entire batch. I'm glad I tried it, would eat a piece if someone made it, but probably won't make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LovesCookingHatesDishwashing September 15, 2009

These were a huge hit! I made them for a party and everyone who tried them loved them. They are reaIly, really rich! I used regular chocolate chips rather than the minis and they worked out fine. I kept them in the fridge till I was ready to serve them, otherwise I think they would have made a real mess. Thank you for posting this easy and delicious recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview September 12, 2009

Excellent treat. Foolproof recipe. Here is what I did after reading everyones remarks about the bars being too gooey etc., I used a whole box of oreo cookies and that was 18 oz., and I used only 3/4 of the condenced milk/choc.chip mixture. I used the remaining 1/4 as a dip for fruits. My bars came out pretty much like taffy. Delicious. Thanks mezzy44.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenchef September 27, 2008

Very very very good recipe! Easy, quick, and extremely rich. Made these for my son last night and brought 1/2 the recipe to work. Your recipe set a new record here. 8 people consumed in 30 minutes without any announcement that they were here! LOL Also is a very kid friendly recipe to have them help with. Thanks :o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chippie1 September 24, 2008

Mine were incredibly messy to eat, but somehow I think that was fitting! They were INCREDIBLE! Very rich, very candy bar like. Sinfully easy to make and equally as bad for you! Can't wait to make them with the orange Halloween Oreos this season!! What a fun treat! I also plan on making them with the mint Oreos as well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
courtneywestendorf September 18, 2008
Wanda Bars (Double Chocolate Oreo Bars)