14 Reviews

When I made this soup for my very particular children, they all voted on the rating and I was surprised how high they rated it! This soup will be served frequently in my home!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NW September 18, 2001

Excellent recipe. I doubled it and added a 1/2 pound of bay scallops. Next time, and there will definately be a next time, i'm going to a milk/cream combination. Thanks for posting this recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark H. November 05, 2001

I agree with previous ratings. Added the chicken, used cream instead of milk. Served right away - a big hit. Served next day - even better! Very easy too.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patti in Indy October 28, 2001

I also added a cup of cooked, diced chicken and substituted one cup of regular milk with a can of evaporated milk. Really made it rich and creamy! My family loved it, and I baked mini cornbread muffins to go with it. Great meal! (nstructions called for adding celery and potatoes, however celery was omitted from the ingredient list. I added 1 cup of diced celery, it was fine and you could add more or less to your own taste.)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bettylou August 31, 2001

Forgot to mention in my review.. not only do I not use margorum I use heavy cream instead of milk. It may be rich but I make this for christmas meal. Calories dont count.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sally Lyn December 22, 2013

Great soup! I did like others and used a can of evaporated milk and two cups of milk. I also added garlic, pepper and a little hot sauce. YUMMY! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twinkeejackbaby September 02, 2012

My family loved it. I didn't have cream of celery, so I used 2 cans of cream of chicken and added in a little bit of celery salt. I also used a can of condensed milk instead of fresh and added a little water to make up the difference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rcstanley March 14, 2008

Great recipe, made it for my husband and he loved it also. Made corn muffins to go with it. Very very good!!! Had leftovers the next day and was awesome. Will make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SwtKitn December 09, 2007

We liked this a lot. I added a little minced garlic and lots of pepper. Easy to make and very hearty. (No celery in the ingredients list so I just left it out.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VA February 03, 2007

I hadn't gone grocery shopping yet and was really going to have to get creative to get a meal out of what I had-but your recipe made it easy! It tasted so good, I decided at the last minute to make a beer bread so the chowder got to simmer on the stove for about an hour and a half, the flavor was amazing and it makes so much! Thank you for posting, I'm keepin this one=)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CharityAnn November 03, 2006
Walter's Potato, Bacon, Corn Chowder