Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wanda Bars (Double Chocolate Oreo Bars) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wanda Bars (Double Chocolate Oreo Bars)

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on February 27, 2009

      With a great name like "Wanda Bars," I just had to make these (my mom's name is Wanda). They are excellent (rave reviews & recipe requests from those who had them)! They are very rich, so a small piece satisfies the sweet tooth. I used the entire package of regular Oreos for the crust and used the amount of sweetened condensed milk that the original recipe called for. I had a few caramel chips left over from something else, so I sprinkled those on the top with the chocolate chips. The recipe is so easy that it lends itself to altering it. Mint oreos would make a great crust, too. Using M&Ms or drizzling white chocolate on top would add a nice touch of color. Next time, I'm going to try making "A Turtle Called Wanda" bars by adding chopped pecans and drizzling melted caramel on top. So many possibilities! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      Oh so delicious! Wanda, wherever you are, you are a genius :) This so simple and tasty...and dangerous! Luckily there aren't any leftovers or I'd be in trouble. I used unsalted butter in place of margarine and only used 12 oz. of the sweetened condensed milk. The bars came out perfectly fudgy after being refrigerated over night. Thanks so much, Messy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      I made these for my nephews 15th birthday but he was sick that day so he didn't have a chance to enjoy them. I just came back from a weekend beach get together with my whole family and as I was serving another one of my home-made desserts, I happily over-heard my other nephew tell his girlfriend about the amazing oreo dessert that his aunt had once made. He told her that he had brought some to school and that he and a friend had spent a few minutes enjoying the "best thing" they had ever eaten! Needless to say, this aunt was beyond happy :-) Thanks again Messy 44. *I wanted to add an extra note to my review because I just made these again over the Labor Day weekend and kids and adults alike were fighting over the last piece!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2013

      These are OUTSTANDING! Huge 5 star review from myself and any one of my family and friends who has tried them!!! Looking for your chocolate to have chocolate on it....this is the recipe for you! Will be making this many many times!! I love to bake and love finding recipes that make friends and family wide eyed and say WOW! This is IT!! All of my sweet teeth - and believe me I have many, nothing ever too sweet for me - were extremely satisfied. Little tip is keep them cold!! Hold together much better that way. At 2 hour refrigerated time, definitely cut lines in the bars so your wrist won%u2019t hurt trying to cut through and they won%u2019t crack when you are ready to serve. I make night before too so they are extra cold. ENJOY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      Absolutely Fabulous!!! These were SOOO good, and soooo easy!! Took them to a potluck @ work---everyone wanted the recipe. Thank you so much for sharing. Will make again and again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      These were extremely rich which was great for a piece or two, but too much so for my family to enjoy the entire batch. I'm glad I tried it, would eat a piece if someone made it, but probably won't make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      These were a huge hit! I made them for a party and everyone who tried them loved them. They are reaIly, really rich! I used regular chocolate chips rather than the minis and they worked out fine. I kept them in the fridge till I was ready to serve them, otherwise I think they would have made a real mess. Thank you for posting this easy and delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      Excellent treat. Foolproof recipe. Here is what I did after reading everyones remarks about the bars being too gooey etc., I used a whole box of oreo cookies and that was 18 oz., and I used only 3/4 of the condenced milk/choc.chip mixture. I used the remaining 1/4 as a dip for fruits. My bars came out pretty much like taffy. Delicious. Thanks mezzy44.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      Very very very good recipe! Easy, quick, and extremely rich. Made these for my son last night and brought 1/2 the recipe to work. Your recipe set a new record here. 8 people consumed in 30 minutes without any announcement that they were here! LOL Also is a very kid friendly recipe to have them help with. Thanks :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      Mine were incredibly messy to eat, but somehow I think that was fitting! They were INCREDIBLE! Very rich, very candy bar like. Sinfully easy to make and equally as bad for you! Can't wait to make them with the orange Halloween Oreos this season!! What a fun treat! I also plan on making them with the mint Oreos as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      WOW! asked for the recipe at least 5 times. very messy but SO GOOD! thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      I must review these a second time with 5 stars. As stated before they were much too sweet for us! However I took them to a Church Social and people went "NUTS" over them. I made them a second time for a different group. Here is what I changed. I pulsed one row of cookies at a time in my food processor until fine. They were easier to cut. But still can not stay at room temp very long. I put my platter in the refrigerator and that kept them from getting soft too fast. :-) Koechin

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      These were lovely, so wonderfully chocolate-y. Mine were a little bit on the gooey side but I will maybe add some more Oreos when I make these again. I will definitely make these again in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      I made these for Christmas & they tasted delicious (how could they not?) but I did have a little trouble cutting them and they were a tad gooey when guests went to eat them. I'm not sure if I did something wrong but I would make these again because they're just so easy and yum-yum chocolatey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      Wonderful bars! Made them for work and not an Oreo crumb was left on the plate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      Outstanding! DD made these when it was her turn (with her two GF's) to make treats for fellowship time at church last weekened. Definitely a 'no leftover' recipe--bummer!!! Keep a few back to have at home later!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2007

      Oh my word... These are the best. I serve them at all of my kids birthday parties and all of our Campus gatherings. If I don't someone always asks "Where are the Wanda Bars"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      I too used regular chocolate chips, but that in no way detracted from the perfection of this dessert! I made it for a gift exchange and the friend who got it was thrilled with this homemeade gift that was so tasty! Will certainly make again, thanks for posting, Messy44! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      So easy and so very rich and delicious!! My girls kept saying "these are the best brownies ever:)". I will be sure to make these again! I did use fudge filled chocolate cookies bought as a mistake when I was buying them and bought regular chocolate chips instead of the minis, but they turned out wonderful anyways!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      I made these for the first time today, to serve at a party coming up in a few weeks. I kept mumbling "these are insanely good" until all the other women I was baking with came over and started nibbling at the corner pieces that weren't being saved for the party. We think they should be nicknamed "Chocolate Insanity Bars" because that's a more accurate description. WOW, sooooo good. Thanks, Messy44.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wanda Bars (Double Chocolate Oreo Bars)

    Serving Size: 1 (56 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 260.4
     
    Calories from Fat 135
    51%
    Total Fat 15.0 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 5.6 mg
    1%
    Sodium 181.0 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.6 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 24.4 g
    97%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites