Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Walnut-Banana Upside-Down Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Walnut-Banana Upside-Down Cake

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on July 11, 2010

      My Hubby and I loved this my Mother not so much. She just didn't like it because she was comparing it to traditional pineapple upside down cake and this cake is different. But we loved it and it's gooey topping. Yum! We baked it in our square cast-iron pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      It tasted great. Otherwise, it was a waste of time and labor and ingredients. Soaking wet, rose four inches, fell three, can't cut into pieces, doesn't unmold, has to be bowled after scooping up. Sorry; but you should have tried your recipe first.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      Lenny..you are a genius..the best banana cake i'ver ever tasted...i used brown suger as i didn't have light..and i replaced the walnuts with pecan..but still it tasted great..especially the top, it was more like a carmel sauce....just Perfect...thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      The cake tasted delicious but it was soaking wet. the caramel on my cake was very watery instead of being sticky. I cut the sugar down a lot and the sweetness was just right for me. My change in topping: used just 1/2 cup dark brown sugar + 3 Tbsp butter (prolly need to reduce butter here) + a tiny pinch salt + 2 Tbsp of Macadamia nuts (provided nice crunch but not a vital part). I also used 3 Tbsp of really good maple syrup but that probably make the cake even wetter. My change in the cake: used 6 Tbsp butter with 1/2 cup white sugar, which turned out fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      Delish, but a little too sweet. Next time I will cut the brown sugar down to 3/4 c or maybe 1/2 c. I did not use the maple syrup and it was just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      Yummy Yummy Yummy! This is a good idea for a cake, I love it. Sweet and flavorful, it is rich. I must do for company and looking to present something a little different. Easy to make and it is good cold too. I love the caramelized walnuts on top. This is a definate keeper, thanks Lennie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      Omg!!! This was amazing!! Made it for dessert and it lasted the evening!! I made it in a bundt pan and the presentation was beautiful! This will be my "I want to knock their socks off!" dessert from now on!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      Utterly delightful. The topping was sweet despite me cutting back 25%. The chewy caramel bits were a hit. Colleagues and I had it with vanilla ice cream. It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      To reduce sugar: replaced brown and white sugars with brown and white Splenda. To reduce fat: used 2 tbs butter in topping and 1/4 cup butter + 1/2 cup chopped banana in cake. Didn't have any pure maple syrup, used maple flavoured pancake syrup which turned out great. Cake had a lovely dark chewy caramel ring around top which my hubby loved. He thought I might have bought the cake instead of making it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      This is a great cake- a real keeper. Glad to see it was already here on recipezaar. Thanks, Lennie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      This is a fabulous recipe and came out beautifully. I used a 9-inch springform pan as I only have 8 inch cake pans and it was so easy to remove. The cake was gone in a day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2007

      I found that this recipe came out perfect and it is oh, so delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2003

      I am so sorry, Auntie Lennie, this didn't work out for me. It breaks my heart to give a bad review, but this was a total disaster for me today. I followed each and every step of the instructions, but even after having baked this cake for 1 hour 35 minutes in my AMC Dutch Oven, this cake made my kitchen countertop and drawers a total mess. When removing the cake from the pan, the topping off this cake just ran down the drawers. I am feeling most bad because I was wanting to make this recipe since ages.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Walnut-Banana Upside-Down Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (178 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 483.5
     
    Calories from Fat 164
    34%
    Total Fat 18.3 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 9.9 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 66.4 mg
    22%
    Sodium 192.2 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 79.5 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 58.2 g
    232%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes