Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Walnut Chews Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Walnut Chews

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on January 10, 2004

      I made these last night and even my husband, who doesn't exactly LOVE walnuts (or any nuts for that matter :)), agreed that it was delicious. I made a few changes though - I only had 1/2 cup of shredded walnut left over from Christmas so I substituted the other half with some chopped hazelnuts and chocolate chips (about 1/4 cup each). I also melted some chocolate and spread it on top of the chews when they were cool. Delicious! Thank you for this recipe, Valerie, I am sure I will make it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2003

      Just like sweet sticky, walnut buttertarts - in an easy bar form!!! - I added a little real maple syrup - and it was a hit. This is a really easy bar - try it

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      If you haven't tried these you haven't lived! They are so addicting! The kids begged me to make another batch when the first one was gone. These are going to be made often here for all of us to enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      YUM! Made as directed but added chocolate chips. Will try again with pecans instead of walnuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      These were popular on my Christmas trays/baskets. I used pecans rather than walnuts and they did remind us of pecan pie. Very easy to make as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      A fantastic square! These taste delicious. So easy to cut as well. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      These are simple and pretty tasty but a little on the sweet side for us. I took note of aof reviews saying they were sweet and rich and cut them into much smaller serves (I managed to get 18 from my tray rather than 10. This size was perfect for us. Thanks for posting a recipe to use some of the heaps of walnuts I have. I'm increasing my stars as I make these again. They are seriously wonderful and anything I find so easy to make and am so desperate to cook and eat again deserves more stars than I gave it the first time. We rationed ourselves to one of these a night and they lasted a week in a container-I wonder if we can be so restrained this time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      I made these last night as my neighbor was coming over and I wanted something to offer her for a snack. This fit the bill to a T. We both loved them and I have a new dessert to make in the future when family and friends come over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      OMG! These were so yum! Very easy to make and very, very RICH. A little goes a long way but I guess that is better for the waistline. I made these last winter for friends. Big hit. Sorry it took so long for the review, just realized it when I went to pull up the recipe again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      Sweet, chewy and yummy! These were a hit on my 2006 Christmas cookie trays and will repeat yearly. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2006

      These are wonderful! I used the pecans and they were perfect. Not too sweet and like a bite of pican pie. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2006

      If you have a sweet tooth this is for you! If you like pecan pie, this is for you! It is like pecan pie with a little coconut to chew. I doubled this recipe (big sweet tooth) and although was delicious, I wouldn't suggest doubling , it has to cook all the way though. Also I used the non release tinfoil for easy cleanup. Overall, thank you Valerie for a delicous SUGAR HIGH...LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2006

    • on March 19, 2006

      These were a big hit! Easy to do. They will go into the rotation here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2006

      so easy, and so delicious. thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2005

      Simple to make, and oh so delicious! I would recommend not to overbake these, this is the second attempt for making these, the first time I think I overbaked them, and were dry, but still tasted good, I was very careful not to overbake them this time around, and what a difference! I could eat the whole thing myself, they are that good, yes, they do taste similar to a butter tart!...I used real butter for the crust, I think that real butter makes a big difference in the taste. Thank you for sharing!...Kittencal:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2004

      Yummy...very good and tasty recipe, reminded me of pecan pie, a definite keeper recipe. Very simple and very very tasy. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2003

      Had some left over walnuts from another recipe to use up and did a search. I tried this last night and am glad I did. These were fantastic. It was really easy to make. I did spread some spray on cooking oil (PAM) on the spatula to assist in spreading the first layer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Walnut Chews

    Serving Size: 1 (91 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 415.1
     
    Calories from Fat 211
    50%
    Total Fat 23.4 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 11.7 g
    58%
    Cholesterol 66.7 mg
    22%
    Sodium 115.1 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.3 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 35.4 g
    141%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites