Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Walter's Potato, Bacon, Corn Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Walter's Potato, Bacon, Corn Chowder

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 18, 2001

      When I made this soup for my very particular children, they all voted on the rating and I was surprised how high they rated it! This soup will be served frequently in my home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2001

      Excellent recipe. I doubled it and added a 1/2 pound of bay scallops. Next time, and there will definately be a next time, i'm going to a milk/cream combination. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2001

      I agree with previous ratings. Added the chicken, used cream instead of milk. Served right away - a big hit. Served next day - even better! Very easy too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2001

      I also added a cup of cooked, diced chicken and substituted one cup of regular milk with a can of evaporated milk. Really made it rich and creamy! My family loved it, and I baked mini cornbread muffins to go with it. Great meal! (nstructions called for adding celery and potatoes, however celery was omitted from the ingredient list. I added 1 cup of diced celery, it was fine and you could add more or less to your own taste.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      Forgot to mention in my review.. not only do I not use margorum I use heavy cream instead of milk. It may be rich but I make this for christmas meal. Calories dont count.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2012

      Great soup! I did like others and used a can of evaporated milk and two cups of milk. I also added garlic, pepper and a little hot sauce. YUMMY! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      My family loved it. I didn't have cream of celery, so I used 2 cans of cream of chicken and added in a little bit of celery salt. I also used a can of condensed milk instead of fresh and added a little water to make up the difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      Great recipe, made it for my husband and he loved it also. Made corn muffins to go with it. Very very good!!! Had leftovers the next day and was awesome. Will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      We liked this a lot. I added a little minced garlic and lots of pepper. Easy to make and very hearty. (No celery in the ingredients list so I just left it out.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2006

      I hadn't gone grocery shopping yet and was really going to have to get creative to get a meal out of what I had-but your recipe made it easy! It tasted so good, I decided at the last minute to make a beer bread so the chowder got to simmer on the stove for about an hour and a half, the flavor was amazing and it makes so much! Thank you for posting, I'm keepin this one=)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2004

      I was ill and my husband made this for me. It was just what the doctor ordered. I keeper in this home. Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2003

      followed the recipe to the Tee and it was OH SO GOOOOOOD!!!!!!!!!! THANKS

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2002

      Excellant comfort food on a snow night! I doubled also and used half bacon/half leftover ham cubed. Added celery because the directions were not that clear on it. And the leftovers are great, seems the flavors blend together, the potatoes must absorb the flavor of the bacon and veggies. Super or should I say SOUPER supper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2002

      just what I was looking for! simple and satisfying! I used a can of creamed corn instead of whole corn. There is a reference to cooking potatos and celery, yet no celery in the ingredient list(I did't add any celery. The celery soup was enough celery for me!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Walter's Potato, Bacon, Corn Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (460 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 392.2
     
    Calories from Fat 141
    35%
    Total Fat 15.6 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 33.9 mg
    11%
    Sodium 777.2 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.9 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 12.5 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites