12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We had the apples yesterday. They were meant for dessert but we scarfed them down in mid afternoon. They smelled so wonderful that we just couldn't resist. I have a lot of currents this close after Christmas and was glad to use some for such a worthy cause. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia January 24, 2014

This was a great ending to our dinner tonight. Loved the combination of the tart granny smith apples against the orange zest and brown sugar. I used golden raisins as I did not have currants. This went great with the vanilla yogurt. Made for the AUS/NZ Recipe Tag, September, 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy's Pantry September 27, 2011

What a healthier version of an old favorite. The use of orange and yogurt is a nice addition to this old favorite. Made as written and will make again. Thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl November 14, 2010

I made these up for my boys one morning to go along with their oatmeal. They loved them. I didn't add currants or raisins, but rather used craisins which they both liked very much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JuJuBeJen July 11, 2010

Enjoyable old family favourite - very much a dessert from my childhood. Also will be a great breakfast tomorrow. I made 4 apples so doubled all ingredient plus added some diced dates and cooked for about 50 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew April 30, 2010

I just used nuts and cinnamon, as I don't care for currants, and this is a fairly healthy dessert! I used Brown Sugar Twin in place of the brown sugar and it was a great replacement! Since these are easy to make you can do them individually and bake them in the microwave. I will be making these for late night snacks when the mood strikes! Thank you for sharing your recipe with us Pat! Made for Zaar Stars 3/09 Linda

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen March 22, 2009

Delicious, I subbed dark raisins for the currents and did a few other amount adjusments, served with Greek yogurt this was enjoyed by my DH, thanks for sharing Pat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz September 07, 2008

We're used to having an apple pie/cake so we tried having this for a change. It was good, the apples were tender but were still a bit firm in the inside even if they were in the oven for 40mins. The sauce was sweet and the vanilla topping made it all the better..but DH would still prefer his apples as is or as a pie. Next time I'll double the liquid sauce even if the currants/walnuts are as is coz the sauce is yummy! I'll also let it stay longer than 50mins to make the middle part of the apple more tender. Thanks for sharing, Chef Potts!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pneuma May 03, 2008

it's a good recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zhinthia January 16, 2008

It is very nice to know that one can enjoy a healthy dessert that tastes wonderful. Pecans were used in place of the walnuts and dried cranberries for the currants. Something I will be making again soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG January 07, 2008
Walnut and Cinnamon Baked Apples