Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Walnut Meatballs (Vegan) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Walnut Meatballs (Vegan)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on June 05, 2010

      I think this is a really inventive recipe, more of a 4 1/2 star for me. It's easy to put together with your food processor and my kids liked them. I thought the seasonings were a little lacking, (altho I love the fresh garlic & onion), I added some extra herbs and a little braggs. It's great that they're baked - what I found is that they were pretty mushy inside, the tofu didn't firm up as well as I would have liked. But that could be due to my specific ingredients, maybe my tofu wasn't firm enough....I'd just adjust next time to use less water. I think the leftovers that I'm about to freeze will be firmer. Really versatile recipe, I served over noodles & broccoli with Savory Cashew Gravy (Vegan). Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      Excellent. This was my first attempt at making vegan meatballs. They did fall apart after simmering in sauce in the crock-pot, but we enjoyed them anyway. Next time will probably take them from the oven and top with spaghetti sauce on our plates.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      Quick, easy and anyone can make it good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      These are very good. Used them in #403282 over fettuccine noodles. I agree that they would work in a lot of different recipes. I followed the recipe to a "t". Next time I will use my food processor to crumble the crackers, etc. Thanks so much for sharing!! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      Delicious! I whipped these up to throw in my spaghetti sauce. I added some Italian seasoning and used Broth Powder Mix instead of chicken-flavored seasoning. My 6 yo DD had a blast helping roll these, and everyone at the table thought they rocked--the baby included. We ate half and threw the rest in the freezer for next time. I could see these being great with many different sauces; I'd like to try them as a Swedish meatball type dish, for example.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      I used my food processor in the first step and then used it to chop,crush, etc. the other ingredients. This went together very fast and easy. I did use a vegan type seasoning called "not-chickn" that I found at Kroger. The meatballs are delicious---the entire family loved them---great with sauces of all types. Thank you for sharing---I'll be making these again and sharing with my non-vegan friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      These were very good. Even the next day, took them out of the fridge, let them come to room temperature and snacked on them. I made the following changes, did not bother chopping the parsley, just added it to the food processor with the onions and water. Also added to the same pool 1 clove of garlic. The recipe made 25 balls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      I had to give this 4 stars because it got mixed reviews from my family also. First, I should mention that I overcooked them so they were kind of crunchy on the outside (put the oven on "keep warm", but it stayed at 300 for over 10 minutes, ugh). My 15 year old brother LOVED them and would have eaten the whole pan. My mom also really liked them. My dad was not a fan at all. They're pretty used to my vegan cooking too. I liked them, although I didn't love the seasoning. I can see a lot of versatility in them though, I will definitely be keeping it as a base recipe! Oh, and for the reviewer who was confused about the "chicken flavored seasoning", I believe she means poultry seasoning, as in, a seasoning mix you would use on poultry. I just used Mrs. Dash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      Delicious "meatballs": great texture and flavour! And I loved the fact that they were baked in the oven and so low in fat. I used 1/2 lemon juice and 1/2 chicken stock instead of the water - which of course rendered them no longer Vegan. Since I was unfamiliar with the chicken-flavoured vegetarian seasoning listed in the ingredients, I simply omitted that, but I did add some cumin. I wasn't sure what to make of the reference to "8232" in step one, so I ignored that. We enjoyed these with tzatziki and a green salad, and they were equally good next day, at room temperature, in a pita bread wrap, again with tzatziki and salad greens. Thanks, Enjolinfam, for sharing this yummy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      I had a hard time rating these because my daughter who dislikes meat really liked these, but the males in the family(the meat eaters) were not too keen on these. I liked them with Thai sweet chili sauce and I also liked them cold the next day. I think they would be really good on a sub with all the fixings. I did decide to add an egg and not the water to bind it all together. These are simple to make and are also good the next day. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      Great recipe...something a bit different and really versatile as far as how you can serve them...I approached these a little bit differently than the stated recipe...I did it all in the food processor...I ended up eliminating the suggested table spoons of water because my onion, garlic and tofu provided their own moisture...I did not have the "chicken-flavored seasoning" (???), so I just seasoned to taste with my own spice supplies in my pantry...I even added a veggie bouillon cube or two :) ...I baked them the suggested 1/2 hour tuning them at 15 min. and rotating the cookie sheets...the first night I served them with brown rice and a broccoli pesto sauce...then froze a bunch and made "hero sandwiches" with a yogurt, lentil and sprout topping for a quick weekend supper-snack a few days later...I still have a enough left frozen to make another inventive meal...great idea, really tasty (I have just popped one it to my mouth as a "snack" too!!!)...a new favorite - THANKS Enjolinfam :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      Awesome recipe! I didn't have any kind of sauce to serve, so I whipped up a batch using a glob of apricot preserves (low sugar), a squirt or two of ginger from a tube and a little apple cider vinegar. The Meatballs are filling and totally yummy! I will make this many times in the future. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Walnut Meatballs (Vegan)

    Serving Size: 1 (21 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 32

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 42.3
     
    Calories from Fat 25
    60%
    Total Fat 2.8 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 8.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.2 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chicken-flavored vegetarian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites