18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these last night and even my husband, who doesn't exactly LOVE walnuts (or any nuts for that matter :)), agreed that it was delicious. I made a few changes though - I only had 1/2 cup of shredded walnut left over from Christmas so I substituted the other half with some chopped hazelnuts and chocolate chips (about 1/4 cup each). I also melted some chocolate and spread it on top of the chews when they were cool. Delicious! Thank you for this recipe, Valerie, I am sure I will make it again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katerina January 10, 2004

Just like sweet sticky, walnut buttertarts - in an easy bar form!!! - I added a little real maple syrup - and it was a hit. This is a really easy bar - try it

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alanna Sanders-Nevills December 20, 2003

If you haven't tried these you haven't lived! They are so addicting! The kids begged me to make another batch when the first one was gone. These are going to be made often here for all of us to enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cariannhillsgrove May 15, 2010

YUM! Made as directed but added chocolate chips. Will try again with pecans instead of walnuts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenJenMarie March 05, 2010

These were popular on my Christmas trays/baskets. I used pecans rather than walnuts and they did remind us of pecan pie. Very easy to make as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
persi February 20, 2010

A fantastic square! These taste delicious. So easy to cut as well. Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frozen_rain September 06, 2009

These are simple and pretty tasty but a little on the sweet side for us. I took note of aof reviews saying they were sweet and rich and cut them into much smaller serves (I managed to get 18 from my tray rather than 10. This size was perfect for us. Thanks for posting a recipe to use some of the heaps of walnuts I have. I'm increasing my stars as I make these again. They are seriously wonderful and anything I find so easy to make and am so desperate to cook and eat again deserves more stars than I gave it the first time. We rationed ourselves to one of these a night and they lasted a week in a container-I wonder if we can be so restrained this time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS August 01, 2009

I made these last night as my neighbor was coming over and I wanted something to offer her for a snack. This fit the bill to a T. We both loved them and I have a new dessert to make in the future when family and friends come over!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichelliBelli May 30, 2008

OMG! These were so yum! Very easy to make and very, very RICH. A little goes a long way but I guess that is better for the waistline. I made these last winter for friends. Big hit. Sorry it took so long for the review, just realized it when I went to pull up the recipe again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
troseOR November 15, 2007

Sweet, chewy and yummy! These were a hit on my 2006 Christmas cookie trays and will repeat yearly. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MammaBear23 November 14, 2007
Walnut Chews